We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem for busy Tahoe Weekends”

Round Hill Pines Beach and Marina
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Zephyr Cove
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Round Hill Pines Beach is a great summer vacation resort that offers a restaurant, snack bar, two bars, swimming pool, tennis and volleyball courts, water sport rentals, seasonal boat moorings and much more! We are also a beautiful location for wedding ceremonies and receptions. Come check out our stunning location on Lake Tahoe from June to September. We look forward to seeing you!
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for busy Tahoe Weekends”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When someone invited me last week to hit the beach at Tahoe, I was reluctant, as weekends at Tahoe beaches can test ones patience with crowds, parking, traffic, etc. They suggested Round Hill Pines, a beach I'd never heard of. What a nice suprise.
First off, this is not a hard to access, out of the way, super private place. But on a Sunday where Sand Harbor and Zephyr Cove were overflowing and required parking on the hiway and hiking a half mile into a zoo, we simply drove right in, parked 50 ft from the beach in the shade of pine trees, and had easy access to the car and a safe parking spot.
The beach is stunning, views unparalleled. The crowd was sufficient to feel like you were somewhere happening, but not overly crowded. Pine trees provided a shade area maybe 50ft from the water, or you can set up camp on lakes edge. Amenities include a pier with rentals for virtually any kind of water toy, jetski, kayaks or beach comfort items. If you rent umbrellas, a guy sets them up for you, digging them into the sand with a power drill.
There's a full service bar right on the beach with a frozen drink specialty called a "Painkiller". Quite tasty on a hot day! They even have waitress service right up to the waters edge! There's a large shaded deck with a grill serving your basic BBQ fare, not bad. There's even a heated, gate swimming pool just off the deck area that guests have access to if the ice cold Tahoe lake water isn't your thing!
The crowd was more family oriented than the "Spring Break" type. Lots of kids. Not a lot of drinking, crazy college kids or teenager. Lake drops off the beach very gradually, lettting you wade out quite a ways before having to start swimming, making it again ideal for kids and families.
Overall a great location, great amenities, easy access. $8 entrance and parking and reasonable food and beverages. Rentals were reasonable as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our family comes here 2-3 times during every trip to Tahoe. We love the beach and its beautiful view. It has the prettiest background for pictures. We rent chairs and umbrellas. We also rent jet skiis and kayaks. Perfect place to relax

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cinrose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The WaveRunners are a blast!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We visited mid-week. There is a price break if you rent early ($30 before 10:30 am). We rented after 2 pm and were suprised that the harbor was not crowded. The staff was patient while they explained how to safely operate the rentals. We were permitted to take the watercraft up to a mile out from the harbor. I have rented jet skis elsewhere where the company permitted you to ride on a limited course. This location permitted you to enjoy yourself and have complete freedom within the one mile limit. What a blast!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great escape without the wait”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Loved this little gem in South Lake Tahoe. It is well appointed, easy to access, clean, great staff, good access to activities. There is a bar on the beach for the drinking crowd and a lovely grill that offers fresh burgers and fries for lunch. Staff also will take beverage orders while you lounge on the sand - super friendly!

We went during the week at the beginning of summer, and it was not crowded - just wonderful. Our long time favorite Camp Richardson has lost some of it's appeal, so we were happy to find this new spot. However, the same management company owns this location now, so we hope they keep it's laid back friendly vibe!

$8 per car - staff at entrance should have better working knowledge about offers on the beach and facilities, but maybe they were new and not familiar with the updates under new management. They were also super friendly, just not well-informed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MicheSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach spot”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Went to this beach over Labor Day weekend. The beach was crowded with both families and party people, but everyone seemed to co-mingle just fine. I saw no fights or drama, just fun had by all. The sky was blue, the water beautiful, but cold, which is expected in Tahoe!! The beach was clean, I felt fine walking around barefoot, even in the water.

There were lots of attractions, both for families or party people, including paddle boarding, jet skiing, rides on a ferry boat, kayaking, and more. There were also places to eat, and get drinks, as well as waitresses who came out and brought food. It was a beautiful day!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trulycraz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Round Hill Pines Beach and Marina also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Round Hill Pines Beach and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing