We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villager Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villager Motel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2006

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in early October while touring the White Mountains. We were glad to be away from the busy North Conway area. It was easy to bypass. The short walk to the Saco River was a good way to kill time while waiting for my wife to get ready every morning. Our room was a little small, but we had all we needed, and they were clean. Coffee, and hot water for tea or hot chocolate were ready every morning in the lobby. Staff was friendly and helpful with eating suggestions and directions. The price was competitive for what we got. No complaints.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gperr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    43
    18
    31
    26
See reviews for
57
51
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

Difficult to review as very mixed opinions in our party but here goes..

Location: Bartlett is a quiet little village in the Mount Washington valley but lots of good restaurants just down the road on Glen/Conway (would highly recommend the local Mexican).

Highlight: Villager is on a plot of land adjacent to river. In the fall when we visited water was low so a 5 minute walk from room took us to a beautiful boulder strewn riverbed with babbling rivulets. Great for kids (they also enjoyed the play equipment on front lawn).

Rooms: Variety on offer from ordinary doubles to cabins but the mountain views referred to on their website are not applicable to all rooms and ours was rather dark, poorly ventilated and could have been cleaner (so a litle musty). Bathroom good size however.

Service: Very friendly, helpful and greeted us by name

Value: Not bad for the area but investment required in room upkeep.

Overall: If you want somewhere to crash in the middle of the White Mountain area but will not be spending too much time in the room then this is worth considering.

  • Liked — Riverside location
  • Disliked — Dark poorly ventilated rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Local Mexican a must.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Silex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2006

We just returned from our annual StoryLand visit and stayed at the Villager for the first time after reading the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed!

Our large end unit had two queen beds, a very clean bathroom, small fridge and microwave, and a door leading out to a spacious grassy area.The playground/heated pool were also conveniently adjacent and very clean. Innkeeper Jen is so friendly and helpful, as were the other folks covering the front desk -- including their dog Chelsea, who is a sweetheart.

The big hit with our kids was the short walk through the woods to the Saco River. It was absolutely beautiful and secluded - a little piece of heaven. They also loved the playground and ice cream at Trails' End, which is just down the road.

I'd suggest you bring your own beach towels for the pool, as the room towels provided are on the small side. The Villager doesn't offer breakfast, but you can get complimentary Green Mountain coffee in the office to get you fueled up. There are various breakfast places nearby (we brought our own cereal) and a Dunkin' Donuts 5 minutes away.

The Villager is perfect for young children and is a short drive to StoryLand and other attractions. We're already planning next year's trip and will most likely book the chalet this time, as it has a full kitchen and separate bedroom.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magrose621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2006

We just spent a weekend at The Villager and absolutley loved it. We are very picky travelers when it comes to accomadations and we were extremely pleased. The rooms were nicely decorated and very spacious, best of all they were also VERY CLEAN which made me very happy.
My 3 yo loved the playground and the pool and it was very nice to be able to walk right out of the room and have him be able to run around and burn off some energy. Everything about this place is family friendly. Plenty of picnic tables and BBQ grills throughout the grounds because we all know how much fun it is to dine out with toddlers....lol
Jen and Bud run the place and they couldn't have been anymore accomadating; felt like we were family.
The Villager isn't more then a 5 min drive to Storyland and about 2 mins from Attitash. We are already planning a winter ski weekend and wouldn't ever consider staying anyplace else but here.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plakbusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2006

We stayed at the Villager Motel and had a wonderful time. The rooms are clean with up to date decor. Plently of hot water and great water pressure too. Sounds silly but we have stayed at some places that have not had enough hot water! The staff/owners are friendly. personable, and very helpful. The grounds are clean and well kept. WIth two kids it is nice to have play areas, a lawn and a motel set back off the road. It is quiet yet close enough to the attractions. We definetly look forward to staying here again! Thanks so much for a great time!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2006

I stayed at the Villager Motel with my children ages 2 and 4. We had such a wonderful time we are already talking about going back. We felt instantly at home. Jen and Bud are unbelievably friendly and accommodating. They are the perfect couple to run such a fabulous family get-a-way. There are fancier places in the area but none would be as warm and inviting. The play area and pool were a huge hit for both the children and the adults.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2006

My son will be 4 this year. We have gone to this hotel for the past few years since he was 1 yr. old. We will return again this summer. The staff here is very helpful and friendly (especially "Bud"). You feel like you are at home. It is very comfortable, casual, a real retreat after dealing with the vacationing crowds during the day. There is a play area, a nice sunny outdoor pool, and in the back is the Saco River where, if is low enough, the kids can splash and play and even picnic. It's not the Ritz, but if you have children, you weren't heading for the Ritz anyway!!!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Americangirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
1.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
5.6 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#6 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Attitash Mountain Village
Attitash Mountain Village
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Colony Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villager Motel

Property: Villager Motel
Address: 1126 Route 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villager Hotel Bartlett
Villager Motel Bartlett
Villager Motel White Mountains/Bartlett, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing