We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is probably my 30th trip or so to Sky Valley and this time it was even better than ever! Prices have stayed the same since God knows when so the value is even more amazing with the cost of everything skyrocketing.

Recent improvements to the property make us want to stay a bunch more times this summer and fall. We stayed in Cottage 8 and while it's basically the same (please change the double bed to a Queen!!!) an updated kitchen floor and updated paint gave the place such a light and bright feel to it. Even in last weeks heat the cottage stayed pretty cool and sleeping was easy.

Cottage very clean, good quality linens. Feels much more like staying at a friends house than a rental. Landscaping is nice and the grounds are looking great. Nice additions in the children's play area though we're too old to use the stuff, it gave it a very family friendly feel.

Pool was fantastic but cold! Never shared it with anyone even in the heat of last week. The little frog painting in the kiddie area is quite cute!

Fantastic rate in a great location. Super starting off point for whatever you're going to do in the White Mountains. Will definitely be back again and again!

Room Tip: Cottages are a great value and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rumbledolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

Sky Valley reminds me of vacations we took to New Hampshire when I was a kid. Friendly and helpful help, good basic clean accomodations and great family fun without getting in the car!

Cottage 3 has tons of room and lots of beds for a large family and the rooms downstairs stay nice and cool on hot days! (A plus in mostly un-airconditioned NH!) :)

Bike, swim, play in the river or just hang out and play frisbee with the kids. Close to all the great attractions too!

As a previous reviewer said, if you are looking for a cookie cutter hotel, go to Best Western! Some of us like the "classic" comfort the decor. I have 4 kids from 3 to 11 and felt right at home. If you have a problem just ask and they have now problem helping you!

We made our reservations for this Summer already. We can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zombiemommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Having stayed at SV for many years and after reading some of the reviews I had to laugh. While most people have generally good things to say the remainder sound like they possibly didn't stay at Sky Valley!

We've been staying for years, first as a solo traveler then as a couple, now as a family. Right off you know you're not staying at a Hilton. I love Hilton Hotels and nice hotels in general but this is a motel and cottage set up specifically for families. If fresh air and nature scare you then you probably should not visit northern NH.

This place is a throwback to another time - you know a time where families enjoyed each other's company, relaxed, played games at night, went swimming in the pool, explored the river. Yes you have cell service and WiFi (better in some area than others) but it's a place to de-stress and enjoy the sounds of nature. It doesn't seem to matter how many people are on the property, you generally feel like it's our own little paradise.

The decor isn't designer but it's comfortable. Is everything brand new? No but the rooms and cottages are always clean. I think the most we've had to do is grab a few lightbulbs one year. Lightbulbs don't last forever and I doubt housekeeping is going to turn on and off every light to check at each cleaning. Things are updated on a regular basis and we're always asked if we need anything. The grounds are impeccably maintained (yay Dave) and are very welcoming.

Even though the place is on Rte 302 you never really hear traffic noise. I do hear the occasional logging truck or petrol truck but it's always off in the distance. You can hear the train (Conway Scenic RR) a few times a day - go down to the tracks across the street and watch it go by - you'll always get a wave from the engineer! It is a place where you feel safe letting your children walk around without you having to be right behind them.

Maps and other such brochures are available in the office and both Dave and Maureen always have great dining suggestions as well as hiking and other activities. The free breakfast is great - we took advantage of it once so we could use our computer to catch up on work that wouldn't go away.

It always feels like going home again when we visit and it's why we go back year after year. So is it perfect? No, but it's exactly as described on their website and if you ask them when making a reservation they will give you details. They don't pretend to be something they are not and in today's world that's a refreshing thing. We also love the fact they do not tolerate knuckleheads who come to party and be loud and obnoxious - you will NOT find that here. They'd never make it past the front door!

We love Sky Valley! We love Dave and Maureen. They are true NH folk!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rumbledolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Rest ful. The most faulous swimming pool ever. Very peaceful . Extensive grounds with river access.Close to shopping and the most marvelous outdoor activities - all free of charge. The place I go to get away from it all !

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maeve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Home-like, a great family place surrounded by mountains! There's frontage on the Saco River, woods to explore, a playground for the kids, and an awesome swimming pool with a shallow end for the kiddies - (one reviewer seems not to have noticed the kids' area so thought I'd mention it. It was a little too chilly for swimming when we were there!) The property has more grass and trees than buildings, so we knew we weren't in the city. The accommodations are not brand new but everything is clean. We all felt right at home there!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I went with a group of friends - we took over two apartments that had been part of the owner's family home - they call it 'rustic' - the kitchens had everything we needed for a huge Italian dinner for ten.

The grounds are beautiful - we even brought home rocks from the Saco River for our gardens. We got a peek at the motel rooms, clean and looked comfortable and cheerful. There are cottages as well, but none big enough for our group. We're planning to go again this coming June.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sylsue52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Room was acceptably clean. Overall appearence was shabby. This may not be a problem for some. Also, 1 set of curtains did not close (not pleasant at night), an electrical strip came out of the wall, 1 window could not be locked, and Wi-fi was iffy. Because these basics did not work I rate this motel below standard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillyrockerfeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
0 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
307 reviews
6.6 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villager Motel
Villager Motel
#12 of 12 in Bartlett
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Attitash Mountain Village
Attitash Mountain Village
#5 of 12 in Bartlett
422 reviews
5 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range: £101 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Valley Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains/Bartlett, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing