We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Family Trip”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My family stayed in the motel last weekend. We purchased the Storyland package. The grounds were georgeous! The pool was wonderful, the whole family enjoyed it. There was plenty of space for the children to play outside at the play area. We also enjoyed a walk to the Saco river beach , located directly behind the motel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The continental breakfast saved us a good deal of extra money for breakfast and also offered something for everyone. We enjoyed delightful conversation each morning with Maureen , the manger. Management was pleasant, efficient and willing to go the extra mile to take care of guests. We will be returning to Sky Valley Motel again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience...and that everything met your expectations. Our $359 Storyland Package has been very popular and the free breakfast is also a big hit with most folks. We also recommend a place called "Yesterdays" in Jackson Village for folks who want the really big breakfast with all the trimmings.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Bartlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    77
    17
    7
    19
See reviews for
170
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We staye donly two nights but would definatly recommend this place to everyone !! Traveling with two 2 year olds this place was amazing!!! A great pool , Play ground area, even access to the Saco river - which was at a perfect depth for our little one to play in !!! The chalet that we stayed was perfect, no ac needed to sleep since the bedrooms are in the basement!!! A grill was provided so we were able to save $$ by grilling at "home" The owners were great in giving recommendations for restaurants shopping etc. Also what vacation would be complete without some sort of malfunction? well ours was that our car wouldnt start at check out time this morning......The owner was more than helpful in driving over in her personal vehicle and giving us a jump!! How much better can you get? We look forward to going back and spreading the word about this place (which is just miles to storyland !! the whole reason for this visit)

Room Tip: chalet #3 was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Chalet 3 is one of our larger units set off by itself with a great view up the Valley. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it and the grounds.

Tropical Storm Irene last August changed the course of the Saco River a little bit, but it's always an adventure and with a bit of exploration there are many spots to enjoy. Some folks enjoy a small bon-fire on the beach at night.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have been going to Sky Valley for 5 summers now. We really enjoy the space of the cabins and having our own kitchen. The chalet has laundry which is nice for longer stays. Some of the cabins have 2 bathrooms which is nice. They have done some renovations this year which were sorely needed, new paint, linens, grills. Plumbing is "country plumbing" which basically means it it lousy, we don't drink wate from the faucet and the toilet is just as likely as not to get plugged. Location is very convenient to Storyland, a bit of a ride to Santa's Village but not unrealistic, we usually visit both. The Saco River is right behind and is a pretty awesome site, whether the water is low or high. Great fishing, you can get a license down the road. Yes, staff IS rude and condescending, but we've gotten used to them. All in all if you want a luxury vacation you are barking up the wrong tree, but if you want a reasonably priced place with room to stretch and do your own cooking (saving money and hassle), I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: We like chalet 3 for the washer, dryer and dishwasher but it only has one bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainefamily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david4821, Owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for noticing all our updates and improvements...we are constantly on the go to keep our 1950's to 1970's vintage units someplace near current day expectations. Our "country plumbing" primarily refers to the fact that it will have a difficult time with flushed diapers, towels, or childrens toys, otherwise it is right up to code. The water is some of the best you will find anywhere, pumped directly out of the ground and it is tested four times a year for purity. It is probably equal to or better than anything you can buy in a bottle.

We are very curious about the comment that "the staff is rude". We noticed this comment popped up once before yet no one here recalls being rude or condescending to anyone. We wish there was more detail as to the circumstances and specifics...certainly the entire staff cannot be at fault. Sometimes rules must be enforced but even then we try to do it in a pleasant manner. A bit more detail would help us address this problem. Our staff has found this comment demoralizing as their intent is to be pleasant and helpfull whenever possible and the comment completely baffles everyone. We think we achieve that goal 99.9% of the time....but, you are the final judge...we just want to know where we tripped up in that regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Sky Valley. Our 1st vsit was back in October of 1980. The 1st visit almost 32 yrs. ago was great but the 2nd time was BETTER! Because of traffic in Boston we arrived after dark but they had the lights in the unit on. On Saturday the weather was perfect. We explored the grounds and just hung out. My wife and I decided to have a cookout instead of going out to dinner. Next thing you know a gas grill was delivered to the picnic table closest to our room and received advice about where to get great steaks. After dinner we had a little campfire. What other motel can you have a cookout and campfire? My wife and I had a great time and we are looking foward to vist this August.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfd158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
A cookout and a campfire, how can you beat that?? !!

Many folks return after a long absence and are happy to find we are still here with the same management. Alot of water under the bridge in all those years and everything just keeps getting better.

Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dave/Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife, 18 month old son and I rented the apartment B. We made this decision to go to sky valley due to the photos on the website and conversation we had with a man named Dave. Upon our arrival we met with Dave and he gave us the layout of the place and pointed us to the apartment that we were staying. As soon as we walked in like every traveler does we began to look around. I noticed in the living room area two electrical sockets the did not have covers on them the bathroom shower was held up by a piece of rope. On the website it is stated that there is a shower and tub. It was only a stand up shower. Photos will be posted. With in the shower there was nothing to put anything on such as a shampoo bottle or things like that. Only a metal rod sticking up out of the floor. The tiles were falling apart around it . I went right back to the desk and told Dave about the issues I had. He assured me that he would take care of the issues right away. My wife, son and I all left for dinner and was assured that the issues with the electrical sockets and shower head would be dealt with. Three hours later not a damn thing was done. I went to the office frustrated and upset demanded an explanation. All I got from Dave was a blank stare. We stayed there one night because there was no where else to stay but left the next morning.
Furthermore, with respects to what the management had posted to another comment about their photos being unaltered yea then are unaltered they just leave the bad things out. Additionally, with regards to guaranteeing a full refund or another location to stay IS A LIE. I will gladly upload pictures of the bathroom. And the photos were not altered in anyway. HORRIBLE. NEVER AGAIN WILL I GO TO THIS PLACE. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kja1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We completely agree with the summation of the shower in Apartment "B". It is our oldest unit, constructed around 1950. That shower needs to be completely gutted and replaced. It has beeen on our "To Do List" but somehow keeps getting pushed down the list of priorities. This year we have replaced four other bathrooms on property, but not that one yet. I will say however, that the string shown in the picture does not support anything...it was left there by a previous renter, perhaps to dry socks, and we neglected to remove it. The website description clearly states that "Apartment "B" has a stall type shower (No Tub).", (We were glad to see that in the pictures provided at least the shower is clean, although outdated)

The one electrical outlet is recessed a couple of inches into the wall and we have yet to find a suitable way to cover it and still have it remain functional. We will re-visit that issue.

Our "guarantee" IS TRUE. You have 15 or 20 minutes to check everything and if unsatisfied with ANYTHING, just return to the office and you do get a complete refund. This however does not apply if you decide to spend the night anyway. But if you reserved for a few days and decided to leave after only one day we will generally refund the remaining nights.

We will also see that Dave is properly disciplined for his lack of action, although upon interogation he had no recollection of the specific events....but he does apologize for any inaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baileyville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our 1st visit to Sky Valley, but definitely not our last. We spent spring break in the Chalet #3 and it was wonderful. It was quiet, and relaxing. The full kitchen allowed us to fix some of our meals, instead of eating out all week. When we arrived the lights were on and the place was warm and cozy. Everything we needed was there. Maureen greeted us and gave us a great deal of local information. The day our daughter came to visit, the grandkids had a wonderful time playing baseball and playing in the playground. Maureen and Dave are a class act and they know how to provide for their visitors. They have created a very comfortable environment to rest and relax. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Chalet #3 is quiet and a great place to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaileyvilleBobgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Not sure how many times now we've visited Sky Valley but again we had a great time and the accommodations were excellent. Since the weather was good we decided last minute that we wanted to take a few day getaway. We knew the area would be quiet since skiing is over for the season (Attitash was closed) and quiet is what we got!

Stayed in one of the motel units which we haven't done for years. Still very bright and clean - homey and not "cookie cutter" motel units - the windows actually OPEN! Everything was fresh and clean and were doing some renovations in a few other units while we were there. We never heard any noise from their work which was nice.

We mostly had the property to ourselves for the few days we stayed. Walked down to the Saco and about 2 miles up stream (towards Attitash) and checked out the river and how it has changed course over the years - very cool - lots of animal tracks. Drove into North Conway to walk Main Street and then over to Diana's Baths for another quick and easy hike.

Everything in our unit worked perfectly which was great since we needed heat both nights we were stayed. Bed and pillows comfy and bed linens nice (not my taste in style or design but nice quality non-the-less). No breakfast this time of year but it was no big deal since we had a coffee maker and stopped at Grant's in Glen for pastries.

If you like clean, quiet, safe for kids, good price and a chance to enjoy nature then this place would work for you. It's not the Ritz but it doesn't pretend it is. It's just a relaxed place to unwind.

Can't wait for summer to come so we can visit again!

Room Tip: Families will love Chalet 3 or 26 but any unit is good since everything is pretty spread out over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumbledolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
1.8 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
294 reviews
7.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
5.4 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Property: Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
#3 Family Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Valley Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Traditional motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. Free continental breakfast during in-season, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains/Bartlett, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing