We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I don't need a sentence to describe Sky Valley its simply AMAZING! Everything about this place is special from the staff to the location. Beautiful scenery great Cottages, worth every penny.
We will see you again next summer :)

Brodeur family Montréal,Canada

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenbrodeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Amazing ! We are happy to hear such an accolade and I can think of no way to append to that basic thought....except that it didn't happen by accident.

We try very hard to satisfy each and every person who stays at Sky Valley and we are pleased when folks take the time to let us know that we are on the right track.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Maureen and Dave
Your Innkeepers with alot of experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    77
    17
    7
    19
See reviews for
165
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family recently stayed in Chalet 3, which is a 3 br 1 bathroom chalet on 2 floors. The unit itself is nicely set back on the beautiful grounds, and we found it to be quiet and cozy. Inside, the unit is set up with the LR/kitchen/dining room upstairs with 2 decks and the bedrooms and bathrooms are downstairs. Outside is a bit of a side yard space with a firepit. We really enjoyed our stay, we found Chalet 3 to be perfectly comfortable for our family. As others have stated it is not necessarily luxurious but perfect for a family weekend trip. One of my 3 year old sons referred to it as "that beautiful house" so he was certainly happy! We enjoyed walking to the river, playing out on the play area (badminton/horseshoes/kids toys), using the firepit and taking advantage of the continental breakfast before heading out to Storyland. The location of Sky Valley is nice in that there is not much traffic, you are nicely tucked away from the N.Conway traffic. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Who says 3 year olds know nothing??? "That beautiful house" is a perfect description.

But, in fairness, Chalet #3 was built in the late 1960's as a "vacation chalet" and such a term is now obsolete since many rental units these days are more luxurious than many folks' primary homes. Despite it's age, we do all we can to keep it in good condition. We even added a humongous air conditioner this year that was well appreciated back in the July heat. Usually by early August a/c is no longer necessary. Now, in mid August, it's almost time to turn the furnace on again!

Our 35 acres of explorable grounds and Saco River frontage is a definite plus and most of our guests appreciate that the cottages and chalet units are well spread out for your privacy.

We thank you for taking time to express your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again soon...

Maureen & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in motel unit #14. The decor is indeed retro but everything was impeccably clean and the bathroom had obviously been recently remodeled - the room was also equipped with air conditioning, a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Free wifi was easily available but our AT&T cellphones didn't connect - that's more likely a problem having to do with our carrier, though, since it appears Verizon and Sprint connect just fine.

The pool is kind of strange but wonderful for kids, with gently sloping "wade in" edges and a water sprayer to play under along with half a dozen inner tubes, floaties, and beach balls provided by the motel for added enjoyment. The extra touches make it much more entertaining for kids than your standard hotel pool and it was hard to get them out of there. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept and there are a number of excellent swings, wooden playset, teeter totter, handball pole, volleyball net, and horseshoe pits available for use. We didn't use the picnic tables or barbecues but would think about it the next time.

The owners provide a nice continental breakfast with toast, muffins, oatmeal, cold cereals for the kids, coffee, tea, juice, and bananas / oranges - nothing fancy but just what we needed to get our day started on the right foot.

For kids and parents who like to explore a bit the Saco River 100 feet behind the motel provides some interesting trails and vistas. The river itself was too shallow to swim in August but I imagine it might run higher in spring / early summer.

We liked this hotel much better than chain hotels we've stayed at in the past and the value just can't be beat. If you want bland and 100% predictable then stick with the chains but if you like something a little quirkier where the owners' personal touch and desire to please come through more plainly then this is a place you should consider.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjabele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Motel unit 14 is one of those where we expanded the bathroom back in May. We also did several others in unit 13, 15, 16 and Apartment "B". It was money well spent and everyone has really appreciated the upgrades. Next year we will do units 11 and 12.

Loretta does a great job in keeping all the motel units in tip-top shape and "good enough" is simply not her style. She is always glad to hear positive comments about her efforts.

The pool was built in 1956 and it has entertained many people in its 57 year history and those who came here before insurance companies ran the country will remember the 3 meter and 1 meter diving boards....gone but not forgotten.

We are glad you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Maureen & Dave (Maureen does all the hard work)....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Chalet # 3 was our home this year. It was a very great experiance for us to stay in this little home. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and can not wait to come back!! It's so nice to be able to come every year mowing your vacation will be perfect and relaxing!! I read prior post concerning the bathroom and honestly, it's a bathroom with a toliet and a shower, sink. I thought it was fine and clean. No complaints here!!! Thanks again for another awesome summer vacation stay, so excited we have another night to enjoy this fantastic destination... Our home away from home ❤

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangelo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Another five star review........geez, this is going to go to our heads !

We are glad you found everything perfect for your needs. We make every effort to make everything just right. I have been at it for 37 years and Maureen for about 16 years at Sky Valley...so we have a pretty good understanding of what folks require. This steady stream of positive reviews is gratifying and makes us feel that our efforts are appreciated and we are glad when everything is right.

We thank you for taking time to express your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dave & Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights looking for a get a way to the white mountains and staying just outside of N. Conway...this was a great choice.

The grounds are very well kept which I first noticed driving in. The gentleman in the office was courteous and informative. He provided us with a menu of a local restaurant as well as told us where there were gas stations, places to get groceries, and informed us of their guarantee. If we didn't like our room after seeing it, we could go back within 15 minutes for a full refund. I've traveled many places and no where has ever offered that. I thought that was a wonderful thing.

The poolside apartment is located right around from the office and has a cute, small patio with a table and chairs and lights. Inside the room was spacious and clean. The decor is a lil dated but I liked it. The fireplace we used every night as even though it was August the nights were chilly (you can find places for wood all over the area). We were surprised to find a dvd player which worked well. The bathroom was big and clean as well and I liked the vanity where I could sit and get ready. There was a smaller room with a table, micro, and small fridge which was perfect and another smaller walk in closet..perfect for keeping our luggage, bags, clothes, etc. There were a few bureaus so also plenty of room for clothes not to be hung.

The love seat and chair were comfortable and the tv worked well.

It may be time for a new mattress but we slept well and the linens were clean and in fine condition.

The woman who cleaned up our room was wonderful and courteous. She was happy to give suggestions to things in the area and on her way out asked "is there anything you need that you don't have?"; wonderful to hear.

Though it was too cold to swim we checked out the pool area which was also very clean and had numerous tables, tubes, etc for use.

We were informed prior to booking that it would get a lil noisy in the morning starting at 8 since the cafe is right next door so if you mind noise early this apartment might not be a good fit but it didn't bother us.

I have stayed at numerous hotels in various travels but even though it may not be considered modern by certain standards, it was clean, charming, and possessed a courteous staff. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. My only suggestion was providing bigger baskets for trash in the rooms which I conveyed to the woman at checkout. Other than that for the price, location, and the comfort ...you can't beat it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireaisling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We appreciate your taking time to express your experience at Sky Valley, we always look forward to our guests comments, both good and bad as it helps us to know what is right and what may be not so correct. We are glad that almost everything was perfect for you during your stay,

We agree about the king size bed...it's about time to get that changed out...but it is still nice and firm....maybe too much so for some folks. Actually, I took a little nap on it one afternoon and found it quite satisfactory...but that's just me.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you get to Bartlett.

Dave

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The best place we've stayed at in 40 years of visiting the White Mountain area.
We are looking forward to returning next summer.
All our friends and family have heard nothing but rave reviews from us.
Maureen and Dave are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Our apartment was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction with Sky Valley. Your unit was constructed in 1950 and we are glad that you found we have been taking good care of it. This year we re-modeled the bathroom in your unit and it has been a well received improvement,

We do like to remind everyone that Sky Valley was built in the 1950's and 60's, so don't be expecting a shiny new Holiday Inn Express. But we do have a homey-charm and 35 acres of landscaped grounds that you won't find at many other places. Add in 1300 feet of private Saco River frontage just a few hundred feet from most units, fire-pits, gas grills, well spread out units that we are constantly maintaining and you get all the factors for a memorable time in the White Mountains.

We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for all the positive comments to your family and friends. Your confidence means alot to us.

Dave/Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

What can I say positive that hasn't already been said? We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Sky Valley yet again! We still find it the biggest bang for the buck anywhere in the White Mountains. The addition of the fire pits for the cottages was a fantastic idea and though this year we stayed in the poolside unit (and took advantage of the fireplace with the awesome stone chimney at the front of the property) we heard so many people rave about the fire pit additions when we were sitting by the pool it was obviously a big hit to those in the cottages.

We enjoyed the pool unit and felt it would work great for someone who maybe had walking difficulties since you are right near the breakfast room and the pool and only one small step to get from the driveway to the decking area. We loved the little patio and in the heat it was great to have a place to sit in the shade. Plus what's not to love about being approx. 10 steps their amazing pool?

The king size bed was probably our least favorite thing about the room. It wasn't horrid by any means but it probably is time for an upgrade (or I'm just getting old and picky). Liked having a little area that was dedicated as a kitchen with microwave, coffee maker, and small fridge. Add a counter top and sink and we see the room being a big hit. We made do with washing a few dishes in the sink in the HUGE bathroom but for a longer stay I prefer to be able to cook a bit more which is doable on a grill but washing dishes can be a hassle!

We loved the living room set up and the comfy living room furniture and the AC worked excellent for the few days we needed to run it to sleep. This unit gets sun first thing in the morning and we were very pleased about the quality of the blinds on the windows and the fact they help keep the unit cool.

As other people have stated, if you're looking for 2013 Residence Inn or Holiday Inn this probably isn't the place for you. Not that it's not clean, friendly, and comfortable it's just that Sky Valley's uniqueness is that it's still around 1977 in style with modern amenities like flat screen TV's and WiFi. Think of Sky Valley as a fun and groovy, family road trip in the station wagon kind of a place and you will love it!

We'll keep coming back unless you go all modern and uppity on us!

Room Tip: Cottages each have own firepits
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumbledolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks once again for your positive comments and we are glad to still be your best place to stay in Bartlett. Our happy repeat customers are critical to our success.

We have added your suggestions to our list of things to do. We have a couple of units that other folks have commented on the comfort factor of the king size bed. Oddly enough, another unit's king size bed was new in 2012 and it has received several bad comments. Needless to say, it will be replaced in the next upgrading budget cycle.

Happy to see you have already reserved again for later this month ! Thanks and see you soon.

Dave/Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
1.8 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
7.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.4 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Attitash Mountain Village
Attitash Mountain Village
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Property: Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
#3 Family Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Valley Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Traditional motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. Free continental breakfast during in-season, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains/Bartlett, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing