We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My family and I loved it here. Relaxing, fun and the right price. I am planning on returning next year. It's easy to get to and has everything you need close by. The rooms are quite and the breakfast is free.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks for taking time to share your experience. We are glad everything was as expected and you liked our quiet rooms and free breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again, whenever that may be.

Maureen and Dave
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 233 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal, Canada
11
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I've stayed at Sky Valley several times over the years, and it never disappoints. The accommodations range from charmingly quirky (several apartments of varying sizes located in what was the owner's childhood home, plus one adjacent to the motel offices beside the pool) to nostalgically rustic (the cottages bring back happy memories of childhood family vacations). Everything has always been clean, the grounds are lovely (35 acres, some landscaped with flower beds and a huge lawn with a play area for children, some wooded), and the pool is one-of-a-kind. It has frontage on the Saco River, which is beautiful, but users should be forewarned that the beach is mostly rocky - this is, after all, the Granite State. Peaceful and set well back from Route 302, the owners have invested in many upgrades in the past couple of years, including air conditioning in most if not all of the units, flat-screen TVs and fire pits and gas barbecues at all of the cottages. Free breakfast is basic but more than enough to get your day started. Overall, great value for your money - we plan on returning next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your well written review.

We think you covered all the highlights and we are glad you noticed our constant stream of improvements. We take careful notes about the comments people make while here and make our list of projects based on what people have told us. In fact, we have a fairly good list of things on our list for the next round of upgrades.

We look forward to seeing you again when ever you are in Bartlett.

Dave/Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

What a great place. Accomodations are exactly what we wanted. Had that homey touch. Finally a place that says on the river and truly is and has easy access to it. Camp fires every night, awesome. Especially liked that it was very family oriented. This was our second year and will have many more to come.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgun61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We too have seen other places that say they are on the river...but they neglect to mention that it is sometimes a very long walk.

We are blessed that most of our units are within 600 feet of the Saco River...Just walk across the North field and there it is. Granted, a bit rocky but always fun to explore and there are a few sandy spots to be found. While we have many convenient fire-pits available many folks still like a little beach bon-fire and a million stars overhead.

Families are our specialty and in many cases we get 2nd and 3rd generations of people who have enjoyed Sky Valley for many years. I bet there are alot of home movies from decades past showing families enjoying various aspects of Sky Valley. We have changed alot in some ways...primarily in keeping rooms up to date...and in other ways, basic hospitality and atmosphere, we have not changed at all.

Thanks for taking time to express your experience and we look forward to your next Sky Valley trip.

Dave/Maureen
Your Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I don't need a sentence to describe Sky Valley its simply AMAZING! Everything about this place is special from the staff to the location. Beautiful scenery great Cottages, worth every penny.
We will see you again next summer :)

Brodeur family Montréal,Canada

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenbrodeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Amazing ! We are happy to hear such an accolade and I can think of no way to append to that basic thought....except that it didn't happen by accident.

We try very hard to satisfy each and every person who stays at Sky Valley and we are pleased when folks take the time to let us know that we are on the right track.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Maureen and Dave
Your Innkeepers with alot of experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family recently stayed in Chalet 3, which is a 3 br 1 bathroom chalet on 2 floors. The unit itself is nicely set back on the beautiful grounds, and we found it to be quiet and cozy. Inside, the unit is set up with the LR/kitchen/dining room upstairs with 2 decks and the bedrooms and bathrooms are downstairs. Outside is a bit of a side yard space with a firepit. We really enjoyed our stay, we found Chalet 3 to be perfectly comfortable for our family. As others have stated it is not necessarily luxurious but perfect for a family weekend trip. One of my 3 year old sons referred to it as "that beautiful house" so he was certainly happy! We enjoyed walking to the river, playing out on the play area (badminton/horseshoes/kids toys), using the firepit and taking advantage of the continental breakfast before heading out to Storyland. The location of Sky Valley is nice in that there is not much traffic, you are nicely tucked away from the N.Conway traffic. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Who says 3 year olds know nothing??? "That beautiful house" is a perfect description.

But, in fairness, Chalet #3 was built in the late 1960's as a "vacation chalet" and such a term is now obsolete since many rental units these days are more luxurious than many folks' primary homes. Despite it's age, we do all we can to keep it in good condition. We even added a humongous air conditioner this year that was well appreciated back in the July heat. Usually by early August a/c is no longer necessary. Now, in mid August, it's almost time to turn the furnace on again!

Our 35 acres of explorable grounds and Saco River frontage is a definite plus and most of our guests appreciate that the cottages and chalet units are well spread out for your privacy.

We thank you for taking time to express your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again soon...

Maureen & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in motel unit #14. The decor is indeed retro but everything was impeccably clean and the bathroom had obviously been recently remodeled - the room was also equipped with air conditioning, a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Free wifi was easily available but our AT&T cellphones didn't connect - that's more likely a problem having to do with our carrier, though, since it appears Verizon and Sprint connect just fine.

The pool is kind of strange but wonderful for kids, with gently sloping "wade in" edges and a water sprayer to play under along with half a dozen inner tubes, floaties, and beach balls provided by the motel for added enjoyment. The extra touches make it much more entertaining for kids than your standard hotel pool and it was hard to get them out of there. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept and there are a number of excellent swings, wooden playset, teeter totter, handball pole, volleyball net, and horseshoe pits available for use. We didn't use the picnic tables or barbecues but would think about it the next time.

The owners provide a nice continental breakfast with toast, muffins, oatmeal, cold cereals for the kids, coffee, tea, juice, and bananas / oranges - nothing fancy but just what we needed to get our day started on the right foot.

For kids and parents who like to explore a bit the Saco River 100 feet behind the motel provides some interesting trails and vistas. The river itself was too shallow to swim in August but I imagine it might run higher in spring / early summer.

We liked this hotel much better than chain hotels we've stayed at in the past and the value just can't be beat. If you want bland and 100% predictable then stick with the chains but if you like something a little quirkier where the owners' personal touch and desire to please come through more plainly then this is a place you should consider.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjabele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Motel unit 14 is one of those where we expanded the bathroom back in May. We also did several others in unit 13, 15, 16 and Apartment "B". It was money well spent and everyone has really appreciated the upgrades. Next year we will do units 11 and 12.

Loretta does a great job in keeping all the motel units in tip-top shape and "good enough" is simply not her style. She is always glad to hear positive comments about her efforts.

The pool was built in 1956 and it has entertained many people in its 57 year history and those who came here before insurance companies ran the country will remember the 3 meter and 1 meter diving boards....gone but not forgotten.

We are glad you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Maureen & Dave (Maureen does all the hard work)....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Chalet # 3 was our home this year. It was a very great experiance for us to stay in this little home. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and can not wait to come back!! It's so nice to be able to come every year mowing your vacation will be perfect and relaxing!! I read prior post concerning the bathroom and honestly, it's a bathroom with a toliet and a shower, sink. I thought it was fine and clean. No complaints here!!! Thanks again for another awesome summer vacation stay, so excited we have another night to enjoy this fantastic destination... Our home away from home ❤

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dangelo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Another five star review........geez, this is going to go to our heads !

We are glad you found everything perfect for your needs. We make every effort to make everything just right. I have been at it for 37 years and Maureen for about 16 years at Sky Valley...so we have a pretty good understanding of what folks require. This steady stream of positive reviews is gratifying and makes us feel that our efforts are appreciated and we are glad when everything is right.

We thank you for taking time to express your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dave & Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
1.8 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#2 of 12 in Bartlett
301 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
21.8 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
5.0 mi away
Attitash Mountain Village
Attitash Mountain Village
#6 of 12 in Bartlett
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
#3 Family Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range: £60 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Valley Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Traditional motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. Free continental breakfast during in-season, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains/Bartlett, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing