We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Trip This Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New Hampshire, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second Trip This Year”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The first trip we had here we stayed in Apartment A and it was beautiful! The very first night there was a leaky roof, but the owner responded immediately at 10pm and resolved the issue as fast as we could. He offered us a new room but we decided to stay due to how beautiful it was and how much we loved it there! The next day we spent the entire day relaxing right there. You don't have to go anywhere to relax. we ran around the pool, went to the Saco River, and lounged by the playground and outside.
The next time we stayed at the Motel and they were beautiful! I love the way the bathroom was set up, and the fact that refrigerators and microwaves came with the rooms.
Both times it was completely relaxing. No matter where you are here, you feel like you are completely alone and it was an enjoyable experience. This is where I will go every time I go up North for a visit! Thank you so much for a relaxing experience and a great trip. The Storyland package was affordable and perfect for our family!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
The Apartment "A" leaky roof proves that "If anything can go wrong, it will." We had just replaced the entire roof, yet, the first time we had a heavy downpour there was still a leak.

Shortly after your departure I personally went up there and sealed up a few spots that had been overlooked by the pros, added a bit more flashing and we now think it is sealed up properly...at least it hasn't leaked again since then. We appreciated your understanding of the situation.

We will make every effort to keep everything as relaxing and low key as possible and look forward to your next visit to Bartlett and Sky Valley.

Dave & Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    77
    17
    7
    19
See reviews for
168
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have stayed at Sky valley for a few years. Love it for many reasons. always clean, neat , well maintained. the friendly staff are always there. Ground always top notch. helpful on dinner places. walking the river fun in spring when the run off is happening. Wild life often in yard. fun to see. Pool is always clean and full. toys in grass area for children in great shape. When ever we are there families seem to be having fun. Breakfast good and filling and always plenty. Cereal and fruit as in most places now. Highly say go stay enjoy

Room Tip: we love room 16 but the smaller units are just as grand. Next stay we plan to rent apartment c. in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are glad that everything was perfect once again. You seemed to have "covered all the bases" and I can think of nothing further to add.

Both Maureen and I look forward to seeing you the next time you get to Bartlett. Thank You.

Dave/Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at Sky Valley back in July for two nights, and after thoroughly researching accommodations in the area, we made the right choice. I believe this place is exactly how it presents on the website, and in no way do they try to sell themselves as something they are not. We had four adults and one child and stayed in Chalet 26. The bedrooms were adequate - the grandparents stayed in the "master bedroom" and my husband and I shared the second bedroom with our three year old. It was nice to have two bathrooms, and the rest of the rooms were perfectly acceptable. Is it dated? Absolutely. Was it clean? Yes. Were certain things in need of updating? Of course, but nothing that interfered with the comfort of our stay. Quick drive to Storyland, huge field and playground right out the front door, plenty of room to ride a bike, fire pit, gas grill, and the pool was awesome. If you are someone who can't deal with small bathrooms and "rustic" features, this is not the place for you. We, however, didn't want to spend a small fortune on accommodations and the privacy of our own Chalet was absolutely perfect. We are already talking about going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Horray ! Another happy customer. When people are happy with their unit, the surroundings and the facilities AND take the time to write about it in a public forum, it really makes our day. (Does that make it sound like we need to get a life?)

Actually, Inn-keeping IS our life and we really make every effort to present clean functional units that we can rent with pride. I doubt we will ever catch up with the Sheratons or Hiltons, but what we may lack in "new and modern" we more than make up for in attention to detail and personality. And; they will never match our rates.

Thanks for putting out the good word and we look forward to your next visit to Sky Valley.

Dave and Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Let me start by saying I am not a motel kind of person. I usually stay in a hotel with all the amenities at your finger tips.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Dave himself and he was very inviting. h explained the ground rules, offered us a coupon for a free night, gave us a pamphlet with some important info about the local area, and he recommended a few places to eat.
We were pleasantly surprised when we entered the room to find it clean and fairly modern, as well a pretty spacious for 2 adults and 2 kids. when we returned the room after a long day at Story Land we were happy to see that the room had been cleaned to perfection.
all in all we had great time at sky valley

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We appreciate that you took some time from your busy schedule to write your thoughts about Sky Valley and that everything was up to your expectations. Loretta takes great pride in making up her rooms as if it were for her own family.

We hope to see you again the next time you find yourself in Bartlett.

Dave/Maureen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Needed a place to stay for a couple nights so me and my girlfriend could hike Mt. Washington, ans Sky Valley was perfect. We stayed in apartment C and was fantastic, The fireplace and the kitchen were great, and the drive to the base of the mountain short.

Room Tip: New mattress, please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miller L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts. We are glad you enjoyed Apartment "C", it is a great choice for two people.

Mattresses are certainly complicated inventions. Depending on personal preference we have had them described as "too soft, too hard, and just right". And all those folks are describing the same mattress in the same unit. The queen size mattress in Apartment "C" is only a few years old but I am going to check it out tomorrow just to be sure there hasn't been some massive malfunction.

We are glad your trip was a success and we look forward to your next journey to Bartlett.

Dave and Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Connecticut, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

myself and my two young sons stayed at Sky Valley for a trip to Storyland and the local attractions. Sky Valley was very clean the pool was nice and the property was spacious. The rooms like I previously said where a little old but I had expected thisas I heard the motels are shabby/chic. overall we had a great trip and enjoyed our day at the sky valley I will definitely refer it to family and friends and I an planning to return in fall 2014.


appreciated that

Room Tip: the room was a little old I did appreciate that the bathroom was updated overall everything was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Yes, I noticed you and and boys seemed to be having a great time. It's nice to see families spending time together.

Your unit was built in 1955 and in those days it was "top of the line". Back then having a radio and coin operated TV set in the room was a rare amenity. We have come a long way since then although the desk in your unit is the very same one that was there 57 years ago. Nothing much else has survived from those bygone days.

The bathroom upgrades were a necessary and much appreciated improvement but we still have some old time flavor and it seems most of our customers like that feature. We keep upgrading things as time and budgets allow .

We are glad you enjoyed and look forward to seeing you again, whenever that may be.

Maureen & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It's been ten years since the last time we at Sky Valley. Dave and Maureen made our stay comfortable and relaxing. The cottage we stayed in was clean. The grounds are well maintained. The pool was wonderful. The location is great and not far from Conway.



  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
I intended to catch up with you for a bit longer of a chat about what you've been up to for the past ten years but it seemed things always came up that prevented me getting to see you.

I'm glad everything was A-OK and perhaps it won't be another ten years before you get back here. See you then,

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
1.8 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
293 reviews
7.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
5.4 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Property: Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
#3 Family Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Valley Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Traditional motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. Free continental breakfast during in-season, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains/Bartlett, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing