We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected”
Review of Bartlett Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bartlett Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2008

My husband and I booked a couple nights here in October, wishing to enjoy the fall foliage in a cozy family-friendly atmosphere. We read the reviews first, which were almost all stellar. Almost everyone who had stayed here raved about their experiences. My husband and I could sum it up by saying it was good -- not great -- and not what we would spend $200 a night on had we known what we were getting. We stayed in the Sawyer cottage with our 15-month-old daughter.
Some of the good things we had read online proved true. The innkeepers, Nick and Miriam, were more than gracious hosts, making us feel at home right away. We enjoyed cups of warm apple cider in the living room while talking with them about how we would spend the next 48 hours enjoying the beauty of the White Mountains. Each morning they fed us a hearty breakfast in the main house, and even our picky toddler ate a lot.
When we get the chance to get away, one of the most important things we look forward to is a relaxing and comfortable home away from home. After reading the reviews, we were sure this is what we were going to get when we arrived at our cottage.
The first thing we noticed upon entering was the musty smell. Smell is the first thing to greet you when you enter a new place. I was expecting a fresh, clean smell. The decor was dated and shabby. It wasn't the quaint, charming country cottage that I had imagined. I realize that most people do not check into these cabins expecting to spend a lot of time in them. But when you have a baby, you have to be there for when she naps during the day, and for a long time at night since she goes to bed early. I had hoped my husband and I would have a more enjoyable place to pass all these hours, but it was like a camp we’d go to as a kid, but with a price tag our parents would have never paid.
The shower stall was way too small for an average- sized adult to shower in comfortably. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable. Some would argue our standards are too high, but for $200 a night, I don’t think so. For that amount of money, I want to be able to say, “That was totally worth it! Let’s do this again!” It’s sad that we can’t.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rschlosser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2008

Had a great stay at the Bartlett Inn. Nick and Miriam gave us a wonderful welcome and were always happy to advise on excursions, places to eat etc.
Breakfasts were good, with choice of entree. It got a bit hectic when the inn was full, but you can always grab a coffee and read the papers in the lounge, while waiting.Hot tub was a wonderful place to wind down after a busy day.
A great relaxing spot, and one we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brynhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Based on the Bartlett Inn's friendly presentation on their website, and reviews and photos found through Google & Trip Advisor searches, we booked 2 nights during the Fall Foliage this year. We could not have been more welcomed by both Nick and Miriam, or better advised on moderate hiking adventures and tremendous dinner options. We will return as soon as we can and advise anyone looking for a marvelous get-away to choose the Bartlett Inn.

Feel free to contact us if you have any questions! msmallen8@yahoo.com. This is an impartial, and unqualified endorsement. Wish I was still there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarcyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Our stay at the Bartlett Inn (3 nights) leaves us with wonderful memories. Not only the great location, the cosy house, and the very nice room, but mainly the innkeepers made our stay unforgettable. Nick and Miriam (and their children) really made us feel at home. They enthousiastically provided us with tips on things to do and restaurants to try out. And we started our day with a fabulous breakfast - Nick and Miriam also happen to be great cooks (the cranberry pancakes were delicious). We definitely hope to go back one time !

Liesbet & Vincent
Brussels

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LiesBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We stayed at the Bartlett Inn for 4 nights in May and had a great time. Nick and Miriam are great hosts, they have a huge amount of knowledge about the area and seemed to enjoy getting to know their guests. Our cottage was cosy and comfortable - the bathroom was a bit on the small side but it wasn't a huge concern. The Inn is perfectly situated for touring around the White Mountains and there are some lovely places nearby for dinner in the evening. I also have to mention Miriam's breakfasts - the best pancakes I had during our entire stay in the US!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Found the Barlett Inn by chance and am really glad we did. This was the best B&B experience I've had ever. Rooms in both the main house and in the cabins are nicely furnished, cozy and comforting. The atmosphere overall is very inviting, and the owners--Miriam and Nick--make you feel like an old friends the minute you walk in the door. We immediately felt comfortable and at home.

The included breakfast is fabulous, with several choices cooked to order. You even get fruit and juice! And oh, if quiche is on the menu, order it! Delicious. I had a taste of the spinach and feta -- pure heaven.

With the hot tub and beautiful grounds, our vist to the Bartlett Inn was relaxing, yet stimulating. Great location for both summer and winter activities. Will definitely visit again, hopefully this winter!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ktakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We went to the White Mtns. for a camping trip...we ended up staying in the Bartlett Inn because of terrible weather. We had a nice time and got to spend time with Nick and his family. The room we stayed in was the Carrigain Room. It had a kitchen and plenty of room for our kids to sleep. Our trip could have had a terrible ending because of weather, but we were able to book a room for our family and our dog. The amenities were not the only draw to this B & B. It was the wonderful personalities of the owners. Very personable. Will definitely go again, maybe even for the Polar Express Package. Thank you to the Bartlett Inn for a wonderful ending to what could have been a terrible vacation.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank WonderMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
0 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
879 reviews
0 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
0 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartlett Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartlett Inn

Address: 1477 Main St, Glen, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Price Range: £61 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bartlett Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn that is more like a small European hotel with inn rooms, cottages, with fireplaces, kitchenettes, Jacuzzis. A great base for all White Mountain activity (alpine and x-c ski, hiking and mountain biking trail access, Story Land,Santa's Village, Polar Express Packages) & just relaxing. Yummy country breakfast included. Expert trail advice, Outdoor hot tub/Pool. Great for couples and families; Pets welcome in cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bartlett Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartlett Hotel Bartlett
Bartlett Inn White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing