We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time at the Bartlett Inn”
Review of Bartlett Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bartlett Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Lovely time at the Bartlett Inn”
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We spent a lovely afternoon and evening at the Bartlett Inn over the holidays to celebrate my birthday. Nick and Miriam warmly greeted us, and we sipped hot apple cider and nibbled on delicious homemade cookies while we took a look around the Inn and checked-in. My husband had originally tried to book Inn Room 4, but we were staying only for one night and it had a two-night minimum. However, when we arrived, Inn Room 4 was still vacant. Nick let us take a look at both Rooms 4 and 5 and decide which room we preferred. We actually chose the room we had booked anyway -- Inn Room 5, with a fireplace and sitting area at the foot of the bed.

Nick had recommended an amazing restaurant (White Mountain Cider Co.) for dinner, and you should definitely eat there if you end up at the Bartlett Inn or near North Conway. All of the necessary equipment (wood, kindling, lighter) for a fire was available, but when we expressed some doubt about whether we would be successful in lighting a fire, Nick graciously offered to set it up for us, so that upon our return from dinner all we would have to do is light it. We did just that, and spent a very cozy evening on a bench in front of the fire in our room.

If we had had more time, we would have sat in the common living room, playing games or reading. The common room had a fire going when we checked in and was cozily decorated, although we were surprised by the blaring tv, which didn't really fit it). The bed was comfortable and we slept well.

Perhaps our only disappointment was that while breakfast was good (pancakes), it wasn't amazing or quite as hearty as we were expecting. The coffee, however, was excellent, and Nick & Miriam made delightful conversation. Also, it was cold in the room at night, though the many blankets on the bed kept us warm. Overall, we had a wonderful stay!

Some other notes on Bartlett:

Nick & Miriam had free passes for snowshoeing. We didn't take advantage of these but would have had we stayed another day.

We went on a sleigh ride and walked the grounds of Nestlenook Farm -- highly recommend it! There are various types of sleigh rides (group, semi-private, and private). We opted for the private, which was a one-horse open sleigh ride, complete with fur blanket and a bottle of champagne! The sleigh ride takes you all over the grounds and stops to let you feed reindeer. Nestlenook also has a 3-acre skating pond, which we walked around, and various bonfires around the property, as well as complimentary hot chocolate for cold nights!

Finally, if you're a West Wing fan, you can stop and see the Josiah Bartlett Library down the street from the Inn!

  • Liked — The fireplace
  • Disliked — People watching tv in the living room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEcouple08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    56
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
100
119
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

My husband and I booked a couple nights here in October, wishing to enjoy the fall foliage in a cozy family-friendly atmosphere. We read the reviews first, which were almost all stellar. Almost everyone who had stayed here raved about their experiences. My husband and I could sum it up by saying it was good -- not great -- and not what we would spend $200 a night on had we known what we were getting. We stayed in the Sawyer cottage with our 15-month-old daughter.
Some of the good things we had read online proved true. The innkeepers, Nick and Miriam, were more than gracious hosts, making us feel at home right away. We enjoyed cups of warm apple cider in the living room while talking with them about how we would spend the next 48 hours enjoying the beauty of the White Mountains. Each morning they fed us a hearty breakfast in the main house, and even our picky toddler ate a lot.
When we get the chance to get away, one of the most important things we look forward to is a relaxing and comfortable home away from home. After reading the reviews, we were sure this is what we were going to get when we arrived at our cottage.
The first thing we noticed upon entering was the musty smell. Smell is the first thing to greet you when you enter a new place. I was expecting a fresh, clean smell. The decor was dated and shabby. It wasn't the quaint, charming country cottage that I had imagined. I realize that most people do not check into these cabins expecting to spend a lot of time in them. But when you have a baby, you have to be there for when she naps during the day, and for a long time at night since she goes to bed early. I had hoped my husband and I would have a more enjoyable place to pass all these hours, but it was like a camp we’d go to as a kid, but with a price tag our parents would have never paid.
The shower stall was way too small for an average- sized adult to shower in comfortably. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable. Some would argue our standards are too high, but for $200 a night, I don’t think so. For that amount of money, I want to be able to say, “That was totally worth it! Let’s do this again!” It’s sad that we can’t.

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of the innkeepers.
  • Disliked — The inside of our cottage.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rschlosser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Had a great stay at the Bartlett Inn. Nick and Miriam gave us a wonderful welcome and were always happy to advise on excursions, places to eat etc.
Breakfasts were good, with choice of entree. It got a bit hectic when the inn was full, but you can always grab a coffee and read the papers in the lounge, while waiting.Hot tub was a wonderful place to wind down after a busy day.
A great relaxing spot, and one we hope to visit again.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brynhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF BayArea, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Based on the Bartlett Inn's friendly presentation on their website, and reviews and photos found through Google & Trip Advisor searches, we booked 2 nights during the Fall Foliage this year. We could not have been more welcomed by both Nick and Miriam, or better advised on moderate hiking adventures and tremendous dinner options. We will return as soon as we can and advise anyone looking for a marvelous get-away to choose the Bartlett Inn.

Feel free to contact us if you have any questions! msmallen8@yahoo.com. This is an impartial, and unqualified endorsement. Wish I was still there.

  • Liked — Hosts, location, welcoming relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — that we aren't still there
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarcyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Our stay at the Bartlett Inn (3 nights) leaves us with wonderful memories. Not only the great location, the cosy house, and the very nice room, but mainly the innkeepers made our stay unforgettable. Nick and Miriam (and their children) really made us feel at home. They enthousiastically provided us with tips on things to do and restaurants to try out. And we started our day with a fabulous breakfast - Nick and Miriam also happen to be great cooks (the cranberry pancakes were delicious). We definitely hope to go back one time !

Liesbet & Vincent
Brussels

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LiesBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We stayed at the Bartlett Inn for 4 nights in May and had a great time. Nick and Miriam are great hosts, they have a huge amount of knowledge about the area and seemed to enjoy getting to know their guests. Our cottage was cosy and comfortable - the bathroom was a bit on the small side but it wasn't a huge concern. The Inn is perfectly situated for touring around the White Mountains and there are some lovely places nearby for dinner in the evening. I also have to mention Miriam's breakfasts - the best pancakes I had during our entire stay in the US!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, NH
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Found the Barlett Inn by chance and am really glad we did. This was the best B&B experience I've had ever. Rooms in both the main house and in the cabins are nicely furnished, cozy and comforting. The atmosphere overall is very inviting, and the owners--Miriam and Nick--make you feel like an old friends the minute you walk in the door. We immediately felt comfortable and at home.

The included breakfast is fabulous, with several choices cooked to order. You even get fruit and juice! And oh, if quiche is on the menu, order it! Delicious. I had a taste of the spinach and feta -- pure heaven.

With the hot tub and beautiful grounds, our vist to the Bartlett Inn was relaxing, yet stimulating. Great location for both summer and winter activities. Will definitely visit again, hopefully this winter!

  • Liked — Inviting atmosphere and friendly warmth of the owners.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ktakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
9.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
7.1 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
7.2 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.1 mi away
Attitash Mountain Village
Attitash Mountain Village
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartlett Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartlett Inn

Property: Bartlett Inn
Address: 1477 Main St (US Rte 302), Glen, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bartlett Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn that is more like a small European hotel with inn rooms, cottages, with fireplaces, kitchenettes, Jacuzzis. A great base for all White Mountain activity (alpine and x-c ski, hiking and mountain biking trail access, Story Land,Santa's Village, Polar Express Packages) & just relaxing. Yummy country breakfast included. Expert trail advice, Outdoor hot tub/Pool. Great for couples and families; Pets welcome in cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bartlett Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartlett Hotel Bartlett
Bartlett Inn White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing