We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brick Store

The Brick Store
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Brick Store has been in business since at least 1790, making it America's oldest continuously operated general store. It is located in Bath, New Hampshire -- a quintessential New England village including the town common with war memorial, the picturesque white steepled church, and three historic covered bridges. As a true general store, The Brick Store offers a little bit of everything including Nancy's delicious homemade fudge, and their nationally famous Jim's Smokehouse products.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The fudge was very good- store was quite a bit smaller than I expected. The people were very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“How it used to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with my teenage son, going back over 200 years was a great feeling, the wooden floors were uneven which just showed how old and authentic the Brick Store is. The fudge was good, found items that I have been looking for the last 4 years visiting the white mountains. The simple life, the way people really don't understand these days. Thanks for a great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Brick Store - A Sweet General Store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We drove to The Brick Store during a trip to Fairlee, VT, while on a meeting break. It had a fun 'general store' feel, and offered homemade fudge, cheeses, and donuts in addition to clothing, beers, and other gifts. Glad we saw it. Got some fudge for us, and my mother. Was pretty tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie314T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsgrove, nj
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a really cool store to visit! The smoked pepperoni and smoked cheddar are amazing! So much so that we now order online for holiday gifts! When visiting take time to explore the covered bridge right next to the store or get an ice cream at the shop next store called "at the hop."

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best smoked sausage and America's oldest general store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We just discovered this place last year and brought some friends back on our last visit. They have the best smoked sausage and cheese. You can smell the smoker when you get close to the store. The people working there are a blast to talk to and are super friendly. If you in Bath stop in and enjoy the experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank polaris185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brick Store also viewed

 
Bath, White Mountains
Bath, White Mountains
 

Been to The Brick Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing