We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedford Village Inn Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bedford Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Medfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Bedford Village Inn Review”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Property is beautiful...Wish the restaurant was attached to the main house. Would have like tea water to be hotter. Staff very accommodating..Nice touch with coffee maker in room. Mini bar prices are reasonable...Like the refrigerators in the room...Breakfast was great as was my cheeseburger thru room service...Cant wait to go back for Christmas when the inn is all decorated.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    42
    22
    12
    19
See reviews for
60
137
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I used to work for a company who had some functions there. Always top notch food, service and decor. I haven't been there in about 10 years until today. I had a family function to attend to there and it's just as it was 10 years ago. Quality food, service and decor. The surroundings are warm and hospitable, the food is top quality and very tasty and the service is impeccable. I wish I lived closer to visit more often. Then, again, I wish I lived further away so I could stay there when visiting the area! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephV44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Front foyer set with empty function tables which gave the feel of walking in the back door of a hotel. Room had musty smell, pillows had mildew smell, and the door stuck. Lighting was too dark. Wasn't romantic, dusty, like sleeping in a basement. Not worth the price. BVI is past it's glory days.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NETRVLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

A 30th anniversary is a big event. My wife and I wanted a little getaway trip that was outside of Keene, our home town, but not so far away that we would spend a lot of time driving because I had to leave for a business trip the day after we came home. We chose the Bedford Village Inn, since it was an easy hour's drive from home. It was a great choice. Our suite was surprisingly large and comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant, which included complimentary wine and cheese to start the meal. Both the food and the service were terrific. My only complaint was that the wine cellar was out of the half bottle of Shafer 1.5, a wine we were looking forward to sharing. I'm sorry to say we didn't have time to have breakfast at the Inn the next morning, since we had to get back to town. But, we have decided to plan another getaway soon.

Room Tip: Not very helpful here. We arrived at night and in winter. We didn't experience anything other th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had gone to the Bedford Village Inn for a winter weekend getaway only a short drive from Boston. We spent a long time looking for a cute little place to go on tripadvisor. We were hoping for a quaint little inn, where we could just relax by the fire, read, and enjoy the countryside. Sadly, we were very disappointed by the lack of service and attention to detail that we have loved about visiting other country inns. Our first impression was that the main building itself is lovely, although it is off a rather large highway-like road. We arrived late on a Friday night, and couldn't even reach the front desk entirely, as there were props for an event to be held at the Inn stacked in front of the front desk. Regardless, we were able to check in, given a coupon for free wine and cheese the next day, and went to our room in the main house. It was a pretty spacious room for an inn, complete with a sitting area (although no fireplaces in the room), and four-poster king sized bed. Although the room itself was lovely, it did seem to smell a bit musty. We enjoyed the complimentary cookies that were put in the room with turn down service, and went to bed early. The next day, we drove to nearby Manchester, then headed back to the inn for a cozy afternoon by the fireplace in the Milk Room. Unfortunately, our cozy afternoon was disrupted by having to hear the sales pitch x 2 for having the Bedford Village Inn for a wedding. I get it. They do a lot of business as a wedding venue, but why not have the sales pitch in the main hall (where there was none) and let the paying guests enjoy the fireplace? We ultimately ended up sitting in the sitting area in our room, although we would have enjoyed the fireplace setting. We went to dinner at the main restaurant at the hotel, and were happy to be seated in a quaint, historic room near the fireplace. Dinner was okay, but didn't feel "farm fresh" or worth the prices that they were charging (about $30 for main course). We went to Corks (the wine bar) for after dinner drinks, and to redeem the coupon given at check in. They have a wonderful looking cheese menu--with several local cheeses, so we were excited to have some cheese to have our meal. Sadly, our "cheese plate" included mozzarella, pepper jack, and swiss (seemingly straight from the club store), so we didn't really get to try the local cheeses. I checked--none of those cheeses were on the cheese menu that they offered. My husband will be a bit mad at me for complaining about something that is supposedly "free" but I don't understand why they would give you something for free if they didn't want it to make a positive impression. This did not. However, I did enjoy Corks wine bar. In fact, it was probably the highlight of our trip. The bartender was wonderful, we got to meet other interesting people at the bar, and I got to try some great different wines as a wine flight. We went back to the room after the wine bar closed at 10 PM, and were surprised to see that there was no turn down service (meaning none of the delicious cookies that I had been waiting for, and the bed had not been turned down). I went to the front desk to ask if I could have any of the delicious cookies that I had been hoping for. The guy at the front desk said that there were no cookies, and he had no idea why there hadn't been turn down service in our room. I was kind of disappointed. My overall impression of this place is that they cater mostly to weddings, and sadly that if you go there as a guest NOT for a wedding, you may not get the personal service that you are looking for at a country inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Wife and I had a Getaway weekend at BVI in January, '13. The place is beautiful. Our suite was top notch. The restaurant was fantastic (maybe the best breakfasts I've ever had). My only issue was with the bathroom linen. At a place this good, I expected "soft and fluffy", but we got "tired and scratchy". It's time to rotate out the current stuff and upgrade it to new.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woburn massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We booked a post-holiday get away to the BVI and it generally fulfilled our expectations. The 3rd floor suite we were assigned was spacious, very comfortable, included 2 TV's, in room coffee and tea service and a clean and well stocked bathroom. In the paperwork we received it was noted that a function could take place in the downstairs function room but it was guaranteed to end by 11 p.m. It did occur, and watching TV was no problem, but the background noise from the first floor made reading difficult. As promised the function ended by 11pm.
The freshly baked cookies at turndown were welcome, as was the tea and assorted cookies from 4 to 6 in the downstairs lounge.
The attentive dining room staff was professional and the food was first-class. All in all, we look forward to another elegant get away to recuperate from the hectic holidays again next year. However, we will hope for a quieter evening sans function.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bos2nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Manchester Airport
3.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Manchester
Radisson Hotel Manchester
#4 of 16 in Manchester
1,269 reviews
17.0 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester - Bedford
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Court Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Village Inn

Property: Bedford Village Inn
Address: 2 Olde Bedford Way, Bedford, NH 03110-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bedford Village Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Four Diamond New Hampshire Lodging Experience Nestled in the green hills of New England, our Luxury Inn and Boutique Grand Hotel in Bedford, New Hampshire. The Bedford Village Inn was once the site of a working farm built in 1810. Through a multi-million-dollar restoration, the original residence became the home of our nationally acclaimed AAA Four Diamond restaurant. Our 4-Building resort offers a variety of services and amenities to accommodate every aspect of your tranquil retreat at the Bedford Village Inn. In addition to the level of service and luxury amenities we have provided for many years; the Inn and Grand Hotel will offer additional amenities including a heated, year-round, salt water pool, unlimited fiber optic internet access, fitness room with cutting edge equipment, 24-Hour business center, Molton Brown bath amenities, luxury transportation services and complimentary continental breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bedford Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Village Hotel Bedford
Village Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing