We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess and architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Ranked #3 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostess and architecture”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Mary is such a friendly welcoming and obliging person and the Mulburn Inn such a character filled and architecturally distinguished house that one can forgive the occasional quirks that she has not got round to fixing yet - e.g collapsing blinds, trickling taps. To sit in the lounge or on the porch and imagine all the famous people who must have done the same thing in the home's heyday is fun. Her breakasts and afternoon treats are great and the guest fridge is stocked with beer and soft drinks. She has done a great deal in a short space of time to revive the house and deserves praise for what she has achieved.
Bethlehem is an attractive place, although it has obviously faded since its prime. The Cold Mountain cafe is highly recommended for good well priced food and a trip to Mount Washington and its hotel are essential

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pindarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
134
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We just stayed at the Mulburn Inn for my brothers wedding weekend which was in town...it was as if we were all staying together, renting a big, beautiful home. Mary was the most gracious host, was so accommodating, and is a fab cook! Best chocolate chip cookies I've ever had (she bakes daily!)... A definite must! Yo

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmagirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

From the moment we arrived Mary the host couldnt have made us more welcome. Its a lovely property with some interesting history . All the ameneties you could want and lots of places to relax. Wished we could have stayed longer . Mary gets it just right , and we would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalakiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We recently stayed at this lovely b&b for four days. We were impressed by Mary's friendliness and willingness to please.

The b&b is very spacious and comfortable with many nooks within which to relax and read or maybe just chill out on the porch. There's a good supply of books and magazines, as well as handy maps.

The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful--you never go hungry here! There's a small fridge in the dining room with bottled water, yogurts, etc; and there were yummy home-made cookies and scones available as well. We also appreciated that breakfast hours weren't rigid.

The room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. The only minor inconvenience was the walk-in shower as there was nowhere to put our soaps and things.

We were also not informed about housekeeping options. No one came in to do the room. When we asked the owner, she said she would do it if we wanted, but it's preferable to have it done without having to ask.

As for changing towels and sheets, it's understandable that they wouldn't be changed every day for environmental reasons, but there should be some kind of card in the room stating these choices. We did get our towels changed once we asked though.

All in all, it was an enjoyable stay and we would recommend this b&b to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catpeople97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

An amazing place to spend a few nights. The hospitality provided was amazing. When we arrived during a rain storm we were greeted at the car with an umbrella. This set the tone for the fantastic couple of nights of genuine service we experienced. I cannot rate The Mulburn Inn highly enough

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I stayed at this bed & breakfast for three nights with my husband last week. We were skiing at Bretton Woods resort which is only a 15 minute drive away. We wanted to stay somewhere nearby where we could relax and be comfortable but also didn't want high prices.

The Mulburn Inn was the perfect choice and I can't say too many good things about it. We had a fantastic stay there and I would highly recommend the place. The house itself is really beautiful; a big, spacious, period home with high ceilings and lots of gorgeous furniture and even a baby grand piano. Wood flooring throughout and lots of comfy, cosy couches and big log fireplaces. We stayed in the Madison room which was lovely and had a big four poster bed.

The live-in owner, Mary, made us feel so welcome and wanted us to really make ourselves at home. She couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and really looked after us. The breakfasts she made for us every morning were incredible. We were served a variety of delicious meals from potato rosti with scrambled egg, to frittata and home fries to French toast with blueberry syrup and fruit salad. Some of the best breakfasts I've ever been served.

The Inn is really geared towards allowing guests to relax and enjoy some chill out time. There's a hot tub, lots of books and board games for visitors use, a kitchen area for making coffee, hot chocolate, tea and a fridge with sodas, water and even some beer which you can dip into. Mary even sets a whole bunch of fleecy slippers inside the back door, so you can slip into a pair when you arrive and wander around in them in comfort while you're there. It's all these little touches that make the Inn so relaxing and comfortable.

The Inn also had a great wifi connection so we were able to go online easily when we wanted to.

The rates are very reasonable, especially considering the quality of the Inn. We've often paid a lot more for lodging of a much lower quality. The next time we ski Bretton Woods, we will definitely be staying at the Mulburn again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The Mulburn Inn was a terrific get-a-away spot. The owner, Mary, was sociable, personable, and quite attentive to detail in every aspect of our stay. The Victorian era is re-captured in this magnicent house. The breakfast was superb and Mary is quite willing to accomodate any taste, diet, or food requirements.

We stayed in the Madison room and loved the hard wood floors and decor of the room. The only downside to this room is the proximity of the bathroom in the room next door. Thin walls allow all noises in the next room to be heard as if you were in the same room. I would definitely stay at this Inn again, but would choose another room. The tranquil atmosphere and choices of things to do far outway the bathroom noises of the guests next door.

We loved it, and will go there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie71171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
1.0 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
116 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
734 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem

Property: The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Address: 2370 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574-4915
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulburn Inn At Bethlehem White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing