We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and convenient!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maia Papaya

The Maia Papaya
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and convenient!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stopped in at the Maya Papaya when I was in Bethlehem for a weekend for work. Tasty food fast, in a lovely small-town atmosphere! Decent variety allows for a range from comfort to healthy foods.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bad Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I used to stop in a fair bit in 2011 as it was a middle ground between home and work. My first experience was not positive - I was trying to make conversation with the clerk (I asked how they got the name, as it's what my Grandpa called me, and was the reason I stopped) and she was incredibly rude and short with me. I thought perhaps she just wasn't chatty, but she was plenty chatty to the people who entered after I went to sit down with my food.

There was one clerk of the three who were always there who was very sweet, so I would come back for her. It got to a point where, if she wasn't there, I would just leave, and then it stopped being worth it all together.

I stopped in a couple months ago (having not been there since 2011 because of the majority of rude service I received), and unfortunately, it hasn't changed at all. I called my order in ahead of time, as I was in a bit of a hurry. When I entered, one clerk was in deep conversation with a customer in front of the cash register and the other was over at the grill. I was not greeted or acknowledged by either of them, and, in fact, I had to interrupt their conversation after waiting directly beside her for nearly 12 minutes to ask if I could pay for my food. The clerk was very put-off by my interruption (how dare I want to pay for my food), and simply rang me up, didn't ask if I wanted anything else, and immediately went back into conversation after running my card.

I'm a big supporter of local businesses, but I can say I won't be stopping here ever again or recommending it to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank JovaniSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betlehem
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Veggie Sandwhich I have Ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Green Submarine was perfect combination of healthy and satisfying and I found the service to be both friendly and efficient. I have also had the breakfast burrito several times and it is always delicious! I would strongly recommend Mia Papaya

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marymulburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots of yummy, delicious, affordable goodies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This place has a little bit of evreything! You can start your day off with a fast, wonderful breakfast, lattes, hot chocolate etc. If you want to splurge, go right for the delicious baked goods; their scones are superb. Try their lunches which give you a very nice variety and are very afforable; homemade soups and quiche are also on the menu. The "townies" are in there all the time and so that usually shows you that the food is pretty darn good!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franconia, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Rude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Decent food, yes. but the owner is so unfriendly and unhelpful that I refuse to go back again. She might be able to whip up a Panini but would it kill her to learn how to be friendly to her customers? News flash -- We're paying your electric bill, lady!! Maybe you should be nicer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amaro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maia Papaya also viewed

Bethlehem, White Mountains
Bethlehem, White Mountains
 
Bethlehem, White Mountains
 

Been to The Maia Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing