We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Weekend Stay”
Review of The Wayside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
West Roxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We again stayed with Victor and Kathe for a December (2012) Rocks Estate weekend.
Judith and I are "raving fans." They and their son are very welcoming hosts. Victor's food in the restaurant is delicious. The rooms are comfortable.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool and no fitness center. TripAdvisor does not allow for a "not appli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake-Chev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you so much for your very generous review. We are truly looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    36
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
23
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The Way Side is a great couples weekend get away. The furnishings are old but comfortable and clean and the hosts Kathy and Victor are very friendly. The food is top notch in the restaurant with breakfast included and dinner as an option. The food was much better here and less than we paid at the overpriced Washington Inn. The restaurant has a Currier and Ives view of the woods and a small stream. The Wayside has a small bar with TV and another sitting room has a real wood fireplace and TV.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeB225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Thank you so very much for your review and your stay with us. We very much look forward to your return visit. All the best to both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed over New Years Eve weekend and had a fabulous time.
Our room was charming in a Yankee rustic kind of way. Kathe and Victor, the Swiss couple who own the place are awesome. Kathe runs the inn and Victor is the head chef at the Riverview Restaurant, attached to the Inn. The room and bathroom were very clean.

The food is DELICIOUS! We had breakfast (which is included with the room) and dinner there everyday. I suggest the french toast or blueberry pancakes for breakfast, any of the pork or fish specials for dinner, and the maple bacon ice cream (made locally) for dessert. If you are staying someplace else, it's worth the trip to dinner. Locals and guests staying at other hotels make the trip to Riverview to eat, which says a lot about the food. Restaurant staff were very friendly too.

In the mornings, you can see chickadees around the bird-feeder, by the river, not a bad way to start the day.

There are a couple cozy common areas, one with a fireplace, and another with books and games to play.

A cute black cat roams about. I didn't see him/her everyday during the my stay, but wanted to give a heads up for those who are highly allergic. I'd ask before booking.

Room Tip: The annex is detached from the main inn, where you'll have to walk outside each time you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. Hopefully we will visit again this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

After a long journey from the Green Mountains we were looking forward to our stay in this picturesque setting. We had massive problems finding the Inn as the sat nav did not recognise the address and had eventually to ask in Bethlehem itself.
Onn our final arrival we were met by Mr Grumpy who immediately informed us the restaurant was closed that night as its his night off. Not a good start as we were fed up of driving and this place is so remote you would have to drive to find a place to eat.
The room was basic and disappointing so we told Mr Grumpy that we would not stay, this was about 3pm. He did not offer any help or interest in our dilemma.
He did though through our credit card charge us for 2 nights we did not stay. Outrageous.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juliacrawford10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Interstate 93 - exit 40 - go east on Rte. 302/Main Street for 6.5 miles. We are on the right hand side by the old Pierce Bridge.
It must have been Monday to meet Mr. Grumpy when he usually is at his "best".
I did refund your second night and am sorry that you had an unpleasant experience to take back with you to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Wayside Inn is a slightly dated motel set back from the road to Mt Washington. The rooms are clean and spacious, the decor a bit dated. Water pressure marginal. Apparently, when we arrived it was the first cold evening of the season. We had pre-booked and would have appreciated a bit of heat on arrival. Luckily, the heating did work fairly promptly once we turned it on. There was a fireplace in the common room, which was a real bonus when it was lit the next evening. The accommodation is more than adequate, but the real trump here was the restaurant. It looks out over the river and the autumn foliage, the service is very cordial and personal, but the trump is chef Victor's cooking, a perfect fusion of his Swiss origins with regional flavours. The food was so delicious we made it our choice for the second night, as soon as it hit the table on the first. Breakfast likewise is excellent, recommend blueberry pancakes. Even if you are not staying there, the restaurant would be well worth a visit.

Room Tip: It's far enough back from the road, any room is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for writing this review and your positive feedback. We are still in the White Mountains though but I hear the Appalachians are beautiful too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The location in the White Mountains was lovely and convenient for the cog railway and other attractions. Our room in the main Inn was well proportioned, clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the blueberry pancakes I had for breakfast were the best ever! The dining room is also very pleasant, spacious not cramped and overlooking a pretty river. The service was also friendly. There are two comfortable rooms to sit and relax in, we sat in the one with the open fire which was lovely, albeit a bit smokey at times, and had a great eveing chatting with other guests. There were also plenty of games and books if you needed them. Internet access was easy too. Victor was not only a great cook but also helpful in recommending places to visit and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
It was great meeting both of you. Thank you for having chosen the Wayside Inn and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have gone back to this inn for around 20 years. It is beautifully situated near the White Mountains and next to a river (which you see at breakfast and dinner); the rooms are cosy and tastefully decorated, and the food, done by Swiss host-chef Victor varied and excellent. The food is European, with a modern touch. Consistently excellent are the rack of lamb, brook trout, weiner schnitzel, crab cakes and various Swiss specialties a la Victor.

There is a comfortable bar and a living room with tvs where you can watch football,baseball and political debates- if that's your pleasure. No tv's in the inn rooms (thankfully), but the motel half of the inn has them in the rooms. Victor and Kathe are gracious hosts, and to us, the place feels like another home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanbeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
We very much appreciate your review and are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
3.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
5.5 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains, close to the historic center of Bethlehem, the Inn is set by the beautiful Ammonoosuc River. Here is a favorite for family vacations, romantic getaways and group gatherings any time of the year. Guests gather in the Pierce Lounge before enjoying the Riverview Restaurant. Hearty New England breakfast starts your day, and dinner will be perfect looking out alongside the river and gardens. Your family dog is welcome is a special set of rooms. Everything is carefully and lovingly prepared by your host, award-winning chef, Victor Hofmann. Stroll the gardens under the brilliant New England night sky.Golf closeby. Hiking-Nature Walks-Fishing-Moose Watching-Biking-Birding-Swimming-Kayaking-Antiquing-Summer Theater. Winters:Skiing-Snowshoeing-Dog Sledding-Snowmobiling-Sleigh Rides-Snowtubing-Ice Skating-Maple Sugaring. New England at its best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayside Inn Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing