We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant!”
Review of The Wayside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
East Central FL
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The restaurant!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but we did eat here. The restaurant is cozy as is the whole building. The service is excellent and our server was knowledgable and helpful. Prices were not high. We're not normally food experimenters but we tried dinners we wouldn't normally consider; all were delicious. Even the couple who goes here often tried something new and enjoyed their dinners.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meals and hopefully will be back for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    36
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
23
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Mass.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our golfing foursome has been coming to the Wayside Inn for years for 3 days of golf in the White Mountains. We get the golfing package and add the 3rd day. Victor's food is always outstanding. We stay in the older Inn portion. It's quaint and quite. Modern baths, but no TVs in the rooms. But, cable TVs in the lounge and sitting area enable us to keep up with the Red Sox. Some people dis the Waumbek course in Jefferson, but it's a true mountain course, and well worth a try. Remember, all putts break towards Cherry Mountain. We're looking forward to coming back next year.

Room Tip: We like the first floor in the original Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Summer wouldn't be the same without the Fab Four. Thank you for your review and return to the inn. We are looking forward to next summer to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I recently had a two night stay at the Wayside, and we enjoyed it immensely. We did the golf package they offer, which includes meals and the food was great (try the spatzli as a side dish!). If you play golf, make sure to include the Maplewood course; we enjoyed that more than Waumbek, which has a nice history to it, but is not as well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, food and golf in the White Mountains. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Six of us (plus one dog) just got together for a mini family-reunion at The Wayside Inn. Two couples stayed in the Inn portion: they raved about the lounge, the comfortable sitting areas, and the in-room jacuzzi. One couple (with dog) stayed in the annex, which has some pet-friendly rooms. Super quiet and comfortable, super clean (everywhere, really) with plenty of cable channels so that the dog could "watch" his cooking shows.

We all enjoyed the hummingbirds in the perennial flower garden, the stream out back (great for a quick dip), and the adirondack chairs for sitting and chatting.

We stayed the 4th of July weekend, and the rates were excellent. Kathe made sure we were comfortable and had any golf tee times we needed. The food was also great, but that's a different review.

We had only stayed as individual couples before, but the Wayside is a great "base" for extended families to stay and play golf in Bethlehem, shop in historic Littleton, or get outdoors at Bretton Woods.

Super, super highly recommended. We love this place!

Room Tip: If you have a pet or if you have kids who MUST have TV in-room, call ahead and request the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjyMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was great seeing you and hopefully you will all be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is truly a charming Inn, the service is great, both Victor and Kathe will assist you with anything you may need, they are very knowledgeable of events and things to see and do, we are into hiking, and Victor has given us many tips on places to hike and not to hike, which is very helpful when your not familiar with an area, Victor also hikes, that's why. Kathe has a green thumb, and when you see her flower gardens you will see what I mean, and the birds and humming birds love them, which makes it really nice to watch when you are having breakfast and or dinner, which Victor does a great job of preparing, we love the rooms, very clean, we always stay at the Inn, on the side that faces the stream, love to listen to the water at night while sleeping, they also have a few motel rooms, the location is good, there is golfing, hiking, fishing, tubing, rafting, skiing, and there are a lots of little towns near by for browsing and shopping, or just relax.

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the stream if you like the sights and sounds of running water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you very much for your great review! I'm more than happy to share my perennials with any of our guests who would like to take them home and try them in their own garden or give them to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampden, maine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just stayed there this weekend. A surprise! It is an older property but very very very clean. Lovely lovely stream running back and was able to listen to it at night. The breakfast was delightful and served to you. Lovely rooms in the Inn without TV. but with a jacuzzi! Nice rates!

Very quiet...off the beaten path but easily accessible to the Presidential Mountain Range. Nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leebill04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.
Please come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Roxbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We again stayed with Victor and Kathe for a December (2012) Rocks Estate weekend.
Judith and I are "raving fans." They and their son are very welcoming hosts. Victor's food in the restaurant is delicious. The rooms are comfortable.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool and no fitness center. TripAdvisor does not allow for a "not appli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake-Chev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you so much for your very generous review. We are truly looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
3.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
116 reviews
7.5 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
241 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
5.5 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains, close to the historic center of Bethlehem, the Inn is set by the beautiful Ammonoosuc River. Here is a favorite for family vacations, romantic getaways and group gatherings any time of the year. Guests gather in the Pierce Lounge before enjoying the Riverview Restaurant. Hearty New England breakfast starts your day, and dinner will be perfect looking out alongside the river and gardens. Your family dog is welcome is a special set of rooms. Everything is carefully and lovingly prepared by your host, award-winning chef, Victor Hofmann. Stroll the gardens under the brilliant New England night sky.Golf closeby. Hiking-Nature Walks-Fishing-Moose Watching-Biking-Birding-Swimming-Kayaking-Antiquing-Summer Theater. Winters:Skiing-Snowshoeing-Dog Sledding-Snowmobiling-Sleigh Rides-Snowtubing-Ice Skating-Maple Sugaring. New England at its best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayside Inn Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing