We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wayside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Marblehead, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Spacious rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Wayside Inn at the beginning of our vacation and once more at the end. The beds in both rooms were very comfortable. There is a certain charm to this inn, with the antique dressers and chairs in the bedrooms. On our first stay we were in a room with a king size four poster bed with a white lace overhead. Very romantic. Second stay we were in a room with 1 queen and 1 single which had a gorgeous view of the river that runs behind the inn. The owners were very helpful while making reservations and during our stay. Our daughter is gluten free and the chef easily adjusted one of the entrees to meet her needs. Dinner was delicious! We were able to open the windows in both rooms we stayed in for fresh air during the night, which is a must for us in any hotel or inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.
We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    36
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
23
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at my very first Bed & Breakfast inn. The room rates were very reasonable compared to the many other inns, lodges, hotels around the area. We stayed here since it's in close proximity to Bretton Woods (around 10 miles or so away) and it proved to be very convenient at such a great price! If you look at the other lodges with similar room rates, their rooms looks very outdated. The decor at the Wayside Inn was very charming and quaint. It was very cozy and felt like a home away from home. Our room and bathroom were also very clean and spacious (jacuzzi tub is always a plus!) There was no TV in our room but that wasn't a problem for me and my husband. The wifi was very fast so we could stream media on our laptop if we chose to do so. They also have a TV in the common area if you really need to catch something on TV. The view of the Ammonoosuc River from our room and the inn's restaurant also proved to be quite beautiful.

The front desk, bartender, and wait staff were also very friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant twice for breakfast and once for dinner. The food was great! The french onion soup was probably the best french onion soup I've ever had... not too salty like many others I've tried.

There weren't really any downsides. I noticed other reviewers mentioning the low shower water pressure. I agree it was a little low but the water stayed hot so it didn't bother me. Also, the heater in our room made a tapping noise. Maybe my husband was bugged a little but I tend to drown out background noises easily so I didn't mind it so much hehe. The Wayside Inn still proved to be a relaxing and enjoyable stay for us and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisLT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your first time at a B&B and hopefully will be back for another relaxing getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

When we come back to the Wayside Inn each year we are coming back to "family and friends". The inn is cozy, the food is wonderful and the familiar faces (both guests and innkeepers and staff) are what keep us returning. We were engaged at the Wayside Inn 16 years ago and now our son is part of our annual snowmobile tradition. This year we even brought our dog, Bella, and stayed in a pet friendly motel room in the "Annex".

Cross country, snowshoe or snowmobile right from the parking lot!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vlrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always a pleasure having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Roxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

For some years Judy and I have stayed at the Wayside Inn when traveling to the White Mountains. We have always felt welcome by Kathe and Victor. The rooms are very comfortable
and nicely decorated with hardwood floors and period furniture. Bathrooms are large. We especially like Victor's cooking at the restaurant with huge windows overlooking the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake-Chev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The Wayside Inn is one of those places that is good for the soul. The setting is beautiful on a mountain river. The inn is cozy and the innkeepers feel like family, both cordial and efficient. The delicious breakfasts and dinners are wonderful dining experiences overlooking the river. Nestled near Mount Washington, the Wayside Inn is always a relaxing getaway.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I've been going to the Wayside Inn in Bethlehem, NH, for over 10 years. It's my favorite place to stay when hiking or skiing in the White Mountains. The location is great -- with its central location, you can hike/ski Franconia Notch, Pinkham Notch, or Crawford Notch all within 20 minutes or so. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly. The price is a bargain for the location. But the best part is the food. The restaurant at the Inn is fabulous! My personal favorite is the Pork Victor with rosti potatoes. After a long day of hiking or skiing, I love coming back to a delicious meal. Overall, the Wayside Inn is the best place to stay in the White Mountains!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and could have stayed longer - friendly, cozy, quiet and clean. Our room in the main inn, was large with a very comfortable bed, overlooked the stream. The en-suite bathroom had a great jacuzzi tub. Location was excellent too - we covered a lot of mileage visiting the many towns of New Hampshire, but always looked forward to returning to The Wayside Inn in the evenings. The restaurant is excellent - we don't usually eat in the same place twice, but the food here was so good, we did. Breakfasts which are based more on the European side - were looked forward too, as there was a nice variety to choose from and served fresh, as you ordered.
Should we ever have the opportunity to return to New Hampshire, we would without doubt head for Bethlehem and The Wayside Inn.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms are great, but furthest from the reception areas would be recommended if in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McAdamSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure having you and your family as our fans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
3.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
5.5 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains, close to the historic center of Bethlehem, the Inn is set by the beautiful Ammonoosuc River. Here is a favorite for family vacations, romantic getaways and group gatherings any time of the year. Guests gather in the Pierce Lounge before enjoying the Riverview Restaurant. Hearty New England breakfast starts your day, and dinner will be perfect looking out alongside the river and gardens. Your family dog is welcome is a special set of rooms. Everything is carefully and lovingly prepared by your host, award-winning chef, Victor Hofmann. Stroll the gardens under the brilliant New England night sky.Golf closeby. Hiking-Nature Walks-Fishing-Moose Watching-Biking-Birding-Swimming-Kayaking-Antiquing-Summer Theater. Winters:Skiing-Snowshoeing-Dog Sledding-Snowmobiling-Sleigh Rides-Snowtubing-Ice Skating-Maple Sugaring. New England at its best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayside Inn Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing