We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from the great Bear Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We stayed at Bear Mountain over New Years, and had a good overall experience. The lodge is very comfortable, clean, and with views as advertised. The rooms are subtly decorated and well kept, with comfortable beds and linens. The breakfasts were also excellent, albeit a bit on the sweet side for our tastes and along the lines of a country breakfast, as opposed to the fancier breakfasts one sometimes encounters (a good or bad thing, depending on your taste). We had only two minor complaints: sub-par coffee and a bit of excess noise. Our room abutted the main common area, and despite the log structure we could clearly hear both the activity in that room as well as in the neighboring room. It didn't actually bother us much, and but is something to be aware of. If you're a light sleeper, perhaps request a room at the end of the hallway. Still, overall it was an excellent stay, with good food and an inviting atmosphere, as well as two very helpful, accommodating, and friendly innkeepers. I would recommend it to anyone in the area and looking for something a bit above and beyond the standard B&B experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank the_voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bear Mountain Lodge over New Years. I selected it based on its offerings for the holiday, its location, and its decor.

We have stayed at 4-5 other B & B's, and Bear Mountain was my personal favorite. The hospitality is OUTSTANDING-Michael greeted us at the front door when we returned from our excursions; Carol and Michael are funny, warm and interesting conversationalists. The breakfasts each morning were fabulous; they began with a lite fruit dish, followed by a warm dish. There is a guest refridge stocked with waters, sodas and local beer, cookies put out in the late afternoon.

We stayed in the Bear Den. Worth the price. I liked the fireplace the best; my boyfriend enjoyed the jacuzzi. We both loved the decor-rustic, western, lodgy-I felt like I was in Colorado.

I would most definately recoomend this inn if you are headed to the White Mountain area!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DCwinelvr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2007

That was our second stay at the Bear Mountain Lodge and like the first time everything was excellent. We love New Hempshire and we always go to cut our Christmas tree there but it is very important to find a nice accomodations as well. That is why we are always back at Carol's and Michael's place, full of warmth, fantastic hospitality and great atmosphere.
And this year we have met a new member of the family: sweet puppy Remi. We love dogs but do not worry if you do not- you will not even see them-Carol and Michael will do everything to make you feel comfortable and only if you ask they will bring the dogs.
They can even help you to have a nice fire outside the house with breathtaking views of the mountains, if you ask, like we did.
Simply: wonderful people and a wonderful place!

Barbara and Philip, NY

Stayed: December 2007
Thank bekmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2007

We chose the Bear Mountain Lodge as part of our Honeymoon to the USA, and we had an absolutely fantastic time. Mike and Carol showed amazing levels of hospitality and went to great lengths to make our stay so special. The suite looked as though we were the first to ever use it, and was very comfortable, whilst the breakfasts were a real occasion and set us up for the whole day. If you have the chance to visit Bethlehem, you can be sure of an awesome time at Bear Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cleo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2007

My husband and I went here on our honeymoon for 3 days, and had a fantastic time. Mike and Carol are the most amazing hosts. The food was incrediable and the room was perfect. They had just gotten a new puppy, Remy and the highlight of my trip was being able to play with him! Mike had just started putting up the Christmas lights and the lodge was beautiful at night. We will definetly be coming back here!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank magichat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bear Mountain Lodge over last Valentine's Day weekend. We had never stayed in NH before, and didn't really know our way around. Michael and Carol took the time to tell us where the best places were to go, how to get there, etc., and then they were there when we returned to ask how everything was. They were so wonderful to us! And the lodge itself is truly incredible. We stayed in "Call of the Loon" and it was so comfortable. Plus the steam shower is great! We are absolutely returning!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank iheartboston17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

My boyfriend and I were looking for a relaxing B & B with a hint of charm yet not too much "victorian fluff". Bear Mountain Lodge was exactly this! Breakfast was more like a brunch - between the heap of eggs benedict, waffles and fruit - I did not know where to start. We loved the fact it was hidden away, yet near so much shopping, hiking, and foliage picture taking!

The hospitality of michael and carol was so welcoming. The lodge was clean - which is very important to me. They were so warm it really comes naturally to them.

We are planning a small wedding in fall of 2008 and have decided to have our wedding here we loved it so much!

Amanda Forkmin

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mandy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
2.6 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
146 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
329 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Nootka Lodge
Nootka Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodsville
74 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Address: 3249 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574-4963
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range: £147 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grande log bed & breakfast reminiscent of those in our National Parks, located in the heart of the White Mountains in Bethlehem, NH. Built of huge logs and decorated with comfortable western furniture, the Lodge is warm and inviting from the moment you walk through the front doors and catch a glimpse of Mt. Washington. With 9 romantic guest rooms, panoramic views, crackling fires and great breakfasts, we've created an atmosphere where you can unwind and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bethlehem
Bear Mountain Lodge Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing