We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A really great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Cleanest, most comfortable place we've ever stayed. Gracious and accommodating hosts. Snowmobiling right from the front door....literally! Beautiful views. Stayed in Call of the Loon and would choose that room again. One of only 2 rooms upstairs and no one was in the next room so it was very private. Rosa Flamingo's is very close and is an excellent restaurant. Highly recommend Bear Mountain Lodge. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and accommodating hosts
  • Disliked — Breakfast - lack of choice
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jetkgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    29
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
457
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York State
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We had a great experience at the Bear Mountain Lodge. Mike and Carol (the owner/operators) continually went out of their way to ensure that
we were comfortable and well taken care of. This did not change from when the lodge was full of occupants to when my wife and I were the only ones there. It was all about the small touches that made this place great. First, Mike was a fountain of knowledge about the area and continually pointed us in the right direction for dining and activities. The lodge made arrangements for us for dinner on New Years
Eve as well as one other night. Mike always made sure that there was a fire in the wood stove every evening. On our second to last morning,
Mike let us borrow some snow shoes to take a trek around his property and the surrounding area. All I can say is that it was beautiful and a great way to spend a quiet morning. A good experience that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — The location and the building
  • Disliked — It was all good
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Oregon_Traveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We stayed at Bear Mountain over New Years, and had a good overall experience. The lodge is very comfortable, clean, and with views as advertised. The rooms are subtly decorated and well kept, with comfortable beds and linens. The breakfasts were also excellent, albeit a bit on the sweet side for our tastes and along the lines of a country breakfast, as opposed to the fancier breakfasts one sometimes encounters (a good or bad thing, depending on your taste). We had only two minor complaints: sub-par coffee and a bit of excess noise. Our room abutted the main common area, and despite the log structure we could clearly hear both the activity in that room as well as in the neighboring room. It didn't actually bother us much, and but is something to be aware of. If you're a light sleeper, perhaps request a room at the end of the hallway. Still, overall it was an excellent stay, with good food and an inviting atmosphere, as well as two very helpful, accommodating, and friendly innkeepers. I would recommend it to anyone in the area and looking for something a bit above and beyond the standard B&B experience.

  • Liked — Location, qualiy of the Inn
  • Disliked — the walls/doors were a bit thin, and there was a little excess noise in our room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank the_voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bear Mountain Lodge over New Years. I selected it based on its offerings for the holiday, its location, and its decor.

We have stayed at 4-5 other B & B's, and Bear Mountain was my personal favorite. The hospitality is OUTSTANDING-Michael greeted us at the front door when we returned from our excursions; Carol and Michael are funny, warm and interesting conversationalists. The breakfasts each morning were fabulous; they began with a lite fruit dish, followed by a warm dish. There is a guest refridge stocked with waters, sodas and local beer, cookies put out in the late afternoon.

We stayed in the Bear Den. Worth the price. I liked the fireplace the best; my boyfriend enjoyed the jacuzzi. We both loved the decor-rustic, western, lodgy-I felt like I was in Colorado.

I would most definately recoomend this inn if you are headed to the White Mountain area!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DCwinelvr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2007

That was our second stay at the Bear Mountain Lodge and like the first time everything was excellent. We love New Hempshire and we always go to cut our Christmas tree there but it is very important to find a nice accomodations as well. That is why we are always back at Carol's and Michael's place, full of warmth, fantastic hospitality and great atmosphere.
And this year we have met a new member of the family: sweet puppy Remi. We love dogs but do not worry if you do not- you will not even see them-Carol and Michael will do everything to make you feel comfortable and only if you ask they will bring the dogs.
They can even help you to have a nice fire outside the house with breathtaking views of the mountains, if you ask, like we did.
Simply: wonderful people and a wonderful place!

Barbara and Philip, NY

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank bekmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2007

We chose the Bear Mountain Lodge as part of our Honeymoon to the USA, and we had an absolutely fantastic time. Mike and Carol showed amazing levels of hospitality and went to great lengths to make our stay so special. The suite looked as though we were the first to ever use it, and was very comfortable, whilst the breakfasts were a real occasion and set us up for the whole day. If you have the chance to visit Bethlehem, you can be sure of an awesome time at Bear Mountain Lodge.

  • Liked — extremely welcoming
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cleo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NH
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2007

My husband and I went here on our honeymoon for 3 days, and had a fantastic time. Mike and Carol are the most amazing hosts. The food was incrediable and the room was perfect. They had just gotten a new puppy, Remy and the highlight of my trip was being able to play with him! Mike had just started putting up the Christmas lights and the lodge was beautiful at night. We will definetly be coming back here!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank magichat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
2.6 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
299 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
1.7 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Property: Bear Mountain Lodge
Address: 3249 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574-4963
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grande log bed & breakfast reminiscent of those in our National Parks, located in the heart of the White Mountains in Bethlehem, NH. Built of huge logs and decorated with comfortable western furniture, the Lodge is warm and inviting from the moment you walk through the front doors and catch a glimpse of Mt. Washington. With 9 romantic guest rooms, panoramic views, crackling fires and great breakfasts, we've created an atmosphere where you can unwind and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bear Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bethlehem
Bear Mountain Lodge Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing