We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place in the White Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Special Place in the White Mountains”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have made 4 trips up to the Bear Mountain Lodge, and we will certainly be back many more times. Our most recent trip was this past summer at the beginning of August. As always, Mike and Carol were so incredibly warm and inviting and helpful. I really can't say enough good things about this place. Breakfast is always amazing, the views are gorgeous, the rooms and furniture are spacious and comfortable and impeccably clean. Mike and Carol go out of their way to make us feel like home. The past couple of trips that we have made up, we had planned a couple of long day hikes (Franconia Ridge Loop which is only 15 minutes away and Mt. Washington which is about 40 minutes away). Because the hikes were so long, we had planned to leave the lodge prior to the breakfast serving time. Without even asking, Mike and Carol were so nice to leave a nice, homemade breakfast (it was in a brown bag, but in no way were they "brown bag" breakfasts) for us to eat before we ran out the door for our hikes. Homemade cranberry scones and fresh fruit are a great start to a long day of hiking! This is truly a very special place. You will not find a better place to stay in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahE_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks Sarah for taking the time to write another review and I'm glad that you enjoyed the breakfast to go bag. Hiking New Hampshire's White Mountains takes quite a bit of energy so we're happy to help get your morning off to a great start. It's wonderful to have guests return and Michael and truly appreciate your choosing Bear Mountain Lodge not once or twice, but four times now. Glad we've become a special place for you. Have a wonderful Holiday Season.

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    29
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
455
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here recently. Lodge was in a great location and our room Call of the Loon was fantastic. After reading lots of positive reviews, was disappointed with the breakfasts might be a UK thing but lots of sweet things on offer, some fresh fruit would have been nice. Overall enjoyed our stay at Bear Mountain Lodge.

Room Tip: Can recommend Call of the Loon. Upstairs room with fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We're so glad that these guests from Scotland had a good stay with us and rated the Call of the Loon as fantastic and the Lodge location as great. The fact that they had an enjoyable stay with us is wonderful as that's our goal for each and every guest. Michael spent a considerable amount of time with them and their friends who were traveling New England together and he very much enjoyed their company. He ensured that they had everything they needed from dinner reservations to a reserved breakfast table for the four of them so that they could enjoy breakfast together each morning without having to wait for a table.

Their rating of us as a 3 (Average) however is a bit peculiar in light of the above facts. The only negative thing is that I served sweet dishes and that's not her taste as she's from the UK and they don't typically have sweet breakfasts. As our website mentions, we alternate the main entree each morning between a sweet and a savory item to try to please all of our guests. Our starter course can vary from a fruit plate, to yogurt parfait with homemade blueberry sauce, to fabulous scones or this season some wonderful pumpkin muffin donuts!! All of our menus have to be variable to accommodate our guests with gluten and dairy intolerances as well as food allergies. In addition, when I visit our one supermarket if their fruit is not up to par or the melons just aren't ripe enough, then I do not serve a fruit plate as I'd rather serve a fabulous item than something subpar just to put fruit on a plate.

So Michael and I hope that you'll realize this review is based on a guests dislike of sweet items rather than any indication of what Bear Mountain Lodge is truly about -- we are not your AVERAGE B&B. Thanks.

Carol & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is the first place I took my wife after we got married and we could not be happier with Bear Mt. Lodge. It is cozy from the moment you enter and the breakfast was INCREDIBLE. Both mornings we said to each other "Can we make this once we get home?". There are tons of games to play if you feel like staying indoors, but also walking trails that lead to a river if you feel like exploring. The sunrises comes right over the mountains which you can see very well from the back porch. We stayed in the Angler room and already have plans to return.

Absolutely no complaints from our time at Bear Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looneyteune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were greeted upon our arrival by the owner Michael, who immediately made us feel very welcome. Our room was called Elk Lodge, it was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable bed. The main communal area has fabulous floor to ceiling cathedral windows making the most of the most wonderful panoramic scenery of the beautiful fall colours. Leading from the main communal area is a balcony with tables and chairs for guests, steps lead down to a well kept garden with a hot tub. Michael lit a log fire on the patio in the garden and we sat and chatted to other guests and looked at the stars and the Milky Way in the clear sky. Michael served lovely homemade breakfasts (cinnamon & apple pancakes, gorgeous) at tables overlooking the garden and the views. We stayed for 2 nights and ate both nights at The Cold Mountain Cafe. The food is excellent, but you may have to wait as the cafe gets very busy. Visit the Kancamagus Highway whilst you visit here. All in all a very special stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleIrvings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just spent a few days at Bear Mountain, and it was absolutely beautiful! Our room was great and ,Michael, the owner was a lot of fun. Also really enjoyed chatting with the other guests, Great place for honeymooners. Breakfast was delicious. The last week in September was peak for fall foliage, so the surroundings were absolutely amazing!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vickiejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband has always dreamed of building a log cabin in the woods and simplifying our life. Frankly, nothing about that dream interested me until we came to the Bear Mountain Lodge for a quick overnight mid week this week. Now I sit at my computer at home and all I can think about is the bracing fall air, the gorgeous colors of the foliage, the beauty of the mountains, the cozy comfort of the lodge and how welcoming and friendly Michael and Carol were. It helps, I guess, that they always dreamed of building a log cabin home and living there. Their enthusiasm is contagious! I think we have discovered the best of both worlds...we can come up for a visit any time we want, hike and kayak and shop to our heart's content...and then live most of the year close to work and family. This does not feel like a hotel (which I hate) because Carol and Michael are so warm and welcoming. Rooms are all great, beds super comfortable and everything is clean, clean, clean. All is better than in the website photos. We have already scheduled another three days with family in January. I can't wait!

Room Tip: From what I can see all rooms are good. We stayed in Wild Turkey which is a ground floor room, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeirdreFahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

The best place I've stayed at for a nice, long weekend. The owners are nice, the breakfast is great, the view of the mountains is perfect. Loved the theme of the rooms, and the fire pit out back. Great stay, can't wait for a chance to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels10208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
2.6 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
10.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Property: Bear Mountain Lodge
Address: 3249 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574-4963
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grande log bed & breakfast reminiscent of those in our National Parks, located in the heart of the White Mountains in Bethlehem, NH. Built of huge logs and decorated with comfortable western furniture, the Lodge is warm and inviting from the moment you walk through the front doors and catch a glimpse of Mt. Washington. With 9 romantic guest rooms, panoramic views, crackling fires and great breakfasts, we've created an atmosphere where you can unwind and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bear Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bethlehem
Bear Mountain Lodge Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing