We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We always feel like we are coming home!”
Review of The Highlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Highlands Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We always feel like we are coming home!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is our 17th year of visiting the Highlands Inn. We use to go to Provincetown, but in 1983 we discovered this little bit of Paradise and have stopped going to Provincetown ever since. We go twice a year in early Spring and then in September. We have met so many wonderful and diverse women during our stays. Grace goes out of her way to make everyone feel comfortable and at home. She has made many improvements over the years and has always tried to improve and offer more activities such as the different concerts. Her staff is very effecient and make our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you go in the early Spring, you might want to book a room with a built in gas fireplace (#3). If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanche D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It was our second stay at the Inn. And after looking at many locations where it's legal for us to do so...we chose the Highlands Inn for our wedding. It couldn't have been a better choice.

I cannot say enough about Grace and her small staff to adequately describe how terrific they made our wedding trip.

We brought 15+ guests with us (some straight which they did not bat an eye over) to the Inn for our wedding. We stayed several nights and rented out not only the entire farm house (more on that later) but several rooms in the main Inn, the cottage and one of the private entry rooms on the rear of the house. Wi-fi only in the main house downstairs, no phones in the rooms, lots of parking, lots of seclusion, lots of wildlife, great common areas and even though we didn't use it a private hot tub indoors.

The rooms as always were clean and even though the TV reception there is non-existant well appointed for an inn of 150+ years. The dining area where you have breakfast is large and open and sunny and the bird feeders they fill every morning just outside the big windows there are enough to hold your attention and much conversation over for hours. Breakfast each morning is different and served at your leisure. As far as B&B breakfasts go it's one of our top 5 (we stay at a LOT of B&Bs). She had Cabot cheese one morning sliced and I think we ate the entire block it was so good. OJ, an assortment of tea, nut and banana cakes, granola, yogurt - the menu changed each morning but it was always good.

Several friends took walks along the well marked paths and we saw wild turkeys, many birds and tracks of moose, deer and raccoon. One friend saw a porcupine in a tree but we left it well alone.

The farmhouse was where we all gathered each night of our stay. The porch was filled with friends and laughter and Grace gave us extra insect repellent candles and coffee and chairs. If you come with a group I highly recommend the farmhouse because you can all gather together (we had smokers among us who loved being able to step outside and sit on the porch and smoke) and we even cooked dinner one night in the full kitchen. It's far enough away from the main house to be private and yet close enough you can walk down for breakfast in the mornings. A firepit down there would have been ideal but we had a great time without the fire hazard!

Our wedding was the reason we were all there and Grace was MORE than helpful in getting the caterer in and set up, receiving packages we had sent up prior and making sure we had everything we needed including extra chairs outside. We had thought it would be too cold and we'd have the ceremony inside. But that morning we woke to sunshine and 60 degrees! So we quickly moved everything including a boom box for the music outdoors.

There are only so many ways you can say, "Wow! This is the best place for a wedding and the best place in New Hampshire for gay couples." So I'll stop here and say...if you are planning a get away or your wedding soon, talk to Grace before you do anything. Or drop me a line...I'll be happy to fill you on on the details.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our 1st time at a lesbian themed location. We were warmly welcomed and were offered an upgrade to a room in the main building. Initially we were going to stay in the king room in the farmhouse, however thought better of it when we looked at the size of the shower, (definitely not room enough for 2 large women). We took the upgrade in the main inn. We were serenaded by the frogs (due to the unusually warm weather) at night and watched the birds at the feeders in the morning. We stayed 3 nights (3rd night 1/2 price :-) ). Concert Saturday night with Antara had us rocking, many laughs abounded and enjoyed the conversations with the other couples after. All in all a nice place to visit. Will definitely visit again. Hopefully the next time when we go for snowshoeing there will actually BE snow there. Hehe

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, me
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a wonderful and restful weekend. Loved the hot tubs, breakfasts and nearby trails. Nice touch having an in-house concert fireside. Welcoming hosts. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had a wonderful 1 day stay at the Highlands Inn. I attended a concert by Lynn Deeves ( a fabulous "Chick singer". And was able to replenish my soul with lots of quiet and serenity in and on the grounds of this charming Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We heard this lesbian-themed B & B was a "lesbian paradise." Actually, it's an old farmhouse with too few renovations over the years. We got a room with a supposedly "queen size" (actually a full) mattress and a two-person jacuzzi. That jacuzzi, and the two others on the property were nice. So was the breakfast and the staff person who made it for us. The rest - well, I could have passed. I've had better for the price.

Room Tip: Skip the spa room if you are just looking for a jacuzzi. There are two bigger ones on the premises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This place needs lots of help. It was run down and tired inside. The place was also very cluttered and unorganized. Hosts were not very warm and we felt like intruders the whole time there. The entertainment was horrible!!!! It was some wary old street musician that thought trying to sing like Joni Mitchell off key with a zither was cool. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
0.5 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
3.3 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Inn

Property: The Highlands Inn
Address: 240 Valley View Lane, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Highlands Inn serves a lesbian clientele. Located on 100 private acres in New Hampshire's beautiful White Mountains, the Highlands is known for its welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. As PlanetOut says, the Highlands is one of the most romantic lesbian destinations on the planet! The area boasts world-famous fall foliage and hiking and skiing are among the best in country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Inn Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing