We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
85
10
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
10
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews granola my wife and i restful weekend white mountains home away from home close to town r r hot tub beautiful scenery each morning welcoming hosts fall foliage jenny gia lesbian woods grounds
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I just love this place - the location is perfect. The innkeepers are special and caring people, always ready to make things just to your liking. I have been fortunate to be a part of their music series for 10 years. Such a gift for me and the guests are so open and friendly and appreciative! The drive from NJ to NH is easy (if lengthy) but the worst part is having to leave... Thank you for all the great times and more to come!!!!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmk3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is our 17th year of visiting the Highlands Inn. We use to go to Provincetown, but in 1983 we discovered this little bit of Paradise and have stopped going to Provincetown ever since. We go twice a year in early Spring and then in September. We have met so many wonderful and diverse women during our stays. Grace goes out of her way to make everyone feel comfortable and at home. She has made many improvements over the years and has always tried to improve and offer more activities such as the different concerts. Her staff is very effecient and make our stay very enjoyable.

Room tip: If you go in the early Spring, you might want to book a room with a built in gas fireplace (#3). If not, this is also another good reason to snuggle closer.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanche D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It was our second stay at the Inn. And after looking at many locations where it's legal for us to do so...we chose the Highlands Inn for our wedding. It couldn't have been a better choice.

I cannot say enough about Grace and her small staff to adequately describe how terrific they made our wedding trip.

We brought 15+ guests with us (some straight which they did not bat an eye over) to the Inn for our wedding. We stayed several nights and rented out not only the entire farm house (more on that later) but several rooms in the main Inn, the cottage and one of the private entry rooms on the rear of the house. Wi-fi only in the main house downstairs, no phones in the rooms, lots of parking, lots of seclusion, lots of wildlife, great common areas and even though we didn't use it a private hot tub indoors.

The rooms as always were clean and even though the TV reception there is non-existant well appointed for an inn of 150+ years. The dining area where you have breakfast is large and open and sunny and the bird feeders they fill every morning just outside the big windows there are enough to hold your attention and much conversation over for hours. Breakfast each morning is different and served at your leisure. As far as B&B breakfasts go it's one of our top 5 (we stay at a LOT of B&Bs). She had Cabot cheese one morning sliced and I think we ate the entire block it was so good. OJ, an assortment of tea, nut and banana cakes, granola, yogurt - the menu changed each morning but it was always good.

Several friends took walks along the well marked paths and we saw wild turkeys, many birds and tracks of moose, deer and raccoon. One friend saw a porcupine in a tree but we left it well alone.

The farmhouse was where we all gathered each night of our stay. The porch was filled with friends and laughter and Grace gave us extra insect repellent candles and coffee and chairs. If you come with a group I highly recommend the farmhouse because you can all gather together (we had smokers among us who loved being able to step outside and sit on the porch and smoke) and we even cooked dinner one night in the full kitchen. It's far enough away from the main house to be private and yet close enough you can walk down for breakfast in the mornings. A firepit down there would have been ideal but we had a great time without the fire hazard!

Our wedding was the reason we were all there and Grace was MORE than helpful in getting the caterer in and set up, receiving packages we had sent up prior and making sure we had everything we needed including extra chairs outside. We had thought it would be too cold and we'd have the ceremony inside. But that morning we woke to sunshine and 60 degrees! So we quickly moved everything including a boom box for the music outdoors.

There are only so many ways you can say, "Wow! This is the best place for a wedding and the best place in New Hampshire for gay couples." So I'll stop here and say...if you are planning a get away or your wedding soon, talk to Grace before you do anything. Or drop me a line...I'll be happy to fill you on on the details.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our 1st time at a lesbian themed location. We were warmly welcomed and were offered an upgrade to a room in the main building. Initially we were going to stay in the king room in the farmhouse, however thought better of it when we looked at the size of the shower, (definitely not room enough for 2 large women). We took the upgrade in the main inn. We were serenaded by the frogs (due to the unusually warm weather) at night and watched the birds at the feeders in the morning. We stayed 3 nights (3rd night 1/2 price :-) ). Concert Saturday night with Antara had us rocking, many laughs abounded and enjoyed the conversations with the other couples after. All in all a nice place to visit. Will definitely visit again. Hopefully the next time when we go for snowshoeing there will actually BE snow there. Hehe

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a wonderful and restful weekend. Loved the hot tubs, breakfasts and nearby trails. Nice touch having an in-house concert fireside. Welcoming hosts. We'll definitely go back.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews