We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Highlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Highlands Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a relaxing and lovely time during our three day stay at Highlands Inn. Jenny, Gia, Jackie, pooch, Miss Ellie were all welcoming without being obtrusive. We found plenty to do in the surrounding towns each day. From hiking to antiquing and waterfall viewing, we were never bored and always relaxed. We'd recommend this for a get away vacation if you're looking to decompress a bit.

Room Tip: We preferred the quieter area towards the back. Had a nice deck too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liserdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our first trip to The Highlands Inn will not be our last! The Inn was clean, welcoming, and so relaxing! The Inn keepers, Jenny and Gia, along with Jackie are lovely and available for any questions or just great conversation. We loved relaxing by the pool and meeting other lesbian couples. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed off the main building with a private deck. The Inn keepers let us poke around the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A stay at the highlands in is about so many things but most of all it is about safe lesbian space, in the heart of the white mountains surrounded by kind inn keepers and amazing women that become friends!
The breakfasts are a great time to meet other women and talk to Jenny, Gia and Jackie. The surrounding towns are very lesbian friendly too- never had an issue in more than 4 visits!
Well worth the drive into this beautiful Inn.

Room Tip: talk to Jenny and Gia- they will match you to a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

When we first arrived, we were greeted by Miss Ellie (the most adorable little dog), Gia and Jenny. They made us feel at home from the minute we walked through the door. Jenny gave us the grand tour of the inn, and was very helpful in letting us know where to go for shopping, dinner, or other activities. We stayed in room #2, which was fabulous. It was a spacious room with a jacuzzi tub and plenty of room to hang out and read or just relax. The rest of the inn was extremely cozy. Jenny gave us a lanyard with a trail map on it so we could walk the beautiful, clearly marked trails around the inn. Our favorite band played in the dining room, and all of the other guests were extremely friendly. Sunday morning breakfast was phenominal. There was homemade quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, fresh baked breads, coffee, tea, juice and anything else you could possibly imagine. We were treated like family. This was an overall excellent experience, and we cannot wait to go back when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We recently visited the Inn and had the most amazing, relaxing, happy time that I can remember in a long time. During a time and a season when life is busy and stressful, this 2 day "time out" was like finding an oasis in the desert. When we arrived it was snowing...it was magical. When we walked in, we were greeted with a warm smile, a happy pup with a wagging tail, and a roaring fire. It felt like home. My wife and I sat by that fire, in our slippers, in the warm, comfortable living room for most of the evening, just talking to each other and enjoying one another in a way our busy lives/schedules had not recently allowed. In the daytime, after being served a delicious hot breakfast, we hiked and explored just a few of the many snow covered trails throughout the 100 acres out back, and then returned to the Inn to thaw in the steaming hot tub. To top off an already fabulous experience, I then had a relaxing and therapeutic massage by a local LMT right there in the Inn's new massage room...all I had to do was walk down the hall. Needless to say, we left the Inn very content..but not before booking 3 more nights, and another 90 minute massage! The new owners are so warm and authentic. The fact that the environment allowed us to relax and just be ourselves was a gift and a bonus! We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is our favorite place to visit, play music, relax, and enjoy the company of women. At the Highlands you can be with women you enjoy, you can listen to a wonderful concert by female artists, you can swim in summer and snowshoe in winter. You can also be treated to all the amenities by Jenny, Gia and Jackie. All this without leaving the Inn. But if you are so inclined, the surrounding towns offer great shopping, site seeing, and more. My wife and I have made many new friends and reconnected with many old friends every time we stay at the Inn, which is several times a year. Love this place.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is #10. Lots of windows and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Two traditions converge at the Highlands Inn--COMMUNITY and hospitality. Gia and Jenny assumed ownership of the inn last year. Since then they have continued the legacy of safe women's space as well as the Bethelehem New Hampshire tradition of hospitality. The breakfasts are yummy and the scenery is beyond description.
My wife and I just spent a week there and are planning on another few days before Labor Day. You will not regret visiting the inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GueraKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
3.3 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
1.8 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Inn

Property: The Highlands Inn
Address: 240 Valley View Lane, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Highlands Inn serves a lesbian clientele. Located on 100 private acres in New Hampshire's beautiful White Mountains, the Highlands is known for its welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. As PlanetOut says, the Highlands is one of the most romantic lesbian destinations on the planet! The area boasts world-famous fall foliage and hiking and skiing are among the best in country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Inn Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing