We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Thanksgiving weekend”
Review of The Highlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Highlands Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Wonderful Thanksgiving weekend”
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This is a relaxing inn where longtime, return visitors come to recharge, relax and make new friends. We enjoy the shops and restaurants in nearby local towns as well as hiking in the White Mountains. The Thanksgiving dinner is delicious. We've been going to the Highlands Inn for over ten years. Whether it's your first time or tenth you'll enjoy the warm welcome and freedom.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangor, ME, usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We enjoyed the drive through snow- covered mountains. The Inn was warm and welcoming. The rooms were clean and adequate. The staff were friendly and the food was great. We met new friends that we will visit with at the Inn again soon. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornamoon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

My Wife and I went to the Highlands Inn for their Thanksgiving weekend. This Lesbian Inn is like a home away form home for us. There were about 40 people of all ages that attented this weekend and it was wonderful to get to know most of these people during the family style Thanksgiving meal and other meals if we chose. We enjoyed the company in the main living room while making a puzzle as a group effort. It was relaxing and romantic. We also enjoyed the outdoor hot tub in the bitter cold! The indoor hot tub was there as well for those who prefer not to go out in the weather. They had a wonderful vocal artist to entertain us Friday night and with the exception of the snow and icy roads we would have had more entertainment Saturday night. The scenery was amazing with and without the snow. During breakfast we even got a rare treat of viewing at least a dozen or more grossbeak birds. Not sure I spelled that right? But they say it is very rare to see that many of them in one place. If you just want a romantic relaxing getaway this is the place to be. If you want to do outdoor activities summer or winter this place either has it all or is close to it all. If you go just once you will be back. The staff become like friends making sure you have everything you need and keeping the place very clean but at the same time if you want to be alone with your loved one there are plenty of cozy areas to pick from.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwhitelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My partner and I made our fourth trip to the Highlands Inn this October. As always,Grace and the Inn provided us with the perfect place to connect with each other, as well as the many other wonderful women (and dogs!) from far away places who also stay at the Highlands Inn. We have great memories of long drives on the scenic byways, leaf peeping, hiking through gorgeous trails; the many mountains, wildlife and waterfall viewing, shopping and dining out, late night games of scrabble and drinking wine, stargazing from the outdoor hot tub, sitting in the main Inn around the mezmerizing fireplace all night (solo and with other kindred spirits) and having a good, warm breakfast waiting for us- All of these things, as well as the very nice (and humorous) staff made our stay one to remember and one worth looking forward to again in the very near future. - Wendy & Kim, Pittsburgh PA

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I've been going to the Highlands Inn for 15 years and can highly recommend it for single travelers, couples or groups. It is so relaxing. I can't say enough about Grace and the staff-very hospitable, knowledgeable about the area, really create a comfortable, homey feeling. Love the homemade breakfast, pool, hot tubs, comfy living room, sitting on the hill watching the sun set over the mountains. There are always great people to meet but plenty of privacy if that's what you're after. The live music nights are a great addition. It's a great place to get r&r any time of the year. And lots to explore close by, tons of trails, beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank havablast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We have been coming to the Highlands once or twice a year since 1994. Grace and her staff always welcome us back warmly, and we know that our room will be comfortable and nicely appointed. The breakfast room encourages guests to meet and greet each other, and we often find ourselves lingering over one last cup of coffee while chatting with new friends. The White Mountains offer many attractions: hiking, canoeing, golf, skiing,antiquing, outlet shopping,music, summer theatre, and just about any kind of food you would like!. Or you can simply relax by the full size pool with a good book or cook out on the BBQ grill.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBRCantonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My partner and I have stayed at the Highlands Inn on three separate occasions, and we've enjoyed it tremendously each time. The Inn is beautiful, warm, and welcoming, and the staff go out of their way to chat with you and make sure you have everything you need. They're also very knowledgable of the area, local attractions, restaurants, etc. Each of the rooms in which we've stayed has offered us a completely different experience at the Inn. One room had a fireplace, another had both a fireplace and hot tub, and the most recent room in which we stayed had a private deck. One of our favorite parts about staying at the Inn is the fact that you get to meet so many other women from all areas of the country and world. The Inn is also fully stocked with lesbian books and movies. We absolutely LOVE the indoor hot tub. It's very private and includes mood lighting, candles, and music. Overall, it's a very relaxing stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
0.5 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
3.3 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Inn

Property: The Highlands Inn
Address: 240 Valley View Lane, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Highlands Inn serves a lesbian clientele. Located on 100 private acres in New Hampshire's beautiful White Mountains, the Highlands is known for its welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. As PlanetOut says, the Highlands is one of the most romantic lesbian destinations on the planet! The area boasts world-famous fall foliage and hiking and skiing are among the best in country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Inn Bethlehem, White Mountains, NH

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing