We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base of operations!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bretton Woods
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Westchester, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base of operations!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

If you want to explore the White Mountains, have kids but don't want the hassles that camping brings (i.e., tents, cooking, bugs), this is the right place. The friendly AMC staff who work here really make people feel welcome and it is also a great way to meet other like-minded, outdoors-oriented people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    64
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
42
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Highland center August 10th..the night before setting out for a hike to the summit of Mt. Washington. Unfortunately we were unable to take advantage of the great outdoor setup because of torrential rain that fell all evening. We had a private bunkroom (2 bunks). The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and spacious enough for us and our hiking gear and the section we were in was very quiet. The shared bathroom was very clean. Dinner on Friday night consisted of an all you can eat buffet. The food was tasty and hot and there was plenty of it. We had several inquiries regarding shuttle schedules and the best trails to hike to the summit given the forecast. The staff was very curteous and more than helpful. Breakfast the next morning was hot, tasty and once again there was plenty of food! The location of the Highland center is fantastic if you are a hiker or want to do some cycling in the area. I can't comment on activities because we only stayed for one evening. You might think that the Highland Center is a bit pricey. However, when you consider the comfort, location and meals, it really isn't much more expensive than a motel. I agree with the comments made by Hiking Yaking, it's worth getting an AMC membership to take advantage of the discounts.

Room Tip: We had a private bunk room (two bunks) with a shared bathroom. We were located on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poussinnetta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I was there late in July and very much enjoyed my stay. My family and I spent three nights at the Highland and we all had a good time.

POSITIVES:

1. Great BBQ for those checking in on a Sunday. I expected just burgers and dogs but they had so much more. The ribs and potato salad were some of the best I have ever had.

2. Meals included and were all creative and very good. You certainly get enough to eat at the Highland Center.

3. Staff. I give the staff a rating of 5. These folks were helpful and courteous. I'm an experienced hiker so I didn't need much help from them on that topic. However there were plenty of inexperienced hikers there who received excellent advice from those working the front desk.

4. Kids Power Hour. What a great way for kids to get together and play some fun games while the parents relaxed after a day of hiking.

5. Location. The location of the Highland Center cannot be beat. Right in the middle of Crawford Notch with plenty of hiking trails outside the door.

6. Condition. The place is well maintained and kept clean.

NEGATIVES:

1. Can be a bit noisy before and after quiet hours. We did hear the door in the hallway quite a bit and people above us walking around. The soundproofing could be better but thankfully quiet hours seem to be enforced. Most folks go to bed early anyway.

2. Lack of adult activites at night. I personally would have liked to have seen some hiking documentary films or perhaps listened to some guest speakers talk on the topics of hiking and the history of the White Mountains. The only night activities seemed to be geared towards the kids with cartoon movies.

SUMMATION:

The Highland Center is not cheap but the place is beautiful and well kept. The food IMO is excellent. If you are a serious hiker or want to start taking up hiking I would strongly suggest staying at the Highland Center. The overall experience is a good one and the folks staying there are all there for the hiking so you'll have something in common with others. Do yourself a favor and get an AMC membership before going so that you can get the discounts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikingYaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just got back. Hot, unfriendly, poor food, unreasonably expensive. If you want to make a lot of money, put folks up in bunk beds, in rooms with thin walls and shared baths. Deliver them the "sustainable" experience they are looking for, by supplying cold water sinks for shaving, and making them go all over creation to find a garbage can. Put them in conflict with themselves, by over-charging for packaged items, so that you can sanctimoniously humiliate them as they finish.

Some things we knew we were signing up for, as travelers among a larger group. But It was their idea of the human touch that was most memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrais, Manager at Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We are sorry your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We would like to better understand your specific concerns so we can do our best to correct them. We will send you contact information for Rick McCarten, our Highland Center Lodge Manager, in a separate email. Please contact him at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I recently took 41 high school seniors to Highland lodge for an adventure based trip. The rooms were perfect for the kids and bonding time. They had girls and boys bath/shower rooms which were fine. The food was amazing and included in our price. The staff were nothing but helpful, fun and wonderful. They had a staff member set a campfire for us, providing us with s'mores and drinks. Our kids played outdoors with no thoughts of tv or video games, just hiking and fresh air. We spent day two zip lining up at Bretton Woods, another great trip.
I can't wait to take the family here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My hubby and I stayed here for the first time last night. Many reviewers write that it's inexpensive. I don't agree with that. It cost each of us $103 for a night, supper and breakfast to stay in a room with 2 sets of bunk beds. Perhaps everyone writing that is used to spending much more per night, but for a total of $206, usually we can get a queen size bed and private bathroom, as well as our meals. It's a high end hostel, with shared bathrooms. Even though I found it expensive, I don't mind paying that price as it's an Appalachian Mountain Club property and the money goes to a good organization, in my opinion.

The staff was very nice and helpful. We just showed up and had no problem getting a place to stay. The young man at the front desk said he would make sure to put anyone else who comes in after us in another room so we could have privacy. The room was plenty roomy for 2, near the bathrooms. If you're not a good sleeper, earplugs could come in useful, as soundproofing isn't great (like most places) and it's near the highway.

The buildings and property are very nice, clean, well maintained. There are attractive common rooms with lovely views, a games room in the basement, and even a very nice photo exhibit on the property. Our meals were good, a family style supper in the evening, and a buffet breakfast the next morning. All in all, a good stay and if I find myself in the area I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My family are reluctant outdoors people. However, I was looking for an affordable, inclusive vacation spot for a few nights in April and thought we'd try this. The lodge and the staff were all fantastic, We had a decent size room with a queen bed and two sets of bunk beds and a bath down the hall. Since the lodge was close to empty, we had the bathroom to ourselves. The common areas were fantastic, and because it rained during our entire stay, we took advantage of spending hours in front of the fire, reading, drawing and playing games. My son and I took advantage of the L.L. Bean gear room to check out a set of trekking poles for our hike up to Gibbs Falls, which is a spectacular, short hike for a other reluctant hikers. The meals were excellent, our only complaint was they served too much food and we felt bad leaving so much on the table. The homemade bread was a real treat. I will return, maybe in the winter for cross-country skiing, but may leave my grumpy family behind!

Room Tip: The rooms on the South Side have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyborgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
271 reviews
11.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
283 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
2.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch

Property: Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Address: Route 302, Crawford Notch, Bretton Woods, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMC's Highland Center at Crawford Notch, our newest four-season lodge and outdoor education center, offers a broad range of accommodations and walk-on programs, along with backdoor access to a variety of outdoor activities. The Highland Center is an ideal starting point for day hikes, paddling, snowshoe treks, and longer back country trips in the White Mountains. All-inclusive lodging packages are offered year-round and include meals, free walk-on nature programs, and free use of the L.L. Bean gear room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Center Lodge At Crawford Notch Hotel Bretton Woods
Highland Center Lodge At Crawford Notch Bretton Woods, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing