We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly people, outdoor fun, poor food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bretton Woods
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly people, outdoor fun, poor food”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Highland Center is a wonderful facility located near Bretton Woods ski area, the Appalachian Trail, and in the middle of NH's mountains. Run by the AMC, the people are friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are large with private bathrooms (some) or you can select the bunk option. Unlike Pinkham Notch, the center has a liquor license so you have to buy their beer and wine rather than bring your own. Like PInkham, the center offers buffet style dinner and breakfast. I understand that people don't want to dine "family style" so much any more, but something that made the AMC special has been lost. The buffet quality is not as good as you would get at the standard business hotel, e.g. Fairfield, LaQuinta, etc. Breakfast was trays of scamble eggs, pancakes or french toast. The syrup was cold and unappealing. Dinner was a tray of ham, rice, polenta, etc. You get the idea. Too bad. Book your stay and try to avoid the dinner package at least. Go down the road for dinner.

Room Tip: Unless you need it, I would avoid the handicapped accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quietvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    65
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
43
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed there for a Road Scholars program during the last week of February 2014 and it was wonderful! Our room was a private with a queen bed and a private bath. The view from Room 303 was of Mount Washington Hotel surrounded by the mountains. Bedding was flannel sheets from L.L. Bean. Bathroom area had a large counter top, and the shower stall has a built-in seat, similar to handicapped accessible stalls. Nights were quiet; we never heard noise. Large and small public spaces highlight the views of the mountains through the windows. The family style food is healthful and delicious. Great cross-country skiing down at Bretton Woods Nordic Center, which is about 4 miles away, and at Great Glen Trails, which is a 45 minute drive. Beautiful winter hiking using crampons in the surrounding trails.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
331 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Trail Conditions: What if the ruts were filled in, and the rocks and roots covered?

That's mid-winter hiking. You don't need snow shoes. Light crampons will do it.

And more: the trees make a wind lee and the streams are frozen solid for crossing.

Two comments:
1. It would be nice to have an electric vehicle charging station.
2. Bretton Woods senior lift tickets are cheaper at the ski area than at the lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Highland Center is run by the Appalachian Mountain Club and is geared for those who love the outdoors and exploring the world in natural settings. Even though I live in Florida I joined the AMC and visited this lodge for 4 days in February. I loved it! The rooms were warm and comfortable, with L.L. Bean flannel bed linens. The WiFi worked great. The rooms were quiet, although as mentioned by others the walls are thin and muffled talking can be heard. I really didn't hear any slamming doors. But if you have had a day in the outdoors sleep should come easy. The food is quite good and plentiful perhaps a little over priced however. but the half board (breakfast and dinner) simplifies your stay because you do not have to look for a place to eat.. The store room at the lodge provides almost any outer gear you might need. We borrowed snow shoes and our friend borrowed hiking snow boots as well. There is no charge for this service. The staff is helpful and friendly. Being with other like minded people is a great experience and all my expectations were met.

Room Tip: Make reservations well ahead and be clear on what you want. Room with private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verohikers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

AMC does it again, Pinkham is excellent and Highland is very good. The rooms are clean, well made providing a good rest; there is no noise that can be heard and quiet hours are respected. Food is offered if desired. Breakfast is easy and healthy options. Food allergies accommodated. Front desk very helpful.

Room Tip: Private rooms are best but bunk rooms are fine for a lower cost, people are respectful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comedybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
331 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If your schedule is flexible ask about the discount periods. We just got the 30% off rate.

Depending on how long you stay it might be worth your while to join the AMC, even if you're a die hard flatlander and don't plan another mountain experience.

One good strategy is to hike from every trail head parking lot. Just go half as far as you want and come back to the car. Every parking lot starts a great trail.

Nice wine and beer list at fair prices.

One down side is that posted signs and info sheets are often out of date. For example, above one side of the front desk is a sign for the "LL Bean Equipment Rental", which is not rental, but free. We use it every visit.

Room Tip: South rooms have view of Saco Lake and Crawford Notch. North rooms have view of Mt. Washington Va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

was expecting alot less than what is there-beautiful new facility, lots of comfortable common space, adequate room - it was the meals that blew me away. excellent dinner and breakfast. family style food at a shared table is not my preference, and because I was alone it was worse for an introvert like me, but the food was great. excellent value, I think it was extra nice because it was mid week and it was not crowded or noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KarlSbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
279 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
11.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
797 reviews
2.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,405 reviews
3.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch

Property: Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Address: Route 302, Crawford Notch, Bretton Woods, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMC's Highland Center at Crawford Notch, our newest four-season lodge and outdoor education center, offers a broad range of accommodations and walk-on programs, along with backdoor access to a variety of outdoor activities. The Highland Center is an ideal starting point for day hikes, paddling, snowshoe treks, and longer back country trips in the White Mountains. All-inclusive lodging packages are offered year-round and include meals, free walk-on nature programs, and free use of the L.L. Bean gear room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Center Lodge At Crawford Notch Hotel Bretton Woods
Highland Center Lodge At Crawford Notch Bretton Woods, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing