We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of activities for the family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bretton Woods
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lots of activities for the family”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Love the free programs, the food is amazing and the facility is so friendly and accomodating. Kids enjoyed their time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedhamRockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    66
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
43
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Great location for hiking and other outdoor activities, modern lodge, GREAT staff - extremely knowledgable and friendly. Plus this lodge has a 'gear room' from which you can borrow pretty much anything you might need in the outdoors. When I stayer there there was a bar with snacks in the living room before dinner - nice touch.

If I had one crticism it would be that the food was not great - or at least not as nice as what I have experienced at other AMC lodges in the area. That said I have only stayed here one night to so perhaps I got them on an off day.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horseboxhero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The Highland Center is wonderful - relaxing, great food, wonderful staff, and any number of outdoor adventures right out the door. We never had to get in the car the whole time we were there, and had more than enough to keep us busy. Beautiful hikes, mountains, lakes, and afterwards relaxing by the fire with games and snacks provided by the lodge. Wonderful, will go back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I've been to the Highland Center many times and am always greeted with friendly staff, clean rooms, good food and good company. Very family friendly. Great location for hiking, skiing and other outdoors activities.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdbos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2010

The White Mts in winter are fabulous and magical and this AMC facility makes it possible for people to get out and experience it. They have a fully equipted gear room with warm clothes- snow pants, fleeces, parkas - also snow shoes & poles check their website for full list. the staff was very knowledgeable of the trails and help in being sure you have the necessary stuff for a safe adventure (headlamps, compass, maps etc). There were 4 of us and we shared a 4 person bunkroom that was clean, warm and provided with bedding and towels, this made for a comfortable, easy and economical stay in what can be very expensive ski country. The lodge commons hasa quiet reading room, a living room/ lounge with a fireplace and there's a spacious, comfortable dining room. We had a great time and recommend highly. Looks like a good place for young families wanting to cross country ski or take in the nearby down hill ski slopes. these folks do a very good job.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is a beautiful facility and the food was wonderful. We were a little uncertain about the "shared bathroom" idea, but it was not a big deal. The rooms were quiet and the bunks were comfy.

We had not been to this area before and having the staff and other visitors to make suggestions was invaluable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DudefrmAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stayed at Highland Lodge for 6 nights in mid-October with wife, three children (8/11/13) and parents in law in one family room (double plus bunk and folding) and one double room.

First stay at any AMC distination (so no comparison with more modest huts) but extensive experience of German and Austrian alpine huts. Luxurious in comparison (!). Attempt to mitigate visual impact of extensive building with angled rooves and "natural" colour scheme unfortunately creates "confused" architecture that neither blends in properly nor makes a clear visual statement.

Location of lodge is at highest point of notch right next to road, but somewhat sheltered by adjoining bunkhouse. Noise at night not an issue (at least in October). Spectacular views north to The Mount Washington Hotel and nice views south towards Crawford notch.

Rooms on the small side with little storage space, but clean, well designed and functional. Upper bunk bed in our room only had wobbly cross bar with comparatively large gap. Would not recommend for very young children.

Chose breakfast/dinner combo. Breakfast with all-you-can eat extensive cold and warm buffet. Healthy and generally tasty four-course dinner with both meat/vegetarian entres which we liked a lot! Good selection of beers of wines (no byob).

Mixed crowd during stay with mixture of retirees and youth groups Monday-Thursday and Families (Friday-Saturday), with occasionally higher noise levels in dining room.

Missed peak foliage by about 2 weeks (usually between early and mid October) but still impressive anyway.

Reasonable selection of activities offered including guided easy local walks and evening films. Library is largely limited to outdoor-related literature.

LL Bean gear room is great bonus for anybody looking to hike for a few days, but not wishing or able to bring substantial kit. Includes pretty much anything you might need.

Heating not an issue during our stay ;-). If anything, rooms well insulated with warm blankets.

Staff were very helpful and friendly at reception and dining room throughout stay.

Good value for money, compared with other half-board offerings and considering quality and amount of food.

Had a great time with a mixture of light hiking and Mt. Washington/Kancamagus Highway drives keeping us occupied for 5 days without any problems.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregorBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
285 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
11.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,465 reviews
3.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
15.1 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch

Property: Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Address: Route 302, Crawford Notch, Bretton Woods, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMC's Highland Center at Crawford Notch, our newest four-season lodge and outdoor education center, offers a broad range of accommodations and walk-on programs, along with backdoor access to a variety of outdoor activities. The Highland Center is an ideal starting point for day hikes, paddling, snowshoe treks, and longer back country trips in the White Mountains. All-inclusive lodging packages are offered year-round and include meals, free walk-on nature programs, and free use of the L.L. Bean gear room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Center Lodge At Crawford Notch Hotel Bretton Woods
Highland Center Lodge At Crawford Notch Bretton Woods, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing