We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough motel but over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here with my daughter for two nights between Christmas and New Year to ski at Bretton Woods. I normally stay at the Mt. Washington Hotel, but it was already booked. The Lodge is very convenient to the ski area, with free shuttle service all day long. The Lodge itself is really a motel. The room was comfortable and clean but reasonably basic. The heating was difficult to control (too hot) and we ended up leaving it off for most of our stay. There is an indoor pool that is nice enough and a somewhat old spa/hot tub. There is no restaurant service on site. You have to go to the Hotel by shuttle if you want a nice breakfast. At over $200/night, this place is over-priced but then there aren't many choices in this area, unless you want to drive 45 minutes to North Conway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcbjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed with DD for a one night sandwiched by two days of skiing. Generally good if a bit overpriced - but you are paying for location which is why this is 4 stars to me not 3.

The beds were comfortable and shower strong. The pool and hot tub were both just fine if nothing to write home about. The best thing about the place is its proximity to the ski slopes and the shuttle which takes you around to the other parts of the resort for free and with a moment's notice.

Most of the second floor rooms have a great view of Mount Washington. Nice thing to wake up to! I would stay here again.

This definitely has a "no frills" feel. There are no pens or paper in the room, though they have all you want at the front desk. And you can get hot chocolate, tea and coffee in the lobby (currently under renovation).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a view of Mount Washington!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schmave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We picked the Lodge at Bretton Woods for a one night stay over while we were skiing at Bretton Woods ski resort. Never again. Waaaaay over priced. This may be part of the overall resort but it must be their d-list property.

Cons: Old, outdated, needs to be renovated. tiny rooms, not enough blankets for the beds (and I'm not sure how clean the extra blankets in the closet was…ick) Hard rough towels, No breakfast available, dirty stained threadbare carpets, shipping container parked outside our window so no view at all. It is set up like an old-school motel so to get to pool, we had to go outside, not a deal breaker but super cold in winter. Pool area indoors was freeeeezing cold. Despite snowfall all day and night and several inches accumulating…the lot / road was not plowed. super duper over priced for what you get.

Pros: The staff was nice. There was a pool, hot tub and jacuzzi (which seemed clean) so my girls were thrilled (we could stay in a concrete bunker it had a pool and they'd be happy). It's probably 1000 feet from the mountain to the driveway of the resort. Ample hot water in the morning for shower.

Summary…we will not stay there again, I'll fork over the extra money and stay at the Mt. Washington Inn across the street and go to the spa !

Room Tip: Don't bother until they renovate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuePTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Staff was very professional and friendly.Hotel is going thru much needed renovations. Our room might have been one of the newer ones, we had a flat screen and new rug. The room was cozy and warm. The shuttle service and drivers were the best, sharing stories and really funny. This is the best way to get around. They came promptly and were very helpful. The room was 70.00 per person per night for 2 and included our ski tickets to Bretton Woods. Take the free van shuttle and you get to be at the front door. You do not need to clean or start your car, park it, then walk thru the ski resorts parking lot. This was the best ski trip since we got lots of snow while there. Only drawback is no fridge or microwave in the room. Not sure if this is because they are still remodeling or just not available.

Room Tip: 2nd floor gives you the best view to Mount Washington
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

WAY overpriced. Adequate if you're looking for a place to "crash" between ski days, but why pay $200+ when you can get the same "cheap motel" accommodations just down the road for half the price? Rooms outdated and we asked for connecting and didn't get them. My husband and I had to split the kids and sleep in separate rooms! We were told it was "on the property" with the Mt. Washington Hotel and that we could use their pool. Sure, if we wanted to drive over there, or walk across Rt 302 in our swimsuits. I had decided to "splurge" since it was Christmas week, but this place is no splurge. Half the pillows weren't even on the bed when we checked in!

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you only need just a bed to stay, this may be your place. It is obvious this is really a motel. Not a lodge. It is overpriced for what it is. However, it severely needs to be updated. The bathroom counter was barely hanging on. The "comforter" on the bed was from the late 80s. The heating system needs to be updated. The walls are super thin and you can hear everything the neighbors are doing. The lobby their website brags about was not available at all and it was not mentioned on their website that it was under construction. The towels in our bathroom were tattered and torn. Not anything where I would stay again. There are no activities at this "lodge" at all as advertised; the activities are at the main hotel. The one good thing was the free shuttle to get away from this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StarJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I spent Thanksgiving weekend here at the LODGE with my family and friends. It was nice enough. The rooms are in deep need of a makeover.. I attempted to make reservations at the OMNI Mt Washington Resort, which is partnered with the lodge, but were told no rooms fitting my days and needs were available. I then accepted rooms at the LODGE. Hmmm. The staff is very friendly. Cindy at the desk was excellent. The indoor pool was close to our room. and all in all it was a pleasant stay. By staying at the LODGE you are allowed to use the facilities of the GREAT historic OMNI Mt Washington Hotel. A truly beautiful hotel. The restaurants are pricey, but the food is good and the staff very nice. and the historic aura this hotel puts out is exquisite. Having the Omni to hang in made the trip and stay very pleasant. but.. the rooms at the LODGE need a makeover. Come out of the 70's...

Room Tip: Stay at the OMNI Mt Washington if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodWriter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
12.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,885 reviews
12 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
9.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
569 reviews
14.9 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range: £111 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, bedfinder AG, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods
The Lodge At Bretton Woods New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing