We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Don't get me wrong, the Bretton Woods lodge is a good value, clean, conveniently located, with great view of the Mount Washington and the Mount Washington Hotel, helpful staff, and even a shuttle or so I heard. Yes, they are a part of the Omni Mount Washington resort, which we were hoping to visit on the Memorial day weekend.
Little did we know (and it was not mentioned anywhere on Expedia which we used to book the stay), that this weekend the resort is closed to the public for many years, because some "group" uses the facility for their annual meeting; and they close all the restaurants and the premises for everybody else. Therefore, no breakfast, no dinner, no shuttle, nothing. Of course if you drive a little you can find places to eat; we are not picky, the Highland center buffet suites us just fine, and the Fabyan's station is great.
I suppose it's legal, after all big money can and do whatever they want. But I cannot approve such snobbishness towards patrons, who are not even informed beforehand that they are not welcome anywhere but the room in the lodge. It felt very disrespectful. Although I liked the Lodge itself very much, no complaints there; but as a part of the facility that can treat people this way, I personally will never reward them with my money again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aleksandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniManager_1, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Aleksandra. Thank you for taking the time to send feedback about your recent stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. We understand the special circumstances and restricted access that you encountered over Memorial Day weekend due to a special event on property. We strive to ensure that all our guests enjoy our resort and activities and appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    84
    63
    51
    31
See reviews for
106
90
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

When we go to Bretton Woods, which we do often, we alternate our stays among the Condos, Hotel itself and the Lodge dependant upon the reasons for our stay. The Lodge's rooms are clean, comfortable and serviced by the resort's outstanding shuttle service so you have easy access to all of the activities of the Hotel, Ski Area, Resort surrounds and all ancilliary food and beverage facilities-----to Boot, ALL rooms have fantastcic views of the Presidentials! We love the entire area, and the Lodge is right up there with the best of the best. They're doing work there at the moment, which will make the Lodge even more appealing. We can't wait to go back again---and again---and again!!

Room Tip: We like the 1st floor because of access, but the 2d has slightly better views---Either is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Let's start with, if you are budget traveling, this place is perfect. Our room was very clean, comfy and had beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and The Mount Washington Hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The shuttle service was awesome! Andy (driver) you're the best!!! Yes the lobby was under renovation so we didn't get to use it, but it really wasn't that big of deal. The pool area was clean and the water was perfect after getting out of the hot-tub. One thing that caught me by surprise was the fact that the pool was wheel-chair accessible (not that we needed it, but how nice for some one who might).
We saw in other reviews that there are train tracks right behind the hotel, not true. It's a trail for cross-country skiers and snowmobiles. We never heard snowmobiles once even though they were all over the place.
While there isn't a restaurant in the Lodge, it is just a quick shuttle ride to the Mount Washington Hotel or Fabyans Station. We enjoyed our first night of dinner at Stickneys in the lower level of the hotel. The hostess was awesome. She had a great personality and never stopped smiling! Our waitress, Christie, was just as wonderful. Being as busy as she was, we never waited for a thing! After dinner we headed into The Cave for a little light entertainment, some dancing and a couple of cocktails. Cool little place and again awesome staffing!!
If you decide to go here, make sure you go see Deb and Matt at Fabyans Station! They were absolutely fantastic! They really know how to make you feel welcome and comfortable and make you want to stay!
We had a great time and will definitely be back in the warmer weather for golf and horseback riding!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor as the views are much better and don't worry about driving, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Old Town, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Lodge is undergoing a long over due renovation. You can not beat the views of Mount Washington & its world famous Mount Washington Hotel. Both the hotel and Lodge are now part of the Omni Hotel Chain. Every room has an small outside deck and outdoor corridors in the back which is facing the cross country/snow shoeing/hiking path in the woods. Rooms are very comfortable. The addition of the coming new furniture, lamps and freshly painted walls is also nice. The new pillow top beds, sheets, and drapes will turn this dull motel into a sweet spot. They will be updating their huge indoor pool and adding a free breakfast. Also, they are minutes away by free shuttle to the Mount Washington Hotel (be sure to get the free tour here), and less than 5 minutes to the Bretton Woods Ski Area and Nordic Center.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringo167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho City, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a $50 / night motel that happens to be across the street from the Mt Washington Hotel. The rooms are poorly kept - mold on shower grout, bed linens don't fit the bed, cold air pours in from the slider door, etc. The motel is also being renovated so the lobby is in disarray. Oh, the price per night is much higher than $50. The staff are very helpful though there is not much they can do with the facility.

Room Tip: find rooms at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sherpa-charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My family of four stayed here over the school vacation week and about the best I can say is that it is close to Bretton Woods. First of all they are in the process of renovation the property (much needed) which was not made clear to us at the time of the reservation. The quality is not what I would expect from the Mt Washington resort/Omni Hotels. The service was POOR. We made what we thought was a simple request for a couple of extra pillows for the beds and were told that they would "try" to accommodate us. We ultimately got the pillows but were left feeling as though we asked for a free nights stay. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here with my daughter for two nights between Christmas and New Year to ski at Bretton Woods. I normally stay at the Mt. Washington Hotel, but it was already booked. The Lodge is very convenient to the ski area, with free shuttle service all day long. The Lodge itself is really a motel. The room was comfortable and clean but reasonably basic. The heating was difficult to control (too hot) and we ended up leaving it off for most of our stay. There is an indoor pool that is nice enough and a somewhat old spa/hot tub. There is no restaurant service on site. You have to go to the Hotel by shuttle if you want a nice breakfast. At over $200/night, this place is over-priced but then there aren't many choices in this area, unless you want to drive 45 minutes to North Conway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcbjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
15.3 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
15.0 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.6 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
12.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Property: The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods
The Lodge At Bretton Woods New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing