We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close by but still has an isolated feel.”

Wellington State Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Bristol
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park includes a large swimming beach on Newfound Lake.
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Close by but still has an isolated feel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

a great hike. Takes about an hour to 90 minutes if you want to stop and enjoy the sites. It's a bit rocky in patches but we hiked with an 87 year old and a younger partially disabled hiker. Really pretty views around the back end of the trail. Note: There is a $5 per person entrance fee for the park. Can add up fast with a big car load of folks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gustoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wellie is the best redneck riviera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Seriously, great for families. clean guarded beach snack bar and commercial mark star grills for cooking and smoores. Hit Shacket's store for supplies on way to lake and just relax. I think its still only $3 /head. Carry in carrry out. changing rooms on site.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vagoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great State park with 1/2 mile long family beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wellington State Park has a great beach, walking trails, boat ramp, changing facilities for families. Always a great take.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great NH State Park with Old School Slides!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Went for a day trip with our picnic lunch. As expected on a beautiful Sunday in June, the beach was full but not overcrowded. With that said, we still had no problem parking with our 11:30am arrival. More surprisingly, we were able to get a picnic table right next to the sandy beach.

The changing area and bathrooms were sufficiently clean though there is no means to dry your hands after washing them at the sink.

People were using all of the amenities. Lots of grilling, swimming, boating, lounging on floats, and even a wedding reception. The snack bar is adequate where you can get a fudgsicle for 50-cents.

There are old school steel slides (and swings) here. We saw two tall (12? footer) and two short (4 footer). The tall one was a highlight for our 8-year old son who happily reported the slide got faster after kids started dumping buckets of water down it.

The beach is clean and the swimming area had a nice sandy bottom. Dad and son enjoyed a nice swim.

Suggestion: Bring a table cloth or some other cover for the picnic table. Ours had small drops of pine pitch on them.




Helpful?
1 Thank ScoMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“''Best State Park''”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

No better place to spend a summer day.I have been a frequent visitor over the years,and it never gets old.Clean crystal clear water,beautiful hiking trail,and plenty of picnic tables.Just a great place to hang out and relax.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1964pqla .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellington State Park also viewed

 

Been to Wellington State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing