We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2011- peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Whipple House
Ranked #1 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“June 2011- peaceful!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here last year to go to the motorcycle rally events but chose this area to be a little away from it for some peace and quiet as we are older. Bristol is a nice town with good restaurants and a beautiful lake with beaches. We loved the Whipple House - great price, great room, great food. We just booked again for this year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
122
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Sandra the proprietress really made our stay worth it--she made us lovely breakfasts, was really nice and helpful and with a great British wit to boot. As for the accommodations, they were clean, classy and very well maintained with couches from another era that made for some great pictures. The whole house is tastefully decorated and very quaint with all the makings of a relaxing place to stay after a long day of skiing. Sandra's homemade scones are to die for!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our second trip for skiing at Ragged and it was just as good as the first. We stayed in The Sewing Room which has a newly renovated bathroom, we thought it was just lovely and very much in keeping with the age of the house. We especially like the marble floor. We wanted to make an early start the next day and Sandra graciously agreed to provide breakfast and hour earlier just for us. As always her breakfasts are delicious, especially her renowned scones. We definitely will be making this an annual trip if not more often.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We loved staying with Sandra and Clay. They made us feel at home. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated with great character. Breakfast was always a treat. Sandra's scones were the best I'd ever had. We went skiing at Ragged Mountain and their home was close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We recently stayed at The Henry Whipple House so we could ski at Ragged Mountain and they are the closest property, plus we read all the great reviews. Everything everyone has said is true and the ski and stay package was really affordable. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We loved The Guest Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were visiting family in the Newfound Lake area for Christmas and decided to stay at the Whipple House. It’s not often you get to experience a beautifully restored historic property for a reasonable price and so beautifully decorated for the holidays. Breakfasts were delicious and created with thought and care – we especially liked having two choices each day. Our room was spacious and spotless and very comfortable - with a flat screen TV and wifi we had everything we needed for a perfect stay. Just as we thought things could not get better our gracious host presented up with Christmas gifts and mimosas on Christmas morning.

Room Tip: The Weaving Room is very spacious and has two beds - one is a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boopdeboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My son and I were checking out some schools in the area and spent the night at the Whipple house.Everything was great and the breakfast was excellent.
The owner was very friendly and most accomodating
You won't be disappointed..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
2.8 mi away
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Pleasant View B&B
Pleasant View B&B
#4 of 4 in Bristol
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
425 reviews
8.5 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
661 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Property: Henry Whipple House
Address: 75 Summer St, Bristol, NH 03222-3275
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing