We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and charm on Summer Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Whipple House
Ranked #1 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty and charm on Summer Street”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Henry Whipple House. The owners have painstakingly and lovingly restored this beautiful Victorian home to give visitors a step back in time experience that is warm, comfortable, and welcoming. Everything was so clean, with attention to detail in decor and comfort amenities. Loved the high-quality fluffy towels and sheets on the bed. Breakfast was delicious and photo-worthy---we took a picture of our plate before the first bite every time. Sandra offered Southern-style welcome with an English accent! This beautiful home is close to many places on a tourist's list: Newfound and Winnipesaukee Lakes, Polar Caves, and the Kancamagus Highway, and several good restaurants. We would absolutely recommend The Whipple House to area visitors--it is truly a traveler's gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Henry Whipple room. It was upstairs in the front. Lots of sun during the day, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
118
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Henry Whipple House is a real treat. You get to experience what it was like to live in a 1904 Victorian home. The decor and furnishing are all authentic and service is great. The house is approximately 4 miles west of I93 at exit 23. This is right in the center of the lakes region and close to the White Mountains. Where else can you stay in a wonderfully restored Victorian home and get to meet very interesting people while partaking in a fantastic breakfast served by your host.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s32535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Henry Whipple House on the way to picking up our daughters at the nearby Wicosuta camp. Decor, ambiance and service were all first class. Maintenance is spotless, better than many 5-star hotel chains. Sandra was welcoming and generously provided both toothpaste and deodorant which we had forgotten. In the morning she cooked up a delicious breakfast in record time for a full house of parents all picking up their children at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M5R7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a totally excellent experience with the couple who run the Henry Whipple House in Bristol, NH. We had a memorial service in town for my father- a stressful and sad time. Sandra at the Whipple House made everything so easy and kind. We had four rooms for a various number of nights depending on schedules and she helped us all. Her breakfasts are fantastic. Her generosity wonderful. At 3:30 am after a very long night with distressed family, I swiped cookies set out for guests. Perfect. Do think about staying with them if you are in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Henry Whipple House was a wonderful place to stay. My husband and I and our two daughters spent one night there. They girls thoroughly enjoyed themselves. They said they felt like princesses. The room was clean and comfortable. The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating with two little girls. Breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the nice time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This week I thoroughly enjoyed our overnight. I had always admired the B & B in passing on to Mt. Cardigan. The bed was perfect and bathroom clean with great shower and towels. The decor and hostess most interesting. Breakfast was delicious and affordable. I have already recommended it to others and showed them a picture. Also appreciate the fact they are conscious of the environment.

Room Tip: only know I liked the one we were in which was a front one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 257Ginnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Total quality. The location puts you near sites in the Lakes Region of NH and also Franconia Notch State Park. Our stay was before Memorial Day weekend, so still somewhat of season, but our hosts were energetically putting the finishing touches on preparing for the upcoming season. They were diligently professional in making sure everything was perfect. Breakfasts, in a word, fantastic. Unique and varied but flexible to tastes. Awesome scones. Our hostess was very knowledgeable of local sites and places to eat (Tavern 27, for the win). Both are avid hikers also, if you are looking for an informed base-camp. Lots of thoughtful amenities and extra effort to be very "Green-friendly". I'm a guy, so we stayed in a room with a bed. My wife picked out the "Sewing Room" (I think) for our stay, and she was very pleased with the decor and colors and stuff. New Hampshire was great and we look forward to returning to see more, hike more, and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The-RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
103 reviews
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
2.8 mi away
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pleasant View B&B
Pleasant View B&B
#3 of 4 in Bristol
22 reviews
8.9 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
419 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Property: Henry Whipple House
Address: 75 Summer St, Bristol, NH 03222-3275
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing