We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dogsledding with fun and lots of dog love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valley Snow Dogz

Valley Snow Dogz
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Campton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sled dog rides and tours during spring, fall and winter months. Wheels during the non-snowy months and sleds during the winter. A family of mushers and their lovable sled dogs. Various locations in the White Mountains and Lakes Region including Waterville Valley, Thornton And Squam Lake. Great fun for families,groups and for special occasions and events. Year-round sled dog education and kennel tours
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
“Dogsledding with fun and lots of dog love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

In March, my 14-year-old daughter, Izzi, went on her second Valley Snow Dogz ride. I had taken her last winter, too. Both afternoons were amazing. The ride is exhilarating and educational: cozy yet thrilling; fast but comfortable. The mushers (dogs and human) are experts with whom riders are safe and well-cared for. For Izzi, however, the best part is the snuggling, petting, baby-talking, nuzzling, and loving with the dogs. Lidia lets her dog-loverest customers spend a great deal of time with the huskies and Alaskans. We spend more time patting bellies and stroking lovely coats than we do on the sleds. It's the highlight of my daughter's winter each year--and it's a tradition now. Thank you, Lidia and all your employees and fellow dogsledders for great hospitality and great customer service and flexibility. (I should mention that I created a glitch with a gift certificate and Lidia handled the issue with such generosity and flexibility.).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valleysnowdogz, Owner at Valley Snow Dogz, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review which we know will be helpful to those seeking to journey with us. We really look forward to seeing you both this season and appreciate your caring attention to our wonderful furry family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster, Massachusetts
1 review
“Awesome experience !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

On January 13, 2013, I was reading the travel section of the Sunday paper and found an article about dog sled tours. This got me curious and I thought, gee that sounds interesting and should be added to our bucket list.

On March 6th my wife and I got to go on our adventure. We started from home in the morning we estimated our drive would take about 3 hours, it was approximately 150 miles. We arrived at Squam Lake in Holderness NH and were greeted by our most friendly hosts Lidia & Rich Dale-Mesaros, along with their friends Kim & Kelley from a nearby kennel. After meeting everyone included the Dog(z), they (the dogs) were beautiful and very friendly, they were also ready to go, we got into our sleds the dogs were hitched to the sleds and off we went. Everyone made sure that we were warm. Besides being dressed warm for this adventure, they put us into sleeping bags on our sleds.

Never thought we would be doing this. It was a great, awesome experience; everyone
Should put this on their must do list. This may be something that we have to do again. The 300 mile drive to Lake Squam and back home was time well spent. It is something that, if you enjoy the outdoors and do not ski, you should try. Give Lidia a call and plan your adventure, she will go all out to accommodate you. Go to their web site at www.valleysnowdogz.com.

Louie & Nancy

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louie-Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valleysnowdogz, Owner at Valley Snow Dogz, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Louie and Nancy, it was so great to finally meet you both. We so appreciated the journey you made in order to have a Squam Lake Valley Snow Dog excursion and what an amazing experience it was for us all. We thank you both and look forward to seeing you again.... we hope you will return next season for another adventure! Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Dog Lovers Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity last evening to take a dog sled excursion with Valley Dogz in Waterville Valley, NH. It was wonderful. We arrived early to get to visit with the dogs and take a few pictures. Richard and Lydia, our sled drivers and owners, were delightful hosts, explaining the ins and outs of driving dog sleds. Almost as much fun as the sled ride was observing the enthusiasm of all of the dogs to get going as they were put in the harness. We had two sleds with six dogs per sled. We were amazed at how fast those dogs could pull the sleds. Needless to say the ride was exhilirating, as we skimmed over the snow in the twilight esjoying the views of the mountains that surround the Valley.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valleysnowdogz, Owner at Valley Snow Dogz, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Wasn't it such a fun evening! Yes, the dogs can be amazingly fast. We love sharing our passion and welcome all the wonderful feedback. Please be sure to return next season! Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience !! The Dogs were awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I didn't know what to expect - as we are HUGE dog lovers - would this be ok for them?? Well - it seemed they loved it as much as we did !! We got to hang out with them before and after the sled ride and it was magical....Richard and Lidia take such good care of the dogs - and their customers! They took us on a moonlit and starry ride around Squam Lake - I was torn between looking at the dogs do their thing and the beautiful night sky.....Wow.....This is a MUST for everyone visiting the Waterville Valley area....The Siberian and Alaskan Huskies were sweethearts and just had a blast doing what they were bread to do....Sign up ahead of time to ensure an experience of a lifetime...... :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valleysnowdogz, Owner at Valley Snow Dogz, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you so much! Hope we see you again for another Valley Snow Dog experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A perfect add-on to a day of skiing in Waterville Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We did the Mountain Taster tour just after the winter storm Nemo had finished. It was a beautiful ride along the Tripoli Road at dusk. Lidia and Richard are great hosts and their pack of dogs are phenomenal. Seeing the excitement of Alaskan Huskies pulling a sled is not to be missed. Be sure to dress warmly - it can get cold. This is a must for any dog lovers - and a perfect end to a day on the slopes. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBoston02111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valleysnowdogz, Owner at Valley Snow Dogz, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you both so much! It was great to meet you both and we really appreciated your interest in our life with dogz. We hope you will come back and see us and the dogz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valley Snow Dogz also viewed

 
Lincoln, White Mountains
Campton, White Mountains
 

Been to Valley Snow Dogz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing