We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel Spencer Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
48
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsb and bresident dogcomfortable stayadds to the charmwhite mountainson arrivalliving roomlocation is greateach morningone nightnew englandget awayplymouthbreakfastkeeperbuddy
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed here when we were visiting our son at Plymouth State. it's a charming, comfortable, hostorical b and b with warm, friendly, professional hosts. Great breakfast and rooms are warm and well appointed Would thoroughly recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Pleasant location, charming inn keeper, plenty of hot water, and a good firm four poster bed to sleep on. What more could I ask.

Room Tip: Mary Jo can help you choose a room to meet your needs.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillSeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Colonel Spencer for one night and had a very pleasant experience. Our room was simple & clean. The plumbing seemed a bit old, but it was fine. There was no tv in the room but there was tv in the living room downstairs. The breakfast was lovely - cheese omelette with fresh herbs. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadelineNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Every summer we usually pitch a tent in a campground when we travel to this beautiful part of the world. This year, however, due to my wife's aversion to damp, flat air matresses and the undesirable waft of public camp toilets, we found ourselves in Colonel's Spencer Inn. It wasn't just the contrast to camping that made our stay so enjoyable - we were made to feel welcome from the moment Mary Jo met us at the front door. The Inn oozes character, from it's wide creaking floorboards, to the map room, wonderful period furniture, narrow staircases, and just the layout of the place in general. All the bedrooms we saw were very large and all have private bathrooms. Our bed was sensationally comfortable (with no hint of dampness or the hiss of leaking air). The breakfast in the morning is also worth mentioning - a big thanks goes the the chef, Scott. There's nothing better than starting the day with a home-made muffin or cinammon roll before enjoying a perfectly cooked omlette or French toast. Another great feature of the Inn is that it's pet friendly, so we were able to bring our labradoodle, Sam Adams, who spent much of his time running away from Guinness and Tuckerman, Mary Jo and Scott's two dogs. Anyway, its was a most enjoyable weekend, so much so that my wife now has her eyes on running our own B&B in our semi-retirment. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamAdams2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I have told many friends of this charming and oh so comfortable bed and breakfast! From the immediate warmth we felt as we stepped thru the door to the delicious and well prepared and presented home-cooked meals (even fresh baked scones!!) it was like we were old friends coming for a visit! The room we were gven was a room I would absolutely have in my own home. It was "just what the doctor ordered", to be sure!! We welcomed the pampering we were oh so graciously given and look forward to another stay in this Bed and breakfast! Two thumbs WAY up! We all ride motorcycles and that was no problem to the owners. ...and we met some nice people who we are still in contact with! THANK-YOU SO VERY, VERY MUCH!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaudsFromSalemNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews