We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendliest Inn ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonel Spencer Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Campton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Our son goes to camp on Newfound Lake. We happened upon The Colonel Spencer Inn four summers ago when looking for a place to stay during one of our weekend visits. We feel so lucky we found the Colonel Spencer Inn. Mary Jo and Scott are the best hosts~ making my young daughter feel welcome, no matter what she gets into. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and so clean. Breakfast is delicious and filled with great conversation.

We've recommended the "Inn" to our friends and have grown into a large group staying during our camp weekend visits. We love the Colonel Spencer Inn and love our wonderful hosts, whom we now consider to be our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

This turned out to be one of the highlights of New Hampshire. The breakfast each morning was excellent. What really made the inn special were the owners Scott and Mary Jo. One evening we were really late coming in from our bicycle ride. Scott and Mary Jo were concerned about us so they got in their car and started searching. They found us a few miles from the inn. The rooms were comfortable and the inn was convenient to the area attractions. If we return to the area we will be staying at the Colonel Spencer Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We enjoyed our five night stay here very much. Our room was comfortable and we were especially grateful for the air conditioning during an unusual heat wave. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious every day. The inn is very historic and convenient to many area attractions and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaxDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

My stay at the Colonel Spencer Inn was absolutely what I had imagined a bed and breakfast to be! The inn keepers were warm, friendly and accommodating. My room was very clean, warm and cozy. Breakfast was fantastic and the views from the dining areas were breath taking! Compton is located close to Plymouth and near by Squam Lake. The same lake that On Golden Pond was filmed. You can now imagine how beautiful this area of the country is! If you are looking for a warm, frienly and cozy stay I would recommend the Colonel Spencer Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

A few girlfriends stayed here in the Baker room and enjoyed it. The service was great and the rooms was spacious and clean. The bathroom looked like it could use to be updated with nicer amenities (ie better shower curtain and rod). Otherwise, a lovely spot. It is right on the road so it can be a little noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalifGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

My family spent this past weekend at the Colonel Spencer Inn and we had a truly fantastic time. The guest rooms are very charming, comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were delicious, and the hosts were very accommodating. Looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaLis527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

My husband and I spent 3 nights out of our two-week New England Fall Foliage/7th anniversary vacation here. Mary Jo and Scott are wonderful hosts and their breakfasts -especially the muffins - were so delicious! The Inn is lovely with it's old wooden floors and the tiny staircase in front. We also had a great time chatting with guests in the living room, particularly a delightful, well-humored couple from England.

The dining area added on the original structure is a beautiful place to enjoy breakfast and look at the trees and pond across the street.

Our room was very large. Due to some minor health issues on my part, we had to sleep with our heads at the foot of the bed since the floor...and the bed...sloped down a little. That was no big deal to us, so it seems like a minor complaint. That's part of staying in an old house.

The location is great for day trips around the Lakes Region and up into the Mountains. Mary Jo was especially helpful in answering questions about restaurants and local sites.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Colonel Spencer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel Spencer Inn

Address: 3 Colonel Spencer Rd, Campton, NH 03223-4411
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Campton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Campton
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonel Spencer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a cozy 1764 home steeped rich in America's history. This year-round retreat is tastefully restored and furnished with antiques and period accents. We are perfectly located, surrounded by New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes regions. This makes us the ideal destination for any four-season mountain and lakes activities that are within minutes of the inn. Perfect for biking, hiking, golfing, skiing, antiquing, shopping, fine dining, local festivals, and more! We are the largest B&B to Plymouth State University and the Holderness School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Colonel Spencer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel Spencer Inn Campton, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing