We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice server, good food”
Review of Stix - CLOSED

Stix
Restaurant details
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice server, good food”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My friend and I stopped in here yesterday for lunch and had a great time. The server was super sweet to us. He talked us through some of the menu items and chatted with us a bit. We each got The Green Mountain: turkey, honey cream cheese, and apple slices on grilled honey wheat bread. I got the potato salad; my friend got the pasta salad. Sodas were served in jelly jars. We enjoyed our food very much. And they never rushed us, even though we were unwittingly there after closing time.

This place isn't fancy. It's a back country sort of place with mismatched furniture, a mounted deer head, and mild AC on a hot July afternoon. But I'd definitely go back. I'm sorry to see some other people had unpleasant experiences. It was very much the opposite for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhmillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    5
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
campton, NH
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Rustic and quality”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We've been here a handful of times and the overall experience is very good food and service. I know they have had trouble with a certain server but all around this is a good place; possibly the best breakfast menu for a twenty mile radius. The decor is rustic and very unique: I don't think one table and chair set matches another. My only critic is that the dining room could use a dusting or a fresh lively look. If your in the area and want breakfast or lunch stop here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It took forever to seat us then the waitress was completely rude. We ended up just walking out. The coffee cups were all filthy on the inside. I would never go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never Again!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was my first and last trip to this restaurant! I have never in my life experienced such poor customer service. It appeared that our presence was a huge inconvenience for our server. She was quite upset that she had 2 new tables to wait on and refused to take our order because there were other tables seated ahead of us (which by the way was not true, all the other tables were seated after us and she just had no idea about that because she was MIA for about 15 minutes while all of this happened.) Even the "clean" coffee mugs on the table had yellow crusty stuff around the rim. Please save yourself the trouble of putting up with this and choose another place to have breakfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_S41773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty Diner with Dismal Service!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

What appeared to be a cute little, off-the-beaten-path diner turned out to be...well... the beaten path. The restaurant is very dimly lit, perhaps to try to hide the filth on the tables, floors, silverware and glasses. However, that actually isn't the most offensive thing about this place. The wait staff is not just exceptionally slow (if they surface at all), but they are incredibly hostile to the restaurant patrons. After waiting to be seated for about 30 minutes in a nearly empty restaurant, we were finally seated by a rather dour waitress. She said little to us, and gave us no menus. This, unfortunately, gave us time to inspect the coffee mugs that were encrusted with some type of food material (not sure how it ended up on the mugs), and the equally garnished silverware. About 15 minutes later, a second waitress came to the table, first complaining that she had to serve a table of 5 (that would be us), and then she angrily accused us of seating ourselves. But, she didn't stop there - to our shock, she proceeded to yell at our table in front of the few other tables of patrons in the restaurant, saying that there were other people there before us who needed to be served! Ironically, she immediately walked over to a table of people who had just arrived and began taking their orders. We didn't know if we should be looking for a hidden camera, or if we should make a run for it. We opted for the latter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stix also viewed

 
Campton, White Mountains
Campton, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing