We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't drive by this one!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Station

Mountain View Station
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Center Ossipee, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't drive by this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I live in Center Ossipee & drive past it several times a day,but never stopped in because i thought it was just a hang out for locals."DON'T Make The MISTAKE I Did".There are cars parked outside all the time,& yes it is small,but the new owners did a fantastic job bringing this restaurant back to life.I stopped in one night on my way home from a long day in Boston,because i didn't feel like cooking when i got home.Boy was i glad i did.I got a seafood plate which was cooked to perfection.Fried clams,scallops,shrimp,& haddock was so fresh i thought i was in Ipswich eating.The portions were incredible as was the price.My associate got steak tips & saved some to bring home so she had room for desert.Home made desert.This place is amazing.Do take the time to eat here,it's 5 minutes off Rt.16 in the village.I have been to all the other places within 10 miles of my home,but this is definitely by far the best.You can't beat the food or the staff which is awesome.Try anything on the menu,& this will be your favorite too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Center Ossipee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good old fashion diner type restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good "home cookin" and service. Interesting décor and popular with the locals. Very casual and informal. Surprisingly good variety and it's all good! have been for breakfast and dinner several times.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Much more than meet the eye and fills your belly too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Mountain View Station at one time was a train station now it is a local excellent restaurant. It is mch more than pub food. There is a large choice of sea foods and many are broiled as well as fried. Their scallops are delicious; their meat loaf is tops. They are very family friendly. In the summer a wait for dinner can be long but is worth it. Service is prompt and courteous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb small restaurant, out in the middle of nowhere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

After lunching here a couple of times, my husband and I decided to come for dinner last night. After a short wait (this will change I bet after people "discover" this great little place), we were seated next to a window. Very comfortable seating, ample distance between tables and chairs, very clean (including bathrooms), very friendly service. The beer and wine menu is a pleasure; several very good red wines available by the glass. After looking at the menu and seeing the large portions being served to other diners, we opted to share our meals. We started with a pear and goat cheese salad which was very good, served on a bed of really fresh greens and the dressing was delicious. Our main course of scallops florentine over a bed of pasta was absolutely fabulous; everything was cooked to perfection, the pasta had just the right amount of "bite" and was very hot. Both dishes were divided up on two separate plates (with NO extra charge if you can believe it!) and the portions were so ample we were too full for dessert. The service was very professional but warm and friendly. The Mountainview Station (Trip Advisor, please take note of the spelling of the name, we obtained it directly from the business card and the menu) in Center Ossipee is a little gem where we will be eating often. A delightful dining establishment and very close to our home. Kudos!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Auntie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossipee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very popular at nights during the season, so expect a wait....but it will be worth it. We like going there for lunch and having the beans/hot dog platter and the chicken salad croissant. Very friendly wait staff. If you go on the weekends, walk down to Folsom St and visit the Saps Mead House. Unique, homemade with free tastings on the weekend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain View Station also viewed

 
Tamworth, White Mountains
 

Been to Mountain View Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing