We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chocorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chocorua Camping Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were very disappointed with this campground. It is not very amenable for tenting. There were only a few tent sites available and after unpacking we realized the site was too small for our average-size tent. The campground seems to be dominated by a clique of regulars with RV's who turn their noses up at anyone who isn't part of their group. As tenters we felt very unwelcome. Some of their children even asked us why we were camping in a tent when 'everyone else' had an RV. We tried to take part in the scheduled bingo night only to be looked up and down by the 'locals'. The pond on the property is choked with weeds and is not at all appealing to swim in. We noticed a pair of campers in a canoe struggling to make their way through the weeds. The children's playground is very buggy and our visit resulted in a quick retreat after the mosquitoes swarmed us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuvToTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived just as the sun was setting, and were escorted to our site by 2 of the staff. Our site was on a corner and up a small rise. While the staff people were trying to be helpful, the gentleman at the front of our rig (a travel trailer and truck) was giving different instructions than the one at the rear. After a few tries, we were able to get our trailer positioned properly. The property is nicely maintained and very clean. While we didn't wish to partake of the activities, the kids in the campground seemed to be really enjoying themselves. The power went out twice during our stay, but someone responded quickly and reset an area circuit breaker that must feed several sites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank novastorm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here for Columbus Day weekend, our first stay. I was disappointed on check in to discover my site had been changed to one near the road. It was a nice site, but you could hear road noise all day from route 16. The staff was friendly, the activities abundant! I can see how it would be fabulous for dogs - a separate kennel area if you want to leave for a day trip. It is VERY pricey, about $15 more per NIGHT than other campgrounds in the area...I would not camp here on an average week/weekend, but I WOULD come again for a themed weekend (ie Columbus Day, July 4).

Room Tip: Ask for a site away from the road, and ask to be "locked in"...we were told AFTER being in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank imbigd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Roads are a little tight, I have a 34' Travel Trailer, Staff was helpfull & friendly, Bathrooms are Immaculate. Camp Store was well stocked and Prices were reasonable, Doughnuts and Coffe were available every morning plus they had a Pancake & Sausage Breakfast with OJ for $2.99. Keep up the good work Lee !!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Ignore the negative reviews, we stayed at KOA Chocorua a few weeks ago and were so impressed with the staff, spotless sites (I actually watched a staff member pick up every trace of the previous campers), and beautiful surroundings. When we arrived in our travel trailer, Jim, escorted us to our site and then delivered some extra wood blocks to help level our trailer! The customer service at this place is impressive. We recently stayed at another campground and almost left early to head back to Chocorua! Numerous activities to keep all campers busy, clean facilities, and quiet surroundings. We liked it so much we put a deposit on a seasonal site.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acerep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We spent 3 nights in a tent here last weekend and totally enjoyed our stay. They have a fenced in dog park with agility equipment (and kennels if you want to leave your dog for a few hours) they have a dog beach for them to swim and tons of walking trails to let your dog explore. They deliver wood to your fireplace when you buy it at the store. Try to get a site away from the roads as the noise was bothersome at night time. Granted we booked late so our site wasnt ideal. Bathrooms and showers were always clean. I'd go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the roads as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onemoretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The lake is horid....lots of scum in it, the camp staff who drive the golf carts around are more like over strict campus police. If you have teenagers don't go there! They can't even go to the restroom without getting yelled at after 10pm! You can not leave your site after 10pm which makes it hard for those who are tenting it.
There are seasonal campers who are nice but be careful if you get a bad one like us...lots of drama.....will never go back and highly recommend to never go there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ValerieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chocorua Camping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocorua Camping Village

Address: 893 White Mountain Hwy, Chocorua, Tamworth, NH 03817-4674
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Tamworth > Chocorua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chocorua
Price Range: £27 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Chocorua Camping Village Hotel Chocorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing