We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The next generation continues family tradition!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chocorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chocorua Camping Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I used to stay here with my family when I was a kid (20+years ago). Took my kids last year for the first time (3+5 yrs old). Stayed at site 46, which was one we frequented growing up. We love it here!! We just left today after five nights. With the kids a little older now, they were kept busy with the pool, and the activities. The staff is fantastic, and super friendly. We rented a travel trailer from chocoura mountain rv. They come ser it up, and take it away, so all we had to pack was linens, and our fishing rods! We stayed at site 46 again. It's waterfront, and had a perfect little area where the kids could fish and feed the ducks, while I sat on the deck with my book, five feet away. We booked for next year before we left. (Site 46again) thanks chocoura, see you next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValerieDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We just returned from our 5 night stay at the "Look to the Mountain" cabin at Chocorua KOA. Initially we were a little surprisd when we were told to turn around and drive out of the KOA at check in. The driveway is actually one down from the KOA entrance, and you only enter the campground through a steep downhill trail. It worked out fine but we did not realize, upon booking that we would be right on Route 16. Given its proximity to the road there was a lot of road noise we did not expect.

The cabin was however, much larger than we expected. It is a full two floors with living room, kitchen and bath (w/ shower) on first floor and 3 bedrooms (all with twin beds) and a full size bed at the top of the stairs.

There was an AC as advertised but only on the first floor. That combined with road noise made it somewhat hot at night. The last night of our stay we had a visitor bring a fan which worked really well to cool off all rooms upstairs.

The site of this cabin was large, and there was a large camp storage barn in the back. We only saw people accessing this twice during our stay. Given our distance from other campers the site was very quiet, minus the road noise.

Although there were some unexpected "bumps" in the road, this actually turned out to be a great home base for our family vacation.

Pros:
Large cabin
Comfortable living space
Conveinent to area attractions
Campground was good

Cons:
Road noise (although it died down about 9-10pm)
No AC in sleeping area

Things I wish I knew before going:
Linens included did NOT include towels
Staircase upstairs had no railing and bc we were traveling with a 2 yr old that felt unsafe
Need fan(s) for bedrooms
Steep trail into the campground

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVaughnMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We are big fans of KOA properties because of the association's policies for cleanliness, amenities, etc. But this KOA surpassed all expectations by far. We rented a deluxe cabin with a driveway right off of route 16. The cabin was in perfect shape and had more than we could possibly need for our 3 day weekend stay. The road noise was a little disconcerting but it quieted down in the evenings.
All of the caqmpground aminities were in great shape, from the beaches to the trails, from the pools to the boat rentals. We had a great time canoing and kayaking all weekend, and paddling out to visit with our friends who were staying in one of the Wabanake cabins. We found a letterbox along one of the hiking trails! I didn't see it listed on geocaching.com so it must be a traditional letterbox.
Every staff person we saw greeted us with a smile and a hello. When we checked in and ordered firewood, we had our wood delivered to our cabin in less than a half an hour. As we were checking out and taking our garbage to the bin, one staff member passing by in a golf cart offered to take our garbage for us. I can't say enough about how great this staff is!
All in all, this is a super family friendly campground. Our new favorite!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWCTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were very disappointed with this campground. It is not very amenable for tenting. There were only a few tent sites available and after unpacking we realized the site was too small for our average-size tent. The campground seems to be dominated by a clique of regulars with RV's who turn their noses up at anyone who isn't part of their group. As tenters we felt very unwelcome. Some of their children even asked us why we were camping in a tent when 'everyone else' had an RV. We tried to take part in the scheduled bingo night only to be looked up and down by the 'locals'. The pond on the property is choked with weeds and is not at all appealing to swim in. We noticed a pair of campers in a canoe struggling to make their way through the weeds. The children's playground is very buggy and our visit resulted in a quick retreat after the mosquitoes swarmed us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuvToTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived just as the sun was setting, and were escorted to our site by 2 of the staff. Our site was on a corner and up a small rise. While the staff people were trying to be helpful, the gentleman at the front of our rig (a travel trailer and truck) was giving different instructions than the one at the rear. After a few tries, we were able to get our trailer positioned properly. The property is nicely maintained and very clean. While we didn't wish to partake of the activities, the kids in the campground seemed to be really enjoying themselves. The power went out twice during our stay, but someone responded quickly and reset an area circuit breaker that must feed several sites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank novastorm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here for Columbus Day weekend, our first stay. I was disappointed on check in to discover my site had been changed to one near the road. It was a nice site, but you could hear road noise all day from route 16. The staff was friendly, the activities abundant! I can see how it would be fabulous for dogs - a separate kennel area if you want to leave for a day trip. It is VERY pricey, about $15 more per NIGHT than other campgrounds in the area...I would not camp here on an average week/weekend, but I WOULD come again for a themed weekend (ie Columbus Day, July 4).

Room Tip: Ask for a site away from the road, and ask to be "locked in"...we were told AFTER being in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank imbigd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Roads are a little tight, I have a 34' Travel Trailer, Staff was helpfull & friendly, Bathrooms are Immaculate. Camp Store was well stocked and Prices were reasonable, Doughnuts and Coffe were available every morning plus they had a Pancake & Sausage Breakfast with OJ for $2.99. Keep up the good work Lee !!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chocorua
11.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
5.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
87 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
4.1 mi away
Huttopia White Mountains
Huttopia White Mountains
#4 of 10 in Conway
8 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Tamworth
Days Inn Tamworth
#2 of 4 in Tamworth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocorua Camping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocorua Camping Village

Address: 893 White Mountain Hwy, Chocorua, Tamworth, NH 03817-4674
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Tamworth > Chocorua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chocorua
Price Range: £27 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Chocorua Camping Village Hotel Chocorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing