We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed so comfy, it felt like I was sleeping at the Ritz!”
Review of The Common Man Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Common Man Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Claremont B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed here by chance....we wanted to go to Vermont to star gaze and I came upon this hotel and read the rave reviews and figured we would give it a try! I was happy we did! This hotel is located in a quaint little town with really nothing in it. We drove up from Boston at night and the ride was so pretty, this hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere (actually the town is in the middle of nowhere, the hotel is in the middle of the town! lol)

The hotel was empty, there were 3 cars in the parking lot when we pulled in around 10 PM, and we got checked in quick and headed over to the restaurant that is attached (Common man) they only had a bar menu available because it was late and there were tons of locals at the bar. We mentioned we were really hungry and the bartender produced the full menu and said "don’t worry, the kitchen staff will still cook!" The food was good, the drinks were better! My only complaint is that the comforter had a nasty dirt stain on it. There is a Jacuzzi room that was neat. - We don't use Jacuzzi’s but checked it out anyway. There is a gym located there as well. Free breakfast in the AM. Free parking. There are board games all around the place you can play and books you can borrow!

I would return and may even plan a trip around it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALECIAINBOSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

Our 2 floor suite with the fireplace made our stay extremely cozy and comfortable. The staff was professional and the inn was immaculate.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPLucasMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Loved the Inn, the rooms were big, well appointed furnishings and linens, large bathroom, very clean and smelled great. We had a regular 2 queenn room street side and it was just perfect for a family of four. Really happy with our choice to stay here and we had a great meai at the Common Man Restuarant. Would recommend to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

staff is great, very friendly, rooms are very nice but the management clearly does not understand the business traveler. I have had to stay here four times and each time is a mixed bag. rooms well appointed, comfortable bed but way too much noise from the room next door. there are no drapes on the windows, only shutters which look nice but do not make the room dark. Some rooms the heat/air is very close to the bed and too loud. the breakfast is forgetable

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hartman60946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We found the staff to be more than accomodating, the room was so well furnished and comfortable, and the location had terrific views of waterfalls. Only negative is a bathtub that is designed for a very slender person. Dinner at the Inn was great; manager came around and visited at each table.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cintx88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

With rooms over the falls, fresh air and basketball court (reclaimed) floors, the rooms feel like you are the first to stay in them. Everyone of the staff was personable and professional and unpretentious. Big and warm and uncommonly good. We are not big fans of the food chain (yes, chain...ouch) so we went elsewhere (Hanover), there isn't much locally but wood fired pizza on the corner a short walk away, it looked great, the Harpoon Brewery in Windsor VT. if you are a pub grubber. Give it a little time and more reviews, they are very attentive & responsive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastnamefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Claremont NH has a reputation of one of the many "mill towns" that are struggling to survive. But, not only has the town got a great shot in the arm but a great building has been restored. We were there for a business meeting and were treated like royalty. Greeted by Hank, the "Inn Dog" (very laid back welcome, I might add). the hotel and restaurant are in old river front mill buildings that had been empty for years.

Was visiting with Red River company on business. A few highlights.

- Was accommodated in an enormous, king bedded room, including indoor/outdoor Jacuzzi, fireplace and the list goes on. I think all the rooms have fireplaces. Large rooms, with great big windows looking out on the river.

- Lots of little touches – lavish experience in a cozy and comfortable setting

- Was able to leave my windows open and listen to the Sugar River coming over the falls. Great for sleeping!

- Friendly caring staff, The aforementioned "Hank" is actually the pet of one of the staff (Meg?) who is terrific and she brings Hank along when she is working. A great feeling of home to be reading the paper in the very comfortable seats in the lobby and have a quiet, well behaved black Lab lying at your feet. (of course he just wanted snacks)

- Dinner and Breakfast – walked through the covered walkway to the Common Man Restaurant. Great experience. You’ve got to try their twist on Pigs in a Blanket! And the outdoor patio over the river was a great place to "de-stress"

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drifter113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
17.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
366 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
146 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
7.9 mi away
Snapdragon Inn
Snapdragon Inn
#1 of 4 in Windsor
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Common Man Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Common Man Inn

Address: 21 Water St, Claremont, NH 03743-2228
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range: £90 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Common Man Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in June 2009, cozy Inn built in a refurbished mill on the banks of the sugar river in Claremont, NH. River-view suites and pet-friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Common Man Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Common Man Hotel Claremont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing