We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like visiting a friends home”

Northern Comfort Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colebrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Comfort Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colebrook
NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More like visiting a friends home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed here for several years now (usually 2-3 times a year) & have nothing but good things to say it. The Kenneys always great me like an old friend which adds to the comfort & security I feel during my stay. One trip, last year, I arrived at night during a major blackout in the entire area. The Kenneys brought out cheese & crackers in the lobby & then we ordered dinner from a place that had a generator. Great conversation & some laughs... it was almost disappointing the power came back on so soon. Just returned from another trip & another delightful stay at Northern Comfort. I don't require fancy. I want clean, comfortable & secure, & this fits the bill perfectly. Add in the cozy rooms & the Kenneys & I'm a happy camper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjQueenoftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
21
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I pre-booked this motel en route to Maine, staying as a family of four in one room. The owner Jim -- as others have noted here -- excels at making you welcome, offering sound advice and treating customers like old friends. The rooms are clean, exuding a rustic kind of feel and are fully functioning. They also proved to be a bit on the small side -- I would not opt to sleep the four of us in one room, contrary to what I was told. Mind you, we're not spoiled -- it's just that the beds tend towards the smaller side of whatever counts as "Queen-sized". Overall recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

In town for a funeral. The room is clean. Nothing fancy here, but I felt safe and it was fine for a comfortable night's stay. Owner was very nice Amd offered good recommendations for restaurants, etc. Rates are reasonable. Bring your own hair dryer and conditioner. Would recommend this little place for anyone passing through Colebrook.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaGam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here for one night last Monday after seeing this inn while driving through Colebrook. I had just flown into Burlington and needed a place to stay before hiking in the White Mountains the next day. I didn't expect much seeing this inn from the road, but what a surprise after I checked in! The owner Jim was very personable and made me feel at home. He struck conversation with me and also asked what brought me so far north to New Hampshire. The room had a lot of space (especially coming from NYC where hotel rooms are quite small) and the beds were extremely comfortable. I felt like I was living in a luxury log cabin. The room also had a refrigerator and DISH network flat screen TV. At $69 a night, this was more than I got for my money.

Also the bathroom was very clean. The only problem I had was that the toilet flushing power was not that strong. The shower was polished and had nice water pressure.

I will definitely return on my next visit to New Hampshire.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reztrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband & I stayed here for two nights and couldn't have been happier. The rooms are spotless and beautifully rustic with pine walls; not cheap paneling but the real deal! There is a fridge in the room, a flat screen TV with satellite, and even a recliner to put your feet up. The owners are very sweet & they welcomed our spoiled pooch as well. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

There are not so many reasonable accomodations in Northern NH, but this one. Jim is very friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are well equipped. The price is very reasonable. Coffee or tea may be taken at the front desk.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near the noisy Coca Cola automat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Been a loyal customer for over 20 years. This is not a nationwide brand motel and the service is friendly and top notch. I am sure that guests are known by their first name and are treated as family. There are a few options to stay in the Great North Woods in New Hampshire but the Northern Comfort Motel is my only choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colebrook
1.5 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
4.1 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#3 of 7 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
16.1 mi away
Tall Timber Lodge
Tall Timber Lodge
#2 of 12 in Pittsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 7 in Colebrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
13.7 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Comfort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Comfort Motel

Property: Northern Comfort Motel
Address: 1 Daniel Webster Hwy, Colebrook, NH 03576
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Colebrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colebrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Northern Comfort Hotel Colebrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing