We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #29 of 157 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

When I want good sushi I normally went to Moritomo, but lately t'd heard some good things about Ichiban so I thought I give it a try. I must say it lived up to what I heard. The sushi was fresh, a good selection of fish to choose from, the prices were reasonable and the presentation was above average. The only slightly negative thing was that the service could have been a bit quicker and more attentive. Overall an above average experience and a place I'll definitely be back to

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sushi - NH style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I like this place to hang out and have a drink. The owner is really into the fish tanks that you'll find around the place. You can tell this Asian family work their butts off to operate a successful restaurant business. The veteran bartending staff is top notch and friendly. Tight wad Yankees flock here during happy hour to get a deal on drinks and appetizers. The wait staff is efficient but not very "warm" normally and the atmosphere reminds me of a Cracker Barrel cafeteria-style restaurant. I have a theory that over the last 5 years Ichiban has been cleverly reducing the portions of actual fish they use in their sushi by using rice, sauces and anything else cheaper than real fish to prepare their sushi rolls and disguise the fact that there really isn't much tuna or salmon, etc. in their rolls. People that say this is the "best sushi they've ever had" or "best sushi in NH" simply haven't had good sushi and have probably never left Merrimack county. It would be great if Ichiban reinvented itself and tried to be more like Mint Bistro in Manchester which has better food, sushi, drinks and atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Regular customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Best sushi around. I am a regular customer and a loyal one too. I have had the pleasure of enjoying many japanese steakhouses around the country and this is in my top 3! The place is big, so even when its packed as usual there is always room for wonderful sushi.

Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank JasonLNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous "get-away" right in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

There's quite a bar scene here, so it you like to have a drink while watching sports, get there early. The Japanese food is great (I've gone gaga for their tempura dishes). If you like Pad Thai, best to go elsewhere in town (the Siam Orchid). The drinks are honest, the ambiance is lovely, and there's a large parking lot. The facility is big enough for a crowd, with spaces for a cozy two-some. Ichiban came about after renovating an older restaurant in town, and they did a beautiful job. But the food alone is worth the trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robinstamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The sushi is quite good, best in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Based on actual experience, this is the best sushi in the area. The quality is good and the maki rolls are well sized with generous amounts of fish. The specialty rolls are a bit pricy, but ones like the Super Sakura are well worth the try. Pleasant service rounds out the trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing