We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handicappers Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Handicappers Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Reserved & confirmed a handicap-accessible room for my 103 y.o. Mum and me in a block reserved for a family wedding party. Assigned room NOT accessible. Reported to desk clerk. All she wanted to do was tell me about a different handicapper room that had been cancelled by SOMEBODY (emphasis: hers). She yelled and continued to yell when I said to get off that topic and fix the problem. She arbitrarily cancelled our reservation, sent us to Comfort Inn up the road. Clerk there showed me a H-A bathroom very much needed by then and called around to find us a H-A room for 2 nights. MUCH more trauma and rude behavior by B-W clerk. Hotel management has NOT responded to a letter I wrote 1.5 weeks ago. Will not consider "Worst Western" ever again... ever. Missed the rehearsal dinner because of yelling and otherwise ineffective clerk. How can that place give the joy of that dinner back to us?

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 139Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWConcordNH, Manager at BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Lois,

I received your letter a few days ago and placed a response in the mail yesterday.

Sept.20, 2013

I have reviewed this incident at length, spoken with all staff involved, and reviewed the security logs of when the reservation was made and when you arrived at the hotel. It is an unfortunate situation that took a turn for the worst because there was a definite misunderstanding about your reservation, complicated further by arrangements that were made by another party and then cancelled before you called and booked your reservation.

Originally, two rooms were reserved for yourself and your mother, a standard room and a handicap accessible room that were connecting, affording you the number of beds you needed and the facilities you needed for your 103 year old mother. These were later cancelled and the hotel was informed that you would be making your own traveling decisions. These are the rooms that our clerk was referring to as cancelled.

On April 26th, 2013 you called and booked a single room for yourself and your mother. During the conversation the clerk offered you a choice between a standard room with two queen-sized beds, or a handicapped room with a king-sized bed. During that conversation the clerk specifically informed you that our handicap accessible rooms were better suited for space with a wheelchair, but they only have a single king-sized bed in them. You opted for the room with two queen-sized beds, which we do not have available with mobility accessible features. I can tell you she clearly described the difference between the two room types, and I have offered your family and yourself to view the recording so that you can hear exactly what was said. Somehow you misinterpreted what the clerk stated to you when you were booking the reservation, which seems to be the root of this whole fiasco.

When you arrived the hotel was completely sold out. None of our mobility accessible rooms were available and the room type you booked was inadequate to your needs, so the clerk found you accommodations elsewhere. While I cannot condone her behavior during your exchange with her, I cannot honestly say I would have fared any better. She was trying her best to figure out what had happened so that she could correct the situation and she reacted poorly to your attitude and behavior. I am extremely sorry that she snapped at you, and she has faced disciplinary action for her actions. But in her defense, it is not easy to keep calm when you are trying to help a hostile customer who is berating you for something that was not your fault. We all have our limits.

But back to the facts about your reservation, I have heard exactly what was said to you back on April 26, 2013 and it does not match what you stated was said to you. Somewhere there was a disconnect between what was said and what was expected, and I am at a loss to understand how it happened. You are convinced it was our mistake, just as I am convinced it was not. We failed in our attempt to resolve the situation, and I earnestly apologize to you for that. With that said, we did not promise you the room you claim you booked.

Sincerely,

Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    142
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
140
124
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. Stephanie at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean , the bed was extremely comfortable and they provided 4 pillows on the bed which added to a comfortable night's sleep The breakfast was tasty and the dining area was clean and attractive. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWConcordNH, Manager at BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you want to stay at a clean hotel, this is your place! Friendly and clean....what more can you ask for? Although right next to the highway, it is quiet as can be! I recommend this place for people traveling on vacation or business. If you have a large vehicle, the parking lot is kinda small, although I did manage to park a 48' Tractor-Trailer there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWConcordNH, Manager at BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you, John, for sharing your experience. I am often in awe of how manuverable an eighteen-wheeler can be in our parking lot.

Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
349 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The housekeeping and brunch staff are terrific, but the desk needs help. Their simple mistake of not correctly booking a handicapped room became a MAJOR problem even though the solution was easy and the situation could have been quickly and simply. Apparently handicapped requests are a pattern problem; another wedding guest had the same thing happen and ended up staying elsewhere. Some retraining on how to work WITH the client to solve the problems that occur would be great, along with a better not "too bad for you" attitude would be better. The pool is wonderfully temp controlled, however, and actually available at usable times and the venue is comfortably quiet and nice area. Conditionally recommended, but if requesting special rooms be SURE to confirm early and often.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaTe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWConcordNH, Manager at BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi Kate,

I have reviewed, extensively, the issues we had the weekend your group was here. To this day I am still not sure how the person booking the room misinterpreted was was said, but I can tell you that the desk clerk explained the differences between the two room types correctly. By the time the problem was discovered the hotel was sold out and there were no mobility accessible rooms available to switch the guest into, which made the situation even worse. It was a mess, and I wish I had been there when it all went down.

I cannot tell how many times we have gone out of our way to accommodate disabled guest, moved beds and furniture to make room for special equipment, helped with luggage and loading their vehicles, etc. Maybe I am a little passionate about it because my wife works directly with the disabled, but it hurts to think someone thinks we are uncaring about another persons needs or circumstances. I assure you that this is not the case, and my staff are distinctly aware of what is expected of them.

Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, NB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. We found it clean, comfortable and quiet. The room was nicely appointed and the beds were comfortable. The receptionist recommended a local restaurant for our dinner and gave us a coupon for a free chef's choice appetizer. The continental breakfast was excellent. Large variety and delicious. Our only complaint would be that there wasn't enough seating in the breakfast area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWConcordNH, Manager at BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for trying our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your experience.

Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stay at the Best Western in Concord, NH several times each year. We are always very pleased with the value and cleanliness of the room. The beds are very comfortable. The sheets and comforter are very clean. The bathrooms are large. We appreciate and always use the refrigerator and microwave in the room. We enjoy the pool too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWConcordNH, Manager at BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank You, Michelle, for sharing your experience at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and upon our arrival there was a tour bus parked in front of the door to get to the office - it camped out there for approximately 1 hour. I asked the driver to move so that we could park. The jacuzzi did not work and one of the reasons we chose that hotel was pool/jacuzzi. The sofa bed for my daughter was horrible - it was like a huge bag of springs inside a torn up mattress cover. They did correct the situation and brought my daughter a roll-away bed. My daughter ended up getting lice - not sure if it was there or somewhere else. I wouldn't stay there again. The breakfast staff was EXTREMELY helpful though! It was the first time that I stayed at a Best Western and there was a letter with my name addressed on the front desk - that was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank dollfyn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWConcordNH, Manager at BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I apologize that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been. I, for one, don't believe there is such a thing as a comfortable fold-out mattress. But you were clearly right, the one in your room needed to be retired and I am sorry we did not notice it sooner.

I don't know what to say about your daughter's contraction of lice. We checked the mattresses and pillows in the room when you reported it to me, and the sheets and pillow cases were changed before and after your stay. We have had no other complaints about lice, so I don't believe that she contracted them here.

As to our jacuzzi, one of the circulator pumps died so there were no bubbles for a few days days. It had been replaced and the jacuzzi working perfectly now.

Again, I am sorry for the issues you experienced during you stay.

Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Concord
Comfort Inn Concord
#7 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Concord
Residence Inn Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Concord/Bow
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Concord
Fairfield Inn Concord
#4 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Concord
Courtyard Concord
#5 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites
Address: 97 Hall St, Concord, NH 03301-3421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Concord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Concord Hotel Concord
Best Western Concord Inn And Suites
Concord Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing