We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal during restaurant week...but very busy!”

Granite Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Granite Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 160 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Enjoy New American cooking from Chef Corey Fletcher and his talented team. Granite offers seasonal menus influenced with French, Mediterranean, and Asian style using local New England products whenever possible! Granite Restaurant & Bar is located within The Centennial Hotel. With seating for 75 people, and private function space it creates an intimate escape for any occasion. The historic Centennial Hotel (renovated in 2006) offers a modern, urban-contemporary flair within a beautiful Queen Anne Victorian landmark. The property’s original architectural charms have been carefully preserved, while modern hotel enhancements and amenities have been provided each of its 32 spacious guestrooms: large desks/work areas, wireless internet access, wonderful pillow-top beds and rich bedding ensembles, hi-thread linens and plush terry, flat-screen HD TV’s, even mini-bars. Proudly offering nightly turndown service, your guests will be surprised and delighted during each and every stay.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great deal during restaurant week...but very busy!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited on the Friday of restaurant week, which was probably not the best idea. It was VERY LOUD and very busy. Either the waitress was stalling because the kitchen couldn't keep up or she was just a terrible waitress. There were several points where I almost got up to leave, but it was so late and it was my birthday and we had a sitter.

She took at least a half an hr to get drinks and take our order. We had to ask for the special menu for the week and then it took her forever to take that order too. I did order a drink called The Sweet Thang I think. It was delicious, it had all sorts of chocolate liquors in it and was strong. For our meals we started with the strawberry, goat cheese and almond salad, which was delicious. Then we ordered grilled pork tenderloin,
warm potato bacon salad, wilted greens and aged balsamic and chicken with polenta. The meals were good, everything was tastey. For dessert we ordered one of each of the special desserts. The strawberry one was ok. The other one was good.

I'm sure people love this restaurant, but when you can't even have a conversation because the volume is so loud and the service is so slow it takes 2 hours to have dinner I do not see us returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite_96, General Manager at Granite Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for visiting us during Restaurant Week. I do want to apologize for the comments you made in regards to the service being slow. We are actually very well known for our outstanding food and service. This is not the norm for the Granite. We are a busy restaurant, with Friday and Saturday nights being the most popular. A lot of folks visit us for special occasions and we have a really good following within our community. I truly hope you give us another try. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    79
    28
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Expensive Taste”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Granite is very good, but don't go if you're feeling light in the wallet. Of course, if you don't drink alcohol, that reduces the end of meal shock. Be sure to look over the special offerings not on the menu. The fried soft shell crab was delicious. After splurging on the appetizer, I decided to go for the half plate entree of potato encrusted haddock. This was heavenly, but not really enough for a healthy appetite. It is great that they make half plates available, but unless you're on a restricted diet (why go out to eat?), I suggest opting for the full plate or combining two half plates or supplementing with multiple courses. My husband had the seared sea scallops and declared them the best he's had. I'd say that's quite a compliment considering the best prior to that were eaten at The American Restaurant in Kansas City, one of the top restaurants in the country. If you're looking for a quiet date night, you won't get it here. Good crowds plus a small space equals noise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite_96, General Manager at Granite Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for writing about your recent visit to the Granite Restaurant & Bar. I am glad that you had a chance to try our half portions. They are on the menu for those who enjoy a lighter fare or folks that want to try a little bit of this and a little bit of that. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top notch dining in Concord, NH not to be missed”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Joined by friends from Concord, we dined in a rush to catch a show at the Capital Center for the Arts. We we all very satisfied and delighted with a wonderful meal and fast, attentive and friendly service. The menu included rabbit, lamb, steak and veggie/vegan options. The soups, salads and bread were the perfect introduction to the main courses. Half portions are also available for most of the menu items. We didn't have time for dessert so we will try them on our next visit. It can be expensive with some entrees in the 25-30 range. It is worth every penny! The restaurant is located in the Centennial Inn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hickup41742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite_96, General Manager at Granite Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for writing about your recent visit to the Granite Restaurant & Bar. I am thrilled to hear that you dined with us prior to attending a show at the Capitol Center for the Arts. We offer a discount called "Dinner and a Show" for any diners that are having visit Granite prior to attending a show at the Capitol Center. I was also happy to hear you mention our "half portions". This is very popular amongst our guests, it allows folks to try a little bit of all their favorites. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best endorsement is a repeat visit!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Granite Restaurant is the centerpiece of a beautifully-restored Centennial Inn. Three dining areas surround the bar. The decor is contemporary and upscale. The ambiance is lively on a Friday night when state employees and legislators relax after work; more subdued on Saturday night when couples enjoying a special evening abound. Yes---we liked it so much we went twice during our weekend trip to Concord (and the waiter remembered us; she mentioned our drink choices without missing a beat.)! Fine tablecloths, candles and fresh flowers round out the picture in this first class restaurant.

As others have mentioned, appetizers and dinner choices may be ordered as half portions or full portions. It is a great way to enjoy different selections. The salads were outstanding---brie with strawberries, caesar or gorgonzola with nuts--leaving us with plenty of appetite for the main courses. Scallops were in a class by themselves and the filet was done perfectly. The sauces were delicious and the meals presented beautifully. Wine selections are suggested to accompany the menu choices and the list is extensive. Warm, freshly baked rolls come with a tasty cheese and cranberry spread in addition to butter and olive oil. Finish the meal with a warm chocolate treat and you will leave, as we did, planning your return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite_96, General Manager at Granite Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Granite Restaurant & Bar. Our Chef, Corey Fletcher, takes great pride in his menu offerings. I can tell from your visit that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us, along with the ambiance of the restaurant itself. Our owners took great pride in making the renovation of this building very special. They truly believe that every guest should be "delighted and surprised" during their time spent with us. We hope you visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Simply a fine meal and pleasant setting....”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Bill was our server at Granite and sets a high standard for all others! We stayed at the Centennial Hotel in which Granite is located and were pleased with both the hotel and the restaurant.... and each and every one of the staff we met. The dining room was not loud as so many seem to be, but it was busy not empty. My wife chose the soup du jour cup with the pork special and I had the small Caesar salad with the small beef filet. Both choices were outstanding. Dessert was lemon and raspberry sorbet for my wife and I had a Glenlivet single malt neat. We do not scrimp on vacation meals and expected this to be close to $120. Worth it.

Our dining experience was enhanced by joining a local couple who dine at Granite regularly and who made wonderful suggestions and interesting conversation.

Breakfast was not as crowded the next morning, but Haley's service was excellent and our food was too. This was a great treat on our 16 day road trip through New England. We highly recommend both Granite and Centennial.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite_96, General Manager at Granite Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Centennial Hotel and Granite Restaurant & Bar. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your dining experiences for both dinner and breakfast while at our hotel. Bill and Haley are both outstanding servers. We are so lucky to have such outstanding staff working for this hotel and restaurant and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay while with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granite Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Granite Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing