We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saco River Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saco River Lodge & Suites
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Conway
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saco River Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I think if you keep in mind it is a Motor Lodge, and the price is pretty low - you will be very pleased. We stayed in room 5, one of their regular non suite rooms, the rooms are nice - clean, the shower-water nice and hot, in the room there is a fridge, microwave, and little coffee maker. The pool is great, nice and clean, a few extra great amenities are the barbecue grills available for use, and the fire-pit very enjoyable after a day of floating down the Saco River. Location is great, not even 10 minutes into North Conway, directly across from Saco Bound for kayak, canoe rentals.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsweeney02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    29
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
38
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

we needed a place close to stone mountain arts where a group of us could meet for a week end. the weather was great, the pool was super, the weather awesome. this is a clean, not fancy, but well run motel. the pool is refreshing, there are gas grills, if needed. it is very convenient to stone mountain arts, about 20 minutes away. the grounds are well maintained, the people running the place are very nice and accommodating. we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: we chose a room with a queen bed, the rooms are tiny, if you can survive with just one bed, do it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamtrvel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are clean. The pool was in good condition. Our boys loved the playground.

The rooms are a bit small (we were traveling with four people), but you can't beat the price. Though it is about 10 minutes from the center of most activity in the area, it is not too far away.

We will definitely consider returning here again next year when we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterport, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

After looking all over the region for a reasonable summer rate I settled on the Saco River Lodge for about $85 a night. I mention this because your expectations need to be realistic at this price. Using bidding sites and every type of travel search, the regular hotels in North Conway were going for $130 - 160 a night. I've paid those prices to stay in cities like Chicago, Boston, and Washington D.C. I refused to do that for North Conway!

First off our room, and what I could see of the neighboring rooms, was very small. In fact everything was shrunk down to fit the space. Our room with 2 full beds had about 18” of walking space between the foot of the bed and the wall. You would not want to hang out here for any length of time. The flat screen TV had about 70 channels, but was the size of a legal pad of paper. There is a small desk but the door swings in right to where you might sit at it. By comparison, the shower and bathroom were full sized. No hair dryer, but we borrowed one from the front desk. There was free wi-fi, but it seemed to be stretched very thin. Whenever everyone was back at the hotel on computers, it slowed to a crawl. If I got on late at night or early in the morning it was OK.

Everything was clean, but dated. The bed spreads looked to be circa 1982. There was a clean dorm fridge by one of the beds. Breakfast was small boxed cereals, fruit, snack bars, yogurt, milk and coffee, but there is nowhere to eat it. This is basically set up at the registration desk so you need to bring it to your tiny room. By the way the manager was friendly and very helpful - 5 stars for service!

The pool area was large (I'd say 18 w by 32 L). A bit deep for little ones - off the steps it's 4 ft at the shallow end to 8 ft at the deep. It included pool floats and toys that I was glad to see they re-inflated each day. The water in August was warm and super clean. Not overly chlorinated - just right. Also note it is directly in front of the hotel along the road, but perfectly safe as it's fenced in. The wooden playground area was brand new and seemed good for kids under age 9. Almost directly across the street is Saco Bound canoe and kayak rentals - very handy if you want to split up for the day and do different activities. S.B. even offers a hefty discount if you show that you are staying at the hotel. However the river lever was horribly low (less than 2 ft) so we didn't go for it.

It is about an 8 minute commute into the heart of North Conway (outlets and restaurants). Maine is almost as close in the other direction. So, as far as motels go this was fine - certainly not a dump. About as nice you’d expect, just don’t expect more than what it is. My family had no idea we were staying in a motel and they were a bit shocked. Next time I’ll pick a less busy time in N.C. or book further in advance to get a regular hotel.

Room Tip: You'll want to go get breakfast in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nodaybut2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

For the first half of a two stop White Mountain vacation, I booked a three night stay package here that included a kayak/canoe day trip down the Saco river. I chose this Motor Lodge based on TA reviews, and I couldn't be more pleased that I did! Based on the good price, I kept my expectations modest, but found great VALUE. Unlike the shallow 4 ft pools at most campgrounds and other lodges, my son and I enjoyed cannonballing into the 8 ft end of this well kept pool. The 2 dbl-bd room we had was small as expected, but the beds were comfy, the AC was new, and the fridge and TV were suitable. Although we did not utilize them, we saw the propane grills, picnic tables, yard, and playground for tots looking excellent. The free continental breakfast included bananas, cereal, muffins, OJ, coffee, apples, and granola bars.
The only bummer was waiting an extra hour for the independent kayak/canoe shuttle company to pick us up. We had a 10 am appointment, that finally arrived slightly after 11 am, after management called them several times on our behalf. Even though it was not their fault, we returned to our room after the trip to find a letter of apology and an unsoliciated gift card for dinner from lodge management, that we used at a wonderful spot: Horsefeathers Restaurant in North Conway. They take great care at the Saco River Lodge & Suites that you enjoy your stay.
All in all, I was quite impressed, and had a great stay. My family and I will be back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelyabinsk, Chelyabinsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Coming back after 2 years was a shock. My family of 3 kids and a a hard to please husband were very happy by seeing the changes the new owners have made. We were very exited to actually use the grills and kept an eye on our children playing on the beautiful playground. The pool was very large and very comfortable. It was very open spaced so we were able to enjoy our family time. The service was very good. We would go shopping early and by the time we came back our room was spotless. It was a quite area, the perfect getaway. My family and I would like to say the owners have brought a miraculous change. We were very happy with our stay and will be staying there every time we visit. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: The suites are great for family gathering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon, VT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We booked into this small motel in Center Conway and arrived in a big storm. The hostess was exceptionally pleasant. While this is an older lodge is has come under new management and has been updated some. The room was small but easily accommodated the three of us for the night. We found the grounds to be exceptionally well kept and the room to be recently updated. It was more than I expected for a quick over night stay. Prior to closing the office for the night the management visited our room to be sure that all we needed was provided. It is an excellent rural location away from the hustle of North Conway yet convenient to nearby stores. We enjoyed this short stay and found it all that we would expect.

Room Tip: The less expensive room is small but with two beds. The suites are larger and off the road to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Conway hotels
4.8 mi away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#21 of 29 in Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
4.8 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
5.2 mi away
The Yankee Clipper Inn
The Yankee Clipper Inn
#20 of 24 in North Conway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
White Trellis Motel
White Trellis Motel
#23 of 24 in North Conway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.4 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#13 of 29 in Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
5.3 mi away
Junge's Motel
Junge's Motel
#16 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saco River Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saco River Lodge & Suites

Property: Saco River Lodge & Suites
Address: 2626 E Main St, Route 302, Center Conway, Conway, NH 03813-4120
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saco River Lodge & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Saco River Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco River Hotel Conway
Saco River Lodge And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing