We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not be back.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanglewood Motel and Cottages
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Conway
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel is right on the main street. You hear traffic all night long. The kids play area is nothing special. The area to use the paddle boats is tiny and the water is horrible. There is no swimming at all on the property. It is decorated in what looks like yard sale finds and does not even have matching wallpaper. The soap in the bathroom is labeled Best Western. With so many hotels to choose from in the area stay away from here and go to one that is clean and quiet. I wished I had read some earlier reviews. The newer ones are obviously lies that were put up to fool people. This place is horrible and not a place you want to bring your kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Cathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Tanglewood Motel and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I spent this past week in cottage #12. First of all, the owners Chris and Laura couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We arrived early and our cottage was ready for us, it was clean and comfortable. We had a grill, picnic table with table cloth right outside our cottage, 2 chairs on the screened porch. The brook was really low, as was every other brook throughout the White Mountains, guess that's "Mother Nature" for you.
We don't have small children but it sure seemed kid friendly, kids were playing on the swings and in the sand and swimming in the swimming area.
Location is great too, we decided to take a ride to Portland Maine for lunch, took about an hour and a half to get there....
My opinion: If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, quiet, kid & pet friendly vacation at a reasonable price then Tanglewood is for you. If your looking for a resort you may want to try the Mount Washington Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindylee56565656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This was our fourth trip to the Tanglewood, and thought it was time for a review. The owners Chris and Laura are great, they are very hospitable. We have stayed in 4 of the cottages and had no complaints. They are constantly updating things, this year we had new beds, which were very comfortable! and a new bathroom, very clean and nice! The kids love coming here, there is so much for them to do, Its nice that I don't have to worry about the kids safety while they are playing. The grounds are very nice, you can tell they have someone who takes care of the trees. We are looking forward to going to the Tanglewood again! Its a great place to relax and enjoy with the family!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My wife and I have stayed here two years in a row so far and it has become our favorite place to stay. The owners are incredibly hospitable and always helpful, whether it be over the phone or in person. They were incredibly understanding about our pets and even gave us directions to avoid the traffic jam to the Fryeburg Fair. We stayed for 7 days, both times, and all of our needs were met to the fullest on both occasions. Supplies were always replenished right on time. Everything about our cottage was well kept and in working order. The cottages are very cozy and welcoming, unlike some hotel/motel places that feel like a doctor's office inside. We found the grounds to be beautiful and did not even notice the main road nearby, even though we were in the nearest cottage to it (we even asked for the same cottage nearest the road the second time we went). One of the few places I have stayed that had real charm and hospitality to it. I hope to spend many more vacations here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackdaw444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We have vacationed here every year for the past 5 years. Family and dog freindly. Clean and cozy cabins. It is a great place to stay and relax. Very reasonably priced. Friendly helpful owners. Close to everything in Conway and the White Mountains. Right on the brook. Love shopping at the outlets that are so close by. Very popular with many loyal returning guests reserve early! Can't wait to get back this year!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Every time I stay at Tanglewood Chris & Laura make me feel right at home. They're also super-dog friendly which is huge for my little four-legged buddy. The grounds are lovely with a babbling brook and waterfall running through. Just run into town, grab your groceries and settle in. The cottages are clean and have all the amenities you'll need. I can't say enough great things about this place!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1redheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The cabins are worn and needs renovations, bed spreads dirty, needs new dishware, cutlery,and pots & pans OLD one trip to the dollar store would solve this problem. All pets staying their should be on a leash.The map lay out on the web site gives one the impression that the brook was a big pond and it's NOT. The cottages are closer to Rt 16 than it appears on the map. Cottages are too small to have two double beds.It should have a sofa instead of the second double bed. My pet was too clean for this place. Carpets were FILTHY. pet cost should have been included in price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 95goldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duckme2, Owner at Tanglewood Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

We are a very small place. Myself or my husband take all reservations over the phone. We let guest know how close to road each cottage is, the Brook out back with paddle boat is for fun , The little ones really like it and parents don't have to worry. We are also very friendly people and are open to always bettering our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conway
2.9 mi away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#22 of 30 in Conway
80 reviews
9.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
86 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Yankee Clipper Inn
The Yankee Clipper Inn
#22 of 25 in North Conway
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
7.7 mi away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
3.6 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Motel and Cottages

Address: 1681 White Mountain Highway, Conway, NH 03818
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Conway
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet Friendly ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing