We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overpriced for a low-rate motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanglewood Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanglewood Motel and Cottages
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Conway
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Way overpriced for a low-rate motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The woman at the front desk was nice, friendly and helpful.That is the only good thing I could say about this place. The motel room left little to be desired. The decor and furniture were old, and the bathroom needed a complete overhaul (see pics). It had a small metal shower stall that every time you touched the walls it made a banging noise that I'm sure could be heard in the next room. The towels were small and thin. I had to wear ear plugs because of the traffic noise and people talking. I woke up with a sore back (the first time in months) because the mattress was so uncomfortable. Dingy and overpriced. Well, at least there weren't any bed bugs and the sheets were clean...that's something anyway. I will not make the mistake of staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
26
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have been coming back to The Tanglewood for the past 4 years. We really love it here. The kids can't wait to get here. Its comfortable, clean and relaxing! Its laid back and enjoyable. Yes it is near the road, but if you drive up the strip all the motel/cottages are near the road. It's not the Marriot, they do not have a pool, If you want that, go to the Marriot. But it is an affordable, and a great place to stay while visiting the whites, and the owners are very nice!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel is right on the main street. You hear traffic all night long. The kids play area is nothing special. The area to use the paddle boats is tiny and the water is horrible. There is no swimming at all on the property. It is decorated in what looks like yard sale finds and does not even have matching wallpaper. The soap in the bathroom is labeled Best Western. With so many hotels to choose from in the area stay away from here and go to one that is clean and quiet. I wished I had read some earlier reviews. The newer ones are obviously lies that were put up to fool people. This place is horrible and not a place you want to bring your kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Conway hotels

Salem, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I spent this past week in cottage #12. First of all, the owners Chris and Laura couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We arrived early and our cottage was ready for us, it was clean and comfortable. We had a grill, picnic table with table cloth right outside our cottage, 2 chairs on the screened porch. The brook was really low, as was every other brook throughout the White Mountains, guess that's "Mother Nature" for you.
We don't have small children but it sure seemed kid friendly, kids were playing on the swings and in the sand and swimming in the swimming area.
Location is great too, we decided to take a ride to Portland Maine for lunch, took about an hour and a half to get there....
My opinion: If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, quiet, kid & pet friendly vacation at a reasonable price then Tanglewood is for you. If your looking for a resort you may want to try the Mount Washington Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylee56565656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belchertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

This was our fourth trip to the Tanglewood, and thought it was time for a review. The owners Chris and Laura are great, they are very hospitable. We have stayed in 4 of the cottages and had no complaints. They are constantly updating things, this year we had new beds, which were very comfortable! and a new bathroom, very clean and nice! The kids love coming here, there is so much for them to do, Its nice that I don't have to worry about the kids safety while they are playing. The grounds are very nice, you can tell they have someone who takes care of the trees. We are looking forward to going to the Tanglewood again! Its a great place to relax and enjoy with the family!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

My wife and I have stayed here two years in a row so far and it has become our favorite place to stay. The owners are incredibly hospitable and always helpful, whether it be over the phone or in person. They were incredibly understanding about our pets and even gave us directions to avoid the traffic jam to the Fryeburg Fair. We stayed for 7 days, both times, and all of our needs were met to the fullest on both occasions. Supplies were always replenished right on time. Everything about our cottage was well kept and in working order. The cottages are very cozy and welcoming, unlike some hotel/motel places that feel like a doctor's office inside. We found the grounds to be beautiful and did not even notice the main road nearby, even though we were in the nearest cottage to it (we even asked for the same cottage nearest the road the second time we went). One of the few places I have stayed that had real charm and hospitality to it. I hope to spend many more vacations here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackdaw444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We have vacationed here every year for the past 5 years. Family and dog freindly. Clean and cozy cabins. It is a great place to stay and relax. Very reasonably priced. Friendly helpful owners. Close to everything in Conway and the White Mountains. Right on the brook. Love shopping at the outlets that are so close by. Very popular with many loyal returning guests reserve early! Can't wait to get back this year!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conway
9.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.1 mi away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#20 of 29 in Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Tamworth
Days Inn Tamworth
#2 of 6 in Tamworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
7.9 mi away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
6.7 mi away
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages
#12 of 21 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Motel and Cottages

Property: Tanglewood Motel and Cottages
Address: 1681 White Mountain Highway, Conway, NH 03818
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Conway
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
pet friendly ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing