We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Mountains Hostel
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home away from home in a hostel”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Traveled to the White Mountain area for a few days and stayed at the White Mountain Hostel for two nights in August. My husband and I were traveling with my mother, so we booked a private three-person room. Easy check-in and a safe area. Within walking distance of several cafes for meals and two historic covered bridges. Clean and comfortable...a great choice for my mom's first hostel experience. Only down-side for us was we were on the third floor due to the private room and the dorm-style bathrooms are on the second floor. However, we did have a sink in the room...a nice bonus. Ability to do laundry...$5.00 per load. Nice to remember for next time. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: If looking for a private room, choose #10 (one queen and one twin bed) instead of #9 (one double and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
11
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Tim the manager is extremely helpful, friendly and flexible. It's a hostel so obviously don't expect much, but it was a great value and had everything we needed. Enjoyed hanging out by the fire pit at night and making s'mores.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We found this too be a really great 2 night stay while visiting the White Mountains. The owner was super friendly and helped us with any questions we had on where to go and what too see. You have full use of the kitchen and there is a grocery store about 5 minutes away. Your about 5 minutes away from the Kancamagus Highway which is a fantastic drive with great stops. The common area is really well layed out. The bed could have been a bit better it was really squeaky and everytime you rolled over in the night I got woken up if only for a split second or 2. But that didnt take anything away from the experience it was a fantastic price in a great location. I would not hesitate to stay here again if visiting the White Mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

With new owner Tim I got the feeling that this hostel is going to get even better. Right now it's not perfect and could be a little cleaner and more organized. They are doing some major repairs right now so its definitely going to get better.
There's a great hikers vibe and tim offers plenty of good advice.
I would highly recommend the hostel.
Have fun!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the White Mountains Hostel several times and I have always had a good experience. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The hostel offers a nice kitchen with plenty fridge room. The location is great, it is an easy drive to many points in the White Mountains and nearby towns.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

White Mountain hostel is under new ownership and is awesome! My girlfriend and I stayed in a private room while doing spring day hiking in the White Mountains. Tim, the new owner, is extremely accommodating and has a great vision for the future of the place. He wants to turn it into a hub for outdoorsy people exploring the region.

Overall, this place has everything you want in a hostel: cheap, friendly accommodation. It has a central location at a fraction of the host of the local hotels. Plus, it has a cool outdoors vibe. My girlfriend and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipHennessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for this more then generous review. I am glad you both had such a great time at the hostel and that you enjoyed the beauty that the White Mountains area has to offer. It is a time of growing here at the hostel and we hope to steadily improve so that we meet all guests expectations!

I look forward to your next stay!

All the Best,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Pretty good spot as far as hostels go. Much more fun to stay compared to a low budget hotel/motel. Clean, friendly service and you get to meet like-minded people.
What a silly requirement to have a review of 200 characters. I said all I wanted in a paragraph above. Hope now I am up to the requirement :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kirillij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
It is true if you looking for value it is hard to beat staying at a hostel but also the bonus of other friendly like minded guests to share the experience with is what makes hostel unique. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review !

All the Best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Conway hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#22 of 30 in Conway
78 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
4.6 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#15 of 25 in North Conway
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountains Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountains Hostel

Property: White Mountains Hostel
Address: 36 Washington St, Conway, NH 03818-6042 (Formerly Albert Lester Memorial Hostel)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Mountains Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel has 5 bunk rooms with 28 beds and 5 private rooms. There is big common kitchen and common dinning and meeting area. The hostel is super clean and friendly place to stay. We specialize in groups of 15-40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your White Mountains Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing