We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude! dirty! rude!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastern Slope Camping Area
Ranked #10 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Conway
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay at this poorly managed campground. The potential this place could have is ruined by dirty bathrooms and showers, crowded sites and rude staff. We avoided the filthy public bath houses because, we have an rv, I feel for anyone in a tent forced to use them. People did mention to us the water was luke warm for a few minutes before switching to cold during the remainder of their shower. We were able to move to a different site, upon request, due to the fact that our rv didnt fit on the site THEY RESERVED for us. That was with much hassle and an additional fee. The attitude of the office staff makes you want to leave before you even finish checking in. The worst experience was the creepy guy on his golfcart riding through the campground. He pulled right onto our site with his headlights on us as we were sitting quietly at our fire and stared. We finally said hello???? He asked if everything was alright? We are in our 50's and certainly not being rowdy, it was about 930pm. Later, 10 min before the 1130 fire OUT rule he pulled up again and just sat starring at us for a solid 3+ minutes w/o saying a word, then drove away...uncalled for!! We will never return nor will our friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boskismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Tented here over the weekend. I wanted a private site for my tent and was told there would be people on both sides of our site but not in the back. Its like camping in a field which I wouldnt expect for a tent as compared to someone with a hardtop trailer. I called ahead to see what site would be best for a more private secluded tent site. I paid top dollar for site that I thought was just for a tent for it had electricity and water of which I did not want nor need.
The bathrooms were not kept up with paper towels overflowing the trashcans. No place to put down your stuff to take a shower. Mens bathrooms did not lock.
Only good thing was it was near activities.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nhtigercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

This is our second year staying at this campground and we had a blast, again. Our family will be going back again next year. What we really liked about it was there are lots of things for the kids to do. This year we canoed down the river with the kids for the first time. We had a great time doing it and it was a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vdelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I've been coming to this campground for about 15 yrs. The rivers amazing and clean.Most campsites have a covered picnic table electricity and water. Some reviews on here suggest to me that maybe some people shouldnt be going camping and instead should just go to a luxury 5 star hotel.....complaining up there being dirt on the ground....really????Also as far as roughing it goes which is what your supposed to be doing when going camping, its not even close having electricity,water.......if your looking for a great CAMPGROUND, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krissilyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from another great week at ESCA. This is our 5th year. We had a great time even with the weather not being the best. The staff is great and remembered us from past years. Our daughter loves the updates to the playground. We stay in the cabins that we feel are clean. I saw a review that they are not. You need to remember it is still camping you are not staying at a 5 star hotel. Also they tables outside are a nice touch. We did not get to enjoy them because of the weather but look forward to it next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thevaldezfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We checked in 7/20/13 and left a week later . We found the campground very clean and well taken care of. The bathrooms are old but cleaned often and good. That is our most important feature. The office was very nice and helpful. We had a nice river site. We enjoyed floating down the river all day. Security at nite was very good and really enjoyed our family trip .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is the worst possible campground. Owners have a major attitude. Campground looks good when you get in but head downhill in the old section and it's disgusting. Our 3 year old boy refused to use the washrooms.

We checked in and decided not to stay and they refussed to refund. Fine!
Stayed in a local hotel but still had access to the campground and so I decided to check out my site that I paid for the whole week(No refund). They rented my site to someone else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnoChrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Conway hotels
1.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,435 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
246 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
680 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Slope Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Camping Area

Address: 584 White Mountain Hwy, Po Box 1127, Conway, NH 03818-4205
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Conway
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family camping in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley, Eastern Slope Camping Area is a great choice for your next camping vacation. Whether you have a tent, pop-up, Class A Motorhome, or travel trailer, we have a place for you. Many sites feature full hook ups with water, electric, sewer, and cable. Come in the spring and summer and enjoy our two beaches, heated pool, updated playground, huge soccer field, and much more! In the fall, you have to come up and see the beautiful fall foliage and stay close to the Fryeburg Fair in October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Camping Area Hotel Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing