We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome family day trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saco Canoe Rental Company

Saco Canoe Rental Company
Certificate of Excellence
maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome family day trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our trip was on a Sunday morning. We chose the 1.5 mile float as we had little ones(youngest 4 1/2) with us and wasnt sure how they would be on the water. They absolutely loved it. Even disappointed when it was over. Next year we will do the 5 mile float. We packed lunch and drinks and stopped on sandbar across from rope swing , ate lunch, relaxed in the sun and visited with everyone. The bravest of the group even tried the rope swing a few times. Check in was quick..and was on the water in about 15 min. I was mistakenly overcharged but was immediately reimbursed once I showed copy of invoice. Owner/ manager apologetic and we had an awesome time with beautiful mountain views from the river. We plan to make this an annual family outing. If you enjoy being out in the fresh air, this is something you should definately do!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank tsilvaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    5
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A lovely way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked the day before we kayaked for 3 of us, two adults and a 13 year old. We weren't really sure of how the system worked and had decided to do the trip of approx 4 miles. We hadnt realised that the time you arrive dictates the trip. We ended up on the 7.8 mile paddle down the Saco.

The cost was very reasonable @ $70 for the three of us, which included the shuttle to the start point.

We hadnt appreciated the weight of the kayak, which you carry to the launch point yourself and this may prove a problem for groups with younger children.

Life jackets were provided, mine was a little 'fusty' smelling - not pleasant on a warm day.

The River was lovely, and fairly quiet as we had opted for the first shuttle of the day. The water was fairly low and we were grounded occasionally, we had been given a very brief 'advisory' prior to leaving. Despite that, there was nothing which was particularly hard to deal with.

We paddled back to the main location.

All in all, a lovely way to spend a few hours and the operation seems to be well organised.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WizzyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun for tubing rentals.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place does not have the smoothest of operations but it gave us what it promised. Tubes, lifejackets, and a fun river to go tubing in. Could probably be run a little better but you can't complain when the end product is what you were looking for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aflopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved tubing on a warm day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We tubed the shortest route, 0.5 miles - where you jump in at the dock and at the end you have to walk back up to the rental place and your car. 10 minute walk. We can't wait to go back and do the 1.5 mile length where they shuttle you up the river and you float down back to your car. The tubes move slow, this is not a white water rapid ride. Bring a cooler and rent an extra float for $10 that holds your cooler. Stop and eat lunch at any of the numerous sandy spots. Bring kids who will romp in the water and make it more fun. If you want a leisurely day of swimming and sitting, this is for you.
Warning, the 0.5 mile length that we did has some rocks and fast moving currents at the end that do add some excitement., but you may get seperated from your kids/party through it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MoxieStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun on the Riverhalf day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My 2 kids and I took kayaks for a half day down the Saco. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The weather was great and the river was awesome. Sandy beaches to stop at and picnic, as well was multiple rope swings kept things interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanCaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saco Canoe Rental Company also viewed

Conway, White Mountains
Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Saco Canoe Rental Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing