We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica's BEST of the BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Black River
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Oh my God... I just got back from Jamaica and stayed at the Idlers Rest at the urging of a friend. This hotel is Fabulous. The views are beautiful and the serinity was sublime. I will never stay anywhere else. It was my privilege to meet Mr. Courtney Hamilton. This man was the classiest guy ever. Idlers Rest was his vision and it is dreamlike.
In addition to the fine dining, you will find peace from the hustle and bustle of city life.
I was able to relax and compose myself (that is what vacations are fro right)....
I loved Idlers Rest. If I close my eyes I can still feel the sunset and the essence of Jamaica. If you want lots of noise, loud guests and lots of unruly people stay away.
This is the pinnacle of peace. A fortress of solitude. A respite of REST.
Amazing.
P.S.
ask for Morris Hudson

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLYGUYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2008

Pro: This is a great location for a beautiful sunset. The hotel is small but well maintained with very nice staff. At first, we were given a small room downstairs but we asked to switch and was then given a larger room upstairs with our own outdoor sitting area for the same price. We were the only guest in the resort. The beds all have nets.

Cons: No hot water, we showered with cold water. The breakfast was included but it was saltfish and callalou. Not really to our taste.

I would recommend this resort if you want a quiet location on the beach to watch a beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

From the street view you can not see the ambiance of this lil best kept secret in Jamaica. I am a avid hotel hopper and I was overwhelmingly pleased when I stepped onto the property. Each newly decorated room has a hammock outside your door for simply relaxing while the beach front restaurant supplies all the view of Jamaica you could ever ask for. I thought the North Coast of Jamaica was beautiful. You havent seen anything until you stay at this lil piece of heaven..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ladytreas360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

The place was lovely. Great place to relax.
I have been there before to visit a friend and she loved the place.
Its just the most beautiful ocean view and Bill the manager was great.

we spent 2 nights, left the day to go out of town, when we got back about 8pm , the room was not cleaned the bed was still unmade.

Asked the manager for some towels and to my surprise the towels were damped and seems dirty. we didnt say anything because we figure if he brought those, they may well be the only ones.
In the morning we went on the outside to have oranges, we sayed in the honey suite it had alittle balcony, the table on the balcony was dirty. They were doing some construction but that was no excuse.

Stayed: March 2008
5  Thank Love23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

This was my first visit to jamaica and i wasnt sure what to expect. When we arrived at Idlers rest the staff were all very approachable, friendly and welcoming. The room was very big we stayed in room 9 which is situated overlooking the beach it was in a beautiful location and we were impressed by the size of the room which had two very big beds.

All staff (including management and the owner) as mentioned were very helpful and so friendly and remained that way for the entirety of our stay. They would serve you breakfast anywhere and they were always very accomadating especially for my son who is 4.

Although there is not much to do there they did have a swing and it is reasonably close to the local town of black river. But if relaxation is the aim of your stay then Idlers Rest is the place to go.

They also have several animals on site like an owl, alligator, parrots, chickens etc which my son loved to see everyday.

Mr English the manager, the owner, and all staff should be very proud of their establishment and the atmosphere they have created at Idlers Rest as it is beautiful, and well worth the money. I would recommend it to anyone and would definately stay there again. The only thing i would do different is get a car.

One thing i would say is as you are by the water and by alot of greenery i would recommend a very good mosquito repellent as at night if you leave your door open or go out you will get bitten.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scouse19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Total relaxation found! Can you imagine walking on a beach night or day and only running into the local fishermen. On the beaches of the southern coast of Jamaica this is still a way of life and Idlers Rest is the place to go to experience old world Jamaica. My husband and I would take leisurely strolls on the beach and watch the sun rise. We would be greeted by local fishermen and we could watch them take their boats out for the day.

After our walks the staff would serve breakfast where ever we chose. We had breakfast on the patio overlooking the sea most mornings. Breakfast is included and we had local favorites like Ackee and fried dumplings. Mr. Smith is a wonderful chef, he also prepared wonderful dinners. One night we had chicken soup, lobster with a rum sauce, garlic shrimp and curry goat and a chocolate cake Mr. Smith whipped up upon request.

We stayed in room 7. It was huge. It had a circular bathroom, a king sized bed and a sitting room with a couch and two chairs. Each room on the property is unique with interesting antiques and accessories from around the world. There is also a resident crocodile, a few parrots and doves.

Mr. Bill English the manager will take excellent care of you. He sees to all your needs and is in constant contact with you to ensure you are happy and comfortable. He can also help coordinate excursions to local sights. We visited YS Falls and Pelican Bar. We also went into town and bought Blue Mountain coffee at the local supermarket (cheaper that at the airport or gift shop).

I would strongly recommend taking insect repellant with you or buying it in town before you head to the hotel. The mosquitoes are relentless. They were most active at night. We were bitten on our legs and even through our clothes.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank yardieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black River
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Guest House
Waterloo Guest House
#2 of 3 in Black River
12 reviews
11.8 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
102 reviews
23.3 mi away
Mandeville Hotel
Mandeville Hotel
#2 of 3 in Mandeville
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
704 reviews
12.7 mi away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
138 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel

Address: Black River, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Black River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Black River
Price Range: £71 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idlers Rest Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing